We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, nicely located and great views”
Review of Dar Al Bahar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dar Al Bahar
Ranked #34 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This place was away from the centre (in a nice way), the views were beautiful from our 3rd floor window, we literally had the waves crashing against the base of the hotel. The staff were quite helpful and there was wifi though this didn't always work for us. The location was really great and we found our way around this area pretty easily. Lots of stairs to walk up if you are on one of the top floors, but it is worth the view. The rooms were nice and clean too and breafaston the terrace was great.

Room Tip: Top floor for better views, but lots of stairs!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicity H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarAlBahar, Owner at Dar Al Bahar, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Thank you for this positive review !
JClaude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Dar Al Bahar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 184 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2012

I stayed with my son for 5 nights in February 2012, originally booked 4 nights but loved Essaouira so that we wanted to extend the stay. The house is wonderful, Essaouira is super-charming, the location is great.
Staying with a 7-year-old and sometimes wanting to read longer than him at night, the only thing I missed in the rooms (we tried 2) was a low reading light by the beds.

Apart from that, I'd like to mention that if you are allergic or asthmatic, I think you'd do better staying in a new hotel by the beach instead of a guesthouse inside the old town - medina - which feels quite damp. Might not be true for all houses, but I got that impression.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed there for two nights in early January and really enjoyed the amazing ocean view (and sound!) from the Nour room. Our room was very tastefully decorated, just like the rest of the hotel. The view from the terrace, where breakfast is served, is wonderful. Our room was quite cold, though, so we had to ask for a heater. Most of the people working there are really friendly and pleasant. All in all, this pretty hotel is a good choice for everyone.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Krazykat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We specifically chose this Riad for its location by the sea and stayed in the Abla apartment which is laid out over 2 floors with great views from both the bedroom and living room below. The kitchen is small but has all you need and had we been staying more than 3 nights we would have liked to cook one evening and enjoy it on the rooftop terrace (a great spot for the good breakfast also). The riad is stylish and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful though inobtrusive, it's worth paying someone (20dh) to bring your bags and direct you from the Bab al Marrakech but once you find the Riad navigation around the town is pretty straightforward. In late November the nights were turning chilly but it was a real pleasure to sleep with the window open to hear the waves crashing against the rocks outside Although the weather wasn't brilliant we were very impressed with Essaouira, it's a lovely little town, the people are charming and it's great to wander around the harbour and see the catch being landed and people going about their quotidian lives. We'd happily return to Essaouira and stay at the Dar Al Bahar again.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for a sea view.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HighburyExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I stayed here in December for Christmas and had a lovely visit. The staff are helpful and friendly and the rooms clean and pretty. The roof top terrace was a wonderful place to have breakfasts and afternoon tea and has great views over the medina and the sea.

Best to note that these rooms are designed to be cool for the hot months. Bring warm socks and PJS for the nights as they're a little chilly then.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea obviously have a great view but get no sunshine which was a shame in winter but...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarAlBahar, Owner at Dar Al Bahar, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2012

Thank you for your nice review. Concerning the sunshine, the house is facing the ocean so, considering the position of Essaouira, the rooms with a sea view are looking to the west and in the morning, there is obviously no sun but in the evening, you can enjoy wonderful sunsets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

This Guest house is lovely!!! We chose a double room with a sea view and we weren't disspointed. The room was small and cosy. This was the first place that we did not feel the cold in the night. There were candles lit in the hallway and this made the place romantic. The people that worked at the guest house were friendly and nice. We ate our breakfast on the roof terrace looking out to sea. I wished we stayed another night.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlie&rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarAlBahar, Owner at Dar Al Bahar, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2012

Thank you very much for this nice review !
Jean-Claude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We had a very nice time here, a very welcoming experience. We even decided to stay for a few extra nights. No need to get the room with sea sight, cause just hearing it is priceless.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonvanoldenbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#18 of 74 in Essaouira
498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#44 of 74 in Essaouira
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Le Grand Large
Riad Le Grand Large
#41 of 74 in Essaouira
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Hotel Emeraude
Riad Hotel Emeraude
#37 of 74 in Essaouira
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#25 of 74 in Essaouira
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#38 of 74 in Essaouira
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Al Bahar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Al Bahar

Address: 1 Rue de Touahen, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#20 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#22 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: $36 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Al Bahar 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Al Bahar is certainly the name it deserves: the house by the sea.Built on the ramparts of the city of Essaouira in the "San Dion" area, she faces the ocean and its trade winds. From the terrace the view is one of constant movement, winds breaking against the rocks of the coast, offering an amazing spectacle. From there, you can also enjoy the panoramic view over the medina with its northern fort of the ancient Scala and the Mellah (the former Jewish quarter). In the distance, you can see the sand dunes, which actually touch the northern outskirts of the city. Jean-Claude and Lise, a french-dutch couple, have completely renovated this house which was built at the turn of the last century. At that time, this part of Essaouira was much more animated thanks to the presence of an authentic windmill which formerly provided flour for the city and the back country. At this place, a new hotel has been built but the street name remained: Touahen, which means ‘mill’ in Arabic.Today, the peacefulness of this place is only disturbed by breaking waves and shrieking seagulls.During October 13-17, 2012, the town of Essaouira witnessed the filming of parts of the third season of "Game of Thrones", the popular medieval fantasy series. On October 15, some of the scenes were filmed on our street and near Dar Al Bahar, both almost magically transformed in a medieval set by the crafty crew, some of them also being our guests in the hotel. For the current and future fans of the series, we share some of our photos of the stars, extras and set, and, for those wishing to experience the "Game of Thrones" atmosphere, we look forward to having them of our guests.You will certainly have a pleasant stay in Dar Al Bahar ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dar Al Bahar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Al Bahar Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing