We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Airy, natural riad with rooftop terraces and...”
other travelers have booked this property
Saloon basement/ground floor Riad DAR BÔ
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Saloon basement/ground floor Riad DAR BÔ
Saloon basement/ground floor Riad DAR BÔ Kitchen ground floor/basement Riad DAR BÔ
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Saloon basement/ground floor Riad DAR BÔ
Saloon basement/ground floor Riad DAR BÔ
Kitchen ground floor/basement Riad DAR BÔ
Kitchen ground floor/basement Riad DAR BÔ
Terrace 1st floor Riad DAR BÔ
1st floor Riad DAR BÔ
Twin room 2nd floor Riad DAR BÔ
Triple room 2nd floor Riad DAR BÔ
Triple room 2nd floor Riad DAR BÔ
Bathroom triple & twin room 2nd level Riad DAR BÔ
Triple room 1st floor Riad DAR BÔ
Triple room 1st floor Riad DAR BÔ
Bathroom triple room 1st floor Riad DAR BÔ
Double room 1st level Riad DAR BÔ
Bathroom double room 1st level Riad DAR BÔ
Shower double room 1st level Riad DAR BÔ
Entrance Riad DAR BÔ
Entrance Riad DAR BÔ
Patio Riad DAR BÔ
Terrace 3rd floor Riad DAR BÔ
Terrace 3rd floor Riad DAR BÔ
Terrace 3rd floor Riad DAR BÔ
Terrace 3rd floor Riad DAR BÔ
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Riad -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Journey70...
United States
1 review
“Airy, natural riad with rooftop terraces and ocean views”
Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A clean and natural riad that obviously has been well designed. The photos are very accurate, but the place is even more beautiful in person. I rented the riad exclusively with my mom and sister (we each had our own en suite bedroom!) but the home is big enough for a big group of friends or a couple families. The stairs keep winding up all the way to a double level rooftop terrace with a view of the ocean.

Claudia met us on our arrival and took time to answer our questions and make us some tea so we felt fully settled in Essaouira. Saida made us breakfast each morning on the terrace (optional but we added it on) so we could wake up slowly and and relax as we got ready for the day.

I highly suggest staying at Dar Bo! If I have the chance to return to Essaouira I will be here!

Date of stay: April 2017
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banana1pa...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal family base in the Medina”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed here for a week with my young children and older parents (one on crutches) and it was perfect for us. The house is very comfortable and stylish and the fire was great in the cooler evenings. Saeda the housekeeper was fantastic - she prepared lovely breakfasts and helped with care of our baby. Claudia who manages the property was fantastic...she was very attentive and always contactable. she arranged for a handyman to come and fix a showerhead at very short notice and booked all our taxis etc.
The house is in a quiet corner towards the north of the medina but still close to everything and about 15min walk to the beach with children and crutches in tow! There are 2 restaurants just outside which was convenient in the evening. Would highly recommend. Claudia can also recommend lots of activities/visits and tours.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregPaula...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming Holiday House in Great Location”
Reviewed November 23, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Dar Bo is well located in a lovely peaceful square in the Jewish Quarter. Nicole made the experience an enjoyable one right from the point we made the booking. She manages the beautiful Riad Baladin and welcomed us personally to the house (even though we arrived late) was always on hand with lots of useful tips for where to go and what to do.. The riad is renovated to an excellent standard - modern but traditional. The house is ideal for everyone - our groups was mixed and included children (who loved the house). The house is well equipped, decorated tastefully and has a wonderful view from the roof terrace. If you need some tips just listen to Nicole - she knows what she is talking about. We had a great time and will be back again soon. Would recommend for all ages.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, decoration everything really
Liked least: liked everything
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hester_Ez...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Wonderful Family house in Medina”
Reviewed September 7, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Dear readers,

Me and my family had a wonderful time in the house DAR BO. We spend a very special time there since our baby boy turned 1 year. We are a Dutch Moroccan family and since the moroccan family members were not there on his birth we decided that it be wonderful to at least celebrate his first birthday in Essouira. Nicole really helped us to settle in and she even recommend the best place on the beach for the birthday party. At the end we had 12 family members all staying in the house and relaxing together. The house is very well located in the Medina and inside there is only peace and harmony.. no sounds and wonderful colors and objects.

Another nice detail my son learned the clim the stairs during our stay!

I would really recommend this house to any family who would like to spend lots of time together but also like to have a moment on their own in the wonderful bedrooms with bath.

Hope you will enjoy your holiday as well .. we hope to come back if we have another opportunity,

Hester, Ibrahim and Khalil

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the calm colors
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chic riad tucked away in the medina”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

You'll find Riad Dar Bô tucked away up at the top of one of the main streets in Essouira, at the start of the Jewish quarter. It's run by the same people who run Riad Baladin, and also own a pasta shop: our point of contact was Nicole, a friendly Swiss émigré who has many useful tips for where to go and what to do, should you need them. The riad is renovated to a high standard - modern, but respectful of the traditional structure - and has a good kitchen and a very spacious living room. The bedrooms all have en suite and are decorated to a high standard and clean. There's two terraces: the top gets the best sun. The medina is compact enough that's it's relatively easy to get around: it's a 15 minute walk from the riad down to the harbour. Would recommend for all ages.

Date of stay: January 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth r
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fabulous ambiance and great location”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

two terraces, beautiful rooms and a huge space to relax, live and enjoy Essaouira. The house was really clean and beautifully decorated, we felt instantly at home, and it's in the heart of the medina just slightly out of range of the full-on tourism further in.It's a stones throw from the market so we could buy food to cook at home, or try the nearby restaurants. Essaouira is small enough to navigate with ease, and our host was incredibly helpful, professional, and charming, recommending the best places in and around the town. She provided a fabulous couscous dinner when we arrived late. A perfect holiday rental which would be wonderful for a party, or just a chilled week or two away.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: atmosphere
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a m
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a real get away in a wonderful environment”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Riad Dar Bo is a beautifully renovated riad (traditional house) inside the walls of the medina. There is lots of space (3 large suites for a family of 4) a wonderful housekeeper (who also took us shopping for the ingredients and then cooked a very tasty meal.

The riad is impeccably clean, the sheets in nice cotton, and the decoration, very pleasing. A really oasis inside the medina/

Nicole, also runs the Balladins hotel which is about 5 minutes away on foot, is a wonderful source of information and contacts.

I recommend Dar Bo.

Date of stay: October 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: impeccable condition
Liked least: I needed to stand on my toes to see the sea (but I knew that when I booked).
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing