We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury and comfort but 'French style' service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Ranked #19 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Luxury and comfort but 'French style' service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Located a short walk from the old walled town or medina, this modern hotel in Essaouira provides luxury and comfort in its bedrooms which either overlook the sheltered oval-shaped pool or the long, sandy beach. There is an impressive atrium and large breakfast area but the Moroccan restaurant with traditional fare, open in the evening, did not appeal. Cote Plage, the hotel's beachside restaurant serves an international menu and light meals could be had at lunchtime beside the pool. Service poolside was exasperatingly slow and, not surprisingly for a luxury hotel, prices were high compared to what could be found in some excellent restaurants in the medina.
The standard of housekeeping was very high. Bedrooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean and the maids friendly and smiling. Reception staff, on the other hand, were not at all helpful. Although we speak French, they failed to communicate important information on several occasions during a week-long stay!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are probably best. However, if you choose a sea view I doubt there would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Rosemary B,

Thank you for your comment; I’m going to share it with the entire team of Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa

I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies.

Thank you again for your comprehension.

We hope to welcome you soon.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    511
    168
    60
    34
See reviews for
298
730
93
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here four days at the end of our Holiday. After traveling by car quite some days seeing a lot of Morocco, this was the best place to relax. The Hotel is located across from the boulevard and beach, great. The Hotel is beautiful and super comfortable, making sure you feel you're on Holiday and get all care needed. The rooms are great (we had a standard room), clean, lovely, spacious bathroom and closets. Also a flatscreen tv with movie channels, very relaxing!!!! The pool is lovely, big, enough space. And the restaurants and bar are excellent. Definitely recommend this Hotel in lovely Essouira!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Jeroen ,

I'm very much apreciate your positive feedback regarding your stay at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

I will not hesitate to share it with the entire team.

I will be pleased to see you again in Essaouira.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Enjoyed a few days in this hotel by the sea.

+'s:
- location: easy walk into town, well lit and safe trot in to have a wander and Essaoira is perfect for casual exploring
- free parking across road from hotel with security
- big room (no need to book suite in my opinion) with balcony and a choice of view - pool or sea
- big comfy bed with great pillows
- sunbeds/towels on beach
- outside restaurant by pool has some buzz at breakfast time

-'s:
- food, not great quality and rather spendy, I would recommend eating out - plenty of options on the doorstep
- lovely bar, but no-one in it so zero athmos- shame as they could do more to promote this and encourage people in; the hotel is rather dead generally of an evening
- breakfast buffet - reasonable selection of breaded goods, some hot options, cheese/ham and fruit. Coffee not so hot or good, which is strange in Morrocco. Also they don't replenish the coffee, for example as is typical elsewhere
- no tea/coffee making facilities in room, which I appreciate is not a standard 5 star thing but I like a camomile tea before bed!
- hotel could do with a decor freshen up, it's a little dated

Probably the main issue with the Medina,the staff are nice and there are lots of them but one has to ask for everything and typically wait some time for it to appear. Having staff circulate at meal times asking if everything is okay or would you like more of x or y would be appreciated I'm sure.

Room Tip: Don't bother with a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmoraItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear AmoraItalia,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

Your opinion is very important to us,we will take the necessary actions, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

I certainly would be very pleased to see you again on a next visit at Essaouira.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was our first stop on our honeymoon. Overall we were really pleased with it all and would recommend although only through 'offer' prices as our value for money included visiting with a Groupon.

The pool, breakfast, room, room service, cocktails and general service were all great. Not being particularly bilingual was not an issue here as most spoke English sufficiently if not very well.

The room did end up with ants roaming around but we had a small amount of snacks around and part of the scenery was large plants reaching up the side of the building. Although annoying it couldn't be helped much.

The wifi was very temperamental which led to quite a bit of frustration. When offered it should be consistent either way so that customers know what to expect.

The bed was the largest I think I've ever seen and the room was fantastically dark with the curtains drawn so 5 stars there.

Unfortunately the spa services were quite lacking, not in what was on offer but the organising of doing any. We waited for more than an hour whilst one other couple were served. I know there is a line to draw between giving customers a focus and importance whilst moving them a long in good time but they were WAY off in our single experience.

Overall very nice, would recommend to couples and families (there's lots to do in Essouira for all) but the price was high when not on offer.

Room Tip: Pool facing is not windy. Sea facing is windy but has an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Andrew,

I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa MGallery.

Your feedback is very important to us,I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies.

I hope to receive you another time with us.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

stayed 7 nights staff very helpful we found service to be very good in need of refurbishment but rooms very clean as was all of the hotel pool area nice place to chill out drinks average price for hotels we had lunch round the pool and food very good we had a great time in essaouira and would like to thank all the hotel staff for playing there part in making our holiday memorable stayed september 2013 travelled as a couple

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andy2255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Andy,

Thank you very much for your message.

I appreciate that you take time to give us your feed back!

I will transfer your comment to my staff; it is the biggest reward for their daily effort and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Booked on hotels.com based upon location and good star rating and T/A reviews. Very much as billed - nice rooms, good amenities, lovely pool, great for the beach and town. Could do with a bit of a refurb/tidy up but not a major problem.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonnygoogles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Jonny,

Thank you very much for your message!

Happy that you enjoy your stay, all the staff hope to welcome you soon in this Hotel!

I hope to receive you another time in Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Overall I was very impressed.
At check in my friend waved his Accor platinum card about and we were given an immediate upgrade to a junior suite which was really big and had an enormous balcony.

As others have noted here the hotel does indeed need a thorough renovation especially the hallways (the carpets are truly revolting - more a case of wipe your feet on the way out rather than on the way in) and the room itself is very dated although still very clean and comfortable.

The pool area is very nice and we didn't have any problems getting sunloungers.
We found all staff to be friendly and helpful especially the staff on duty at breakfast - breakfast was very nice, at tables around the pool, with a big selection. Only criticism was that neither the tea nor the coffee were ever particularly hot.

The first coupe of days we were here a tray of aftenoon snacks was left in the room which was a nice touch. I can't comment on the restaurants as we didn't try them - there are lots of high-quality restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Our favourites were la Licorne and la Decouverte.
Overall, I'd recommend it - I'd also thoroughly recommend Essaouira which is a lovely sunny seaside town full of nice restaurants and interesting little streets.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Andrew,

Thank you very much indeed for having taken the time to write your opinion in Tripadvisor and to express your satisfaction following your stay at Le Médina Essaouira hotel Thalassa sea & spa .

I will not hesitate to share it with the entire team.

I hope to receive you another time .

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.8 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#21 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#23 of 77 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection

Property: Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Address: Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#7 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#17 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#19 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a sumptuous Moroccan riad, the facade of the Sofitel Thalassa Essaouira is painted the traditional red of Mogador. Set on the coast, close to the medina, this charming luxury hotel furnished with thuja and lemon wood cabinets, provides direct access to a luxury thalassotherapy centre. Enjoy an unforgettable leisure and fitness break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea And Spa - Mgallery Collection
Accor Thalassa Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira
Essaouira Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing