We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Five Columns

Ground floor courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ground floor courtyard
Ground floor - Courtyard Dining table Ground floor salon with open fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Ground floor courtyard
Ground floor - Courtyard Dining table
Ground floor salon with open fireplace
Medina view from port
Beach at sunset
Medina / Harbour walls at sunset
View of rampart walls
Our street
Medina sunset
Artwork in the house by Moroccan artist
First floor
First floor salon
First floor salon fireplace
First floor salon fireplace
Fireplace detail
Fireplace detail
Vintage light in stairwell
Ground floor dining room
Ground floor detail
Vintage furniture
Kitchen
Kitchen
Large open fireplace
Ground floor courtyard
Kitchen
Entrance from street
Kitchen
Interior detail
Bookshelf
Interior detail
Vintage light - First floor salon
Artwork
Interior detail
Interior detail
Bedroom 2 - First floor
Bedroom 2 - First floor
Bedroom 2 - First floor
Bedroom 2 - First floor
Bedroom 2 - First floor
Bedroom 2 en-suite - First floor
Bedroom 1 - First floor
Bedroom 1 - First floor
Bedroom 1 - First floor
Bedroom 1 - First floor
Bedroom 1 en-suite - First floor
Bedroom 1 shower - First floor
Bedroom 1 en-suite - First floor
Bedroom 1 en-suite - First floor
Vintage light
Bedroom 3 - 2nd floor
Bedroom 3 en-suite - 2nd floor
Bedroom 3 - 2nd floor
Medina rooftops
Bedroom 4 - 3rd floor
Bedroom 4 en-suite - 3rd floor
Roof terrace dining table
Roof terrace
Roof terrace - Bar area
Roof terrace - Bar area
Roof terrace - Bar area
Roof terrace - Bar area
Interior details
View from Bedroom 2 - First floor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
holidaysr...
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed June 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I stayed in 5-columns with a group of close friends to celebrate my 40th birthday. I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Although situated right in the beating heart of the medina, it is a haven of tranquility and calm. It has been beautifully decorated and designed throughout, and has everything you might need for your break. Lisa helped us by organising some activities during our trip, and we were so well looked after by Rasheed, who welcomed us and was a point if contact for anything we needed throughout our stay, Fatima the wonderful housekeeper who even fed us with her delicious tagine, and Fassi, the taxi driver, who is simply a legend.

We had such a good trip, I would highly recommend 5-columns as a place to stay if you're heading to Essauoira. We are already planning our next trip! Thank you Lisa.

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-45Pa...
Paris, France
1 review
“A wonderfull relaxing riad in Essaouira”
Reviewed June 20, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

It's been several years in a row that we've been enjoying Lisa's wonderful riad. This beautiful and perfectly restored old moroccan house lies in Essaouira's medina and both the house and the city will provide every thing you need for some charming and relaxing holidays, in town or in the surroundings.
The four rooms four soreys riad perfectly mixes tradition and design, and life in Essaouira offers a wide choice of activities, ranging from awsome food, to seaside sports, art festivals or cultural trips. People in town are much more friendly than in harrassing Marrakech, and the supporting team, Fatima and Rachid will make every detail of your stay perfect.
Thanks again Lisa for another unforgettable stay :-)

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2017
Thank you Jean and Anne, we very much look forward to welcoming you again!

Kind regards

Lisa & Liggy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darraghm
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“5 Columns was magical”
Reviewed April 30, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

It's hard to know where to start as we had so many magical experiences on this trip to Essaouira!
Having never visited Morocco before I was blown away by how authentic Essaouira still is, as soon as you enter the medina it's like stepping back in time with the hustle and bustle of daily life behind these traffic free walls.

The second you turn the key in the door at 5 Columns riad you are greeted by an oasis of calm and can see the level of thought that's gone into designing this stunning home away from home.
Over 4 floors you have 4 double bedrooms each one with its own identity and more importantly it's own bathroom done in that rustic Moroccan style.
Having a place to stay in the heart of the medina is such an amazing experience which is lost in hotels outside the medina wall. Being able to walk to the local bakery every morning to collect some peanut and almond pastries plus a few coffees is an experience in itself, sitting with the vibrant locals while they go about their daily routine behind these old walls...unreal.

Lisa and Liggy are the perfect hosts with an array of friendly people on hand to help you enjoy this stunning country.
Lisa organised for us to be collected from the airport by Fassi the taxi driver who is like a Moroccan Ed Sheeran (he isn't ginger) and broke out into song for our whole journey having us all singing along to boot, good times with this genuinely funny Moroccan legend.
They happily organised some must see experiences to do going back in time at the Berber market or a day trip to the Le jardin des Douars so we could chill by the pool at this stunning hotel with the most amazing gardens.

I was blown away by this stunning country with its friendly people and Essaouira is still relatively unspoilt with some of the best restaurants I've ever eaten in with really affordable prices.
I can't wait to return to the magical 5 Columns again soon and feel I've still so many more streets to explore around the medina and souk.

Until next time amazing Morocco!

Darragh
The London Irish

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2017
Thank you Darragh, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the house and that you fell in love with Essaouira! You are welcome back any time

Lisa & Liggy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayJ240
1 review
“Amazing family Gathering at this Beautiful 5 Star Rhiad in Essouria”
Reviewed November 18, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We just returned from celebrating my husbands 70 th Birthday at 5 Colums Essouria .A beautiful Rhiad that each day you see more beauty . And thanks to Lisa and Liggy made our stay memorable with recommendations for restaurants and shops . 5 Colums has it all once you open the door you step into another world of design and beauty .Very spacious rooms .Comfy beds .fully equip kitchen and a sunny roof terrace with a heavenly Bar .we will be back and we highly recommend 5 Colums .we also enjoyed a lovely meal cooked by Fatima .
Essouria is relaxed and the people are very pleasant and chatty offering you cups of tea and advice.
K&R Dublin

Date of stay: November 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 18, 2016
Thank you Kay and Raman, I am glad you had a great holiday and we welcome you back anytime! Lisa & Liggy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grainne20...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“In a word - AMAZING!”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed in the beautiful 5 columns to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday - it was simply beautiful. Lisa and Liggy were so helpful with the plans for the stay and made it incredible for us - there was nothing that was too much trouble.
The riad is to die for - such beautiful design with thought having gone in to every aspect of the property. it felt like a boutique hotel with complete privacy. being inside the medina, a step out the front door was a step into another world. I particularly enjoyed buying eggs, bread and butter in the local "shop".
I still dream of that place and we really hope to return one day.
Thanks so much Lisa and Liggy :)

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Design
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayqq...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A magical, stylish retreat in beautiful Essaouira”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Having never visited Morocco before, I didn't know what to expect from a girlie weekend in Essaouira staying at Five Columns, but it was AMAZING from start to finish. Six of us travelled and were easily accommodated across the four large bedrooms. Luxe comfy beds, stunning Star Wars-style bathrooms and quirky details all over the place (vintage fencing mask hanging casually beside super cool artwork and amazing clustered glass lights). We loved the cool roof top bar for late night lounging and the three-story high central atrium which felt like being outdoors.

We were met by Rachid, the house manager, outside the town walls and escorted to the riad (about a 5min walk from the gate; porters are on hand with wheelbarrow things to transport luggage so it was all so easy), having made a stop at the huge Carrefour supermarket for provisions. Essaouira is only about 20mins in a cab from the airport too. Lisa, the owner, had provided loads of recommendations for superb restaurants (our favourite was One Up) and even had her housekeeper Fatima cook for us at home one night; her tagine was delicious. The location of the house is excellent; a short walk from everything so you really feel in the heart of it all, but with a serene and stylish atmosphere.

Overall, Essaouira offers so much: fantastic shopping (large suitcase instead of hand luggage next time!), sophisticated restaurants and an otherworldly atmosphere. What astonished us as six women was that we did not feel at all harassed or unsafe at any time; everyone was really welcoming and chilled out. Five Columns is perfect for groups as the management make so many (reliable!) recommendations and will help book stuff for you which takes the guesswork out of a short stay and enables you to relax in a stylish and authentic home from home in an exotic location. A total winner!

Thanks so much to all the team, we are already planning our next trip!

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2016
Thank you Holiday Queen, I am glad that you had a wonderful time and experienced a lot in such a short time. Looking forward to you all coming back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna J
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Awesome authentic experience”
Reviewed July 7, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The most stunning hidden gem - a stylish Riad located close to the souk in Essaouira. The place feels like it has come out of pages of Architectural Digest. It allows you to feel relaxed and enjoy the space both in its simplicity and elegance. A great place to explore, relax at the local spa, visit the souks, enjoy the great food and go for long walks along the beach or on a camel if you would prefer!

Comfy beds, great bathrooms for every bedroom, well equipped kitchen and a wonderful roof terrace. I cannot recommend it enough. Brilliant for families and groups of friends to explore North Africa.

Date of stay: July 2016
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2016
Thank you Jo, we would love to have you back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing