We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where organization comes to perfection”

The Standard Essaouira
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Airport transfer, 7 Days accommodation in Moroccan villa, Breakfast lunch and dinner, 6 Day Surf and Kite course, Trips to various surf spots, Theoretical & practical lessons from experienced & licensed instructors, Video training (get a free copy of your surf action). Other activities available such as horse riding or camel riding (take a break from surfing!)
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Where organization comes to perfection”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I am utterly amazed by the organization of the surf camp I've attended and the Standard Essaouira is the best place to be if you are a surfer and even better if you are going to try to surf the waves for the first time! Younes is the best organizer you can find. We were organizing a dental surf camp and without him it wouldnt be possible.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DentalSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was a perfect week in Morocco. Enjoyed both surfing and kite surfing. Even though we got extremely tired (first time of doing these sports), would love to repeat it.

Even though it was January, it was not too cold (around 22 degrees in daytime)

Local food, people, environment and everything else was fantastic. The Thank you, Younes!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SaumaneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The Standard Essaouira is definitely the place to contact for an unforgetable trip to Morocco. We enjoyed kitesurfing for a week with everything else included; great breakfast and dinner, a big apartment close to the beach and a hospitality that I can honestly say was extraordinary, thank you very much Younes! I highly recommend The Standard to everyone looking to get something special out of their vacation. Travelling outside of season was no problem either, the wind was steady, the waves good and it gave us a lot of space on the beach. Coming back for sure:)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mads s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

A perfect way to spend your holiday if you want to get much out of it. Practical accomodation near the beach, great Marocco food, relaxed atmosphere, and super kite/surf-conditions. Younes is the man! (and the other guys at the surfshop gives him good competition..) I will definitely recommend The Standard to my friends in Norway, and I will probably go back to Essaouira my self :)

Eirik

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eirik1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Chillout Dromadaire trip to Jimmy Hendrix den in Diabat”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Essaouira was the town Jimmy Hendrix choose to explore back in 1968 and finally to rest for an afternoon in Diabat after a gig in Spain . May be " Castle in the Sand " was about the beautiful sultan palace sunken on the beach of Essaouira where Jimmy sat beaming at the cam!

Walking the beautiful beach , you can reach Diabat by foot but It is safer and much more exciting on the back of a dromadaire . Sebastien the dromadaire with gooogle eyes will guide you to Diabat and back with its owner Mostafa Mahjoubi.

Most Dromadaire owners will show the way to Diabat but I recommend Mostafa because of his truly friendly approach with the tourists and he is not pricey. Mostafa will go a step further to please everybody and he is an amazing photographer . A young Essaouira lad with a friendly professional approach, extremely courtious and so hospitable ; he will do anything to help .
His pictures are always great so please trust him with your cam .

Mostafa and his fidele compagnion Sebastien {google eyes} will insure that you spend a fab time however your wishes to plan your randonnee at the Forest , beach , diabat or sharing a tagine or fresh sardines cooked on the barby .Mostafa is Aladin.

Memorable time ? Coming back to Essaouira on the back of a dromadaire at sunset . Mostafa guided us back to the beach and made us experienced The rare moment when the green light shot out from the bright red sun ; what a moment!
Thank you Mostafa for the Fabulous pictures and for been so fab!
Now go and visit Mostafa Mahjoubi on Facebook!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ShebaPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Standard Essaouira also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to The Standard Essaouira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing