We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with room”
Review of Riad Thais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Thais
Ranked #50 of 180 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The riad is well located in the Medina and easy to find. The included breakfast was very well prepared by the friendly housekeeper. Another member of staff was very helpful in organising us a taxi back to Marrakech.

The room we stayed in was unfortunately a disappointment.
- The bathroom was located directly in the room meaning it was not very private.
- There were unpleasant smells emanating from the shower drain and mould around the shower.
- There were cockroaches in the bathroom area of the room (we saw 3 of them).
- The room was incredibly warm at night with no air-con or fan (which meant sleeping with the window open and it then being noisy).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 155 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

we loved our stay at riad thais! it is conveniently located within the medina, just a few minutes to the beach and plenty of restaurants and cafes on foot.

the ground floor has an open concept layout that makes you feel like you're at home, and the decor is done in excellent taste. our room was really comfortable and the shower design was really cool, however the only thing is that they don't have doors to separate the bathrooms, so it's weird to use the toilet "openly," and water from the shower spills out all over the floors of the room.

but all in all, we loved the look and feel of the place, and the breakfasts were extremely generous and delicious. it's very quiet in the riad, and the kitchen and living room areas are open for the guests to use as they wish. we'd stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank snadiay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Our stay in Riad Thais was just wonderful. We were picked up from Agadir airport (it is easier to fly out to Marrakech though, as this road is quite hilly) and about two hours later someone was waiting for us at the gate of the Medina to help us with our luggage. We had a nice, cosy room with a great shower. The location is good and the staff extremely friendly.We really felt at home in this Riad because we could just relax anywhere with a nice cup of coffee or mint tea, after the amazing breakfast or a windy day at the beach:-)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JonnekeNiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This is a beautifully styled recently refurbished riad right in the heart of Essaouira. The rooms are very clean, cosy and stylish, the Berber room is gorgeous with a beautiful big bathtub.

The host and staff are very attentive and friendly and the host went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable and also made sure I had a very good and filling gluten free breakfast, which I don't often get at most hotels!

This riad was the perfect place to get away from it all and I would definitely stay here again, and definitely recommend it to others!

Room Tip: The Berber room is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Riad Thais is a very charming and newly refurbished Riad in the heart of Essaouira. It is a gourgeous Riad with lovely furnitures. Location is great, it is situated only a few minutes walking from the beach and main bars and restaurants.The rooms are very clean and spacious. There is also a lovely hammam available for guests only. From the terrace the view of the city is beautiful. The staff is very helpful and friendly. A lovely place to rewind in the heart of Essaouira. I really enjoyed my stay there and I really hope to go back to Ria Thais very soon!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claudiadaniela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Erste nacht waren wir spat angekommen und surprise surprise great couscous waiting for us !!! thanks to the staff !! because we were really really hungry !!
ganz sauber, alles neu, staff wirklich nett und gastfreundlich, immer hilfsbereit und diskret. very good location, next to shops in medina and 5 min walk from beach!!
zimmer ein bischen klein aber ganz bequem weil wir terrasse und kamin platz benutzt haben. cosyyyyy!!! Great sunset from the terrase, listening to the call from the moske !! weird feeling !! in that moment i realised i am on holidays !!!
Wir haben die ganze zeit the a la menthe bekommen, und der fruhstuck war wirklich klasse, viel essen und lokale produkte.
Wir haben den hamman ausprobiert ;;; great experience !! we higly recommended that !!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carol g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

i had a fantastic weekend in Riad Thais, i was just too short! The style of the riad is simple modern but with good taste maintaining the Moroccon feeling in the decoration, just beautiful. It has a nice terrace upstairs you can enjoy your delicious breakfast "á la marocaine" , which is excellent, natural and yummy. Each room is different, I chose the one with bath, it was just so romantic and comfortable for relaxing. The location is perfect, in the medina, you just have to go out the door and you have all the Moroccon shops, tasty food for good price, cafes, the scala, the beach is only 5 minutes walk far away. Nice service and for a very reasonable price. I am sure i will go back to the same Riad if I visit Essaouira next time

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saltravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
RIad Dar El Paco
RIad Dar El Paco
#11 of 180 in Essaouira
270 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
5.6 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
0 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#41 of 75 in Essaouira
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Thais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Thais

Address: 181 Avenue Sidi Mohamed ben Abdallah | (Ancienne Medina), Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range: $45 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Thais 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Thais is a charming house in the heart of the Medina of Essaouira perfect to couples, welcome groups of friends or families. Modern in style with a mix of Moroccan and contemporary style, it boasts clean lines, high technology and all the comforts you could require for a memorable stay. The property has been recently completely restored and offers an elegant and comfortable environment. Located on a quiet side street off the main souk area within 5 minutes walk from the splendid white beaches and Moulay Hassan square and a guarded parking area, is an oasis of calm where you can recharge your batteries. There are also several restaurants to hand. The villa has an area of 260 m2 on two floors. There are 5 double bedrooms, 3 on the first floor around the patio and two on the second floor. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms and are differently decorated. There is a spacious dining room, living room, chimney, chill-out corner, kitchen, wall fountain, satellite TV, traditional Hammam and a large roof terrace with a stunning town view and a complimentary wi-fi. A chauffeur can be provided if you wish to visit the beautiful surrounding areas as well as your own chef who can prepare you whatever you want whenever you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Thais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing