We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surf & Chill Hostel
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Awesome little hostel that makes you feel right at home, Simo is great fun and will not only help you make the most out of your stay but also be a great friend to hang out with. He took us to some great surf spots and on a spot of tree goat hunting. Check out his surf camps here too https://www.facebook.com/pages/Surf-chill-camp/225436224195200 A planned one night turned into two, would have stayed longer if we could! Would not hesitate to stay again the next time I am in Essaouria.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GraemeCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 84 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2012

We were in Essaouira in February and first wanted to spend a week in the "Surf and Chill Hostel".
But after Simo (The Manager) and all the staff were so nice and hospitable to us, we just didn´t want to go. So we decided to stay another week. We had the time of our lifes surfin and chillin with Simo and all the other nice people we met at the hostel. We could cook for ourselves there, well actually Simo did cook for us :) Our room was very cosy and clean, and we could always hear the Sea. Every Morning we had Breakfast on the roof enjoying the sun. It was very hard for us to go but we will definitly come back in Summer. Thank you Simo for everything!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SurfinJOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

i have stayed in this hostel a few times, and will stay here again, because it is an awesome place. its really beautiful, cheap and clean. simo is the best and he is an amazing cook.. location is great. i have had some great times here and recomend to all. there is not one bad thing to say about this hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sara1987sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I was in Essa during New Years this year and I had an amazing time! I stayed at the Surf and Chill Hostel and Simo the hostel manager made it all worth while. He was so hospitable and always had a smile on his face! Hes always cooking, asking if you want tea, if you want a snack, whatever! Just making sure that your as comfortable as you could ever be. The hostel is cool too because there is a big open space in the middle with a gorgeous tree in the center. During the day or at night people just chill in this mini-court yard area, eating, smoking sheesha and chatting so its great for meeting people. Also, the location is prime. Honestly, its such a great hostel and so inexpensive, its the best choice for Essa for sure. Oh and my room had a fireplace which was amazing!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank danicaisabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

very nice place great price 7 euros clean and in centre old medina i enjoyed been there the manager simo was very nice guy help us with everything we needed there
and we very testy food there tajine and coscous
even it was lots of guys trying to hasl me and they told me its not nice hostel but i went there to see my self and it was not trut so

i recomaned this place to every one who want cheap hostel in essaouira and want to relax
he should go there

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Its really a nice travellershostel. The rooms are decent and for a good price. You always find interesting people in the communal living area. During the gnawafestival a lot of people where cooking and playing music and it really felt like my home. Its just around the corner of the main square, the harbor and the beach. Simo became a good friend and he is always happy to show you around. He speaks many languages and is always willing to help. I defenitly recommmend staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bungybabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

i was in essaouira few weeks its was really good we really enjoyed it lot and surf & chill it was really cool place very chillout very good stuff very friendly one of the good thing that hostel has open kitchen that we ued for cooking cheaply that was very nice
we had lots of fun staying there and the music there was someather travlers also with guitar very cool atmospher

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank redwane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0 mi away
Green Milk Hostel
Green Milk Hostel
#5 of 63 in Essaouira
75 reviews
0 mi away
Atlantic Hostel
Atlantic Hostel
#2 of 63 in Essaouira
246 reviews
0 mi away
White and Blue
White and Blue
#16 of 63 in Essaouira
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Surf and Chill House
Surf and Chill House
#14 of 63 in Essaouira
27 reviews
0 mi away
Essaouira Youth Hostel & Social Travel
0 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf & Chill Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Chill Hostel

Address: 16 Rue Algerie , Old Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco (Formerly Surf & Chill Camp)
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Essaouira
Price Range: $12 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf and Chill Hostel offers clean, comfortable accommodation in the medina of Essaouira. Free wifi, healthy breakfast and bath towels provided for all guests. Surf trips, lessons, equipment hire and guiding available as well as evening yoga sessions. Fantastic staff available to advise on surf conditions and where to find the best breaks. Free tea and coffee making facilities as well as hairdryers available on request. Roof terrace with stunning views over Essaouira. Surf and Chill Hostel is located just a short walk from the beach and many of Essaouira's best cafes, restaurants and bars. It is the perfect place to surf or just Chill! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing