We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Briiliant riad”
Review of Riad Perle d'Eau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Perle d'Eau
Ranked #2 of 181 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Fabulous riad right in the heart of the medina and so easy to find.The riad is only about 100 mtrs from the shops and restaurants and about a 10 min stroll from the port which you must go to as it is a real experience seeing all the fresh fish being unloaded and sold on little stalls.
We stayed in the Hanadama suite which was enormous and beautifully decorated and was directly overlooking the beahc and ocean.The views were amazing.You really must stay in a suite as they all overlook the ocean even though they are a little bit more expensive.
Breakfast was served on the roof terrace overlooking the ocean and the food was brilliant.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The only negative comment was that my wife was having a relaxing massage and at the same time the Hamman was being cleaned for the next guest instead of waiting until her massage had finished.
We stayed in September which apparently is the best time to stay inEssauira as it is not windy (It wasn't windy at all when we stayed).
All in all an excellent riad in an excellent location with fantastic views

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twill56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 283 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great location, and definitely worth investing in sea view suite as the views were spectacular and sound of surf very relaxing. Lovely hosts made our stay even better - great breakfasts on the terrace and always on hand to suggest good restaurant selections. Hope to be back, highly recommended both riad and Essaouira as a great place for a long weekend

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieSUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

After a fraught taxi journey to the riad, all was made better by the welcoming greeting from Ernest (including mint tea and delicious traditional homemade biscuits). From then on, it just got better and better, the riad is full of charm with a traditional moroccan decor and, best of all, our room didn't just have a view of the sea, it was in the sea!!! Breakfast on the roof terrace was fabulous with a wonderful view of the atlantic.
Ernest is a very entertainning host and had great tips on where to eat and what to see. Perfectly located inside the medina, all was nearby but still in a quiet location. We had a great couple's hamman at the riad, which is apparently difficult to get elsewhere.
Friendly staff, very clean and confortable. We had originaly planned to stay for 2 nights but extended it to 4 nights as it was so pleasant and the medina had plenty to explore!

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room, well worth the extra! Book a couple's hamman as for religious reasons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howiemitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were travelling across Morocco just before the wedding of my sister. She had reserved another place in the city but we were a bit disappointed so we went looking for another place...

We stumbled on it at the end of an alley. Best luck of the entire trip. Ernest and Gisele were superb hosts. We treated ourselves with the ocean room: comfortable, beautiful... a treat.

Food was great. We had the chance of having dinner there and this was in fact the best meal of our stay in Essaouira.

As with any riad, the rooms can be a tiny bit more noisy. They were great for us but if perfect calm is the goal, you might want to choose rooms at the back. No view but comfortable and super quiet.

Finally, my wife says she had the best Hammam/Massage experience from her entire stay in Morocco there.

You can't go wrong...

(We were there April 2012 but the list from "when did you travel don't go that far)

Room Tip: Ocean rooms are amazing. Back rooms are super quiet and a little bit cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MtlD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had an excellent stay last week. The best sea views, friendly, helpful staff and the best dinner we had in Morrocco. We would also recommend the hammam and massage! It was fantastic!
The location is also excellent, being right in the centre and within easy walking distance of the beach. Essaouira is a quiet, relaxing place to stay after busy Marrakech and the beach is wonderful.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights in May with our toddler, our dear friends and their toddler. Ask for one of the ocean view rooms. The riad is lovely, among the nicest we have stayed anywhere in Morocco. The owners are top-notch and the staff are exceptional. We loved our stay and will be back as soon as we can! Although I do not recommend staying in a riad with a two year old, we managed just fine. The hamman is a must!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pdx0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

As others have commented the owners and staff are very welcoming,friendly and informative about places to eat etc. The riad has been beautifully restored with no expense spared and it was indeed a lovely place to wind down and relax after our drive round Morocco. The room was spacious and very comfortable,although the provision of a small fridge in the room would have made it just perfect.
The shower was excellent and the toiletries exquisite, and expensive!. We had a tantalising view of the sea through the doorway of the opposite rooms when the doors were left open but we didn't book one ourselves as we are already saving for another holiday later this year.The breakfasts on the terrace, complete with sea views, were just amazing; ham and cheese, fresh orange plus the usual Moroccan breads and jams and staff will even cook you a delicious omelette if requested, plus tea and coffee as required. All of this beautifully served by the staff. We were only there for two nights so unfortunately didn't have time to try the massage treatment rooms which looked lovely. It is only a short walk to the main shopping area and restaurants. Essaouiria is well worth a visit and is just over an hours drive from Marrakech. Watch out for speed limits on the roads, the traffic police are very active in this area! It will be our first stop on our next visit to Morocco when we hope to explore more of the coast and the Southern regions. Naturally we will be staying at Perle D'eau.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hillcroft_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 75 in Essaouira
548 reviews
7.8 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
300 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
683 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
0.1 mi away
Dar Maya
Dar Maya
#6 of 75 in Essaouira
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Perle d'Eau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Perle d'Eau

Address: 64 Rue du Koweit | Médina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range: $101 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Perle d'Eau 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Prestigia, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Perle d'Eau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing