We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely French restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Farachah

Al Farachah
24 , rue Iraq | Par Bab Marrakech 3eme Ruelle a Gauche Ferme Samedi Reouverture Tres Bientot, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
+212 654-480078
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 228 Restaurants in Essaouira
Cuisines: Moroccan, International, Mediterranean, Spanish, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: In a riad magnificent, a new cooking Moroccan but also traditional(nouvelle cuisine).Reservations from 4:30 am ferme le samedi soir
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“lovely French restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is set in a lovely riad off a scary back street! When you walk down there you feel like Jack the Ripper is going to jump out but all the back alleys are like that just have to assume they're safe. restaurant was lovely but very quiet so great as recommended for a quiet romantic dinner. Food was lovely we had and beautifully presented and the French owner was delightful. Wine mark up on Val D'Argan seemed slightly over the top but lovely to have organic wine with dinner. Had the assorted starter which was lovely and the lamb was delicious, portions are small but adequate. Would definitely go back as the food was so nice and great service. Toilets upstairs so wouldn't recommend for elderly people and would book as she would struggle with a full restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank halycondays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
97 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A lovely evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a lovely meal at Al Farachah, even if it did test our school level French (the waitress spoke no English). The restaurant is one of the many in Morroco that is a hidden gem in an otherwise nondescript alleyway. Luckily the Trip Advidor directions were perfect and it was not hard to find. The decor was perfect; a mix of muted and vibrant colours, Moroccan charm with a contemporary twist. The menu had good choices for all courses with good seafood (as one would expect of a coastal town). Our waitress was charming and helped us to improve our French language skills! We picked the chef's selection of starters which did not disappoint; about five selections all tasty and just the right amount. We both had seafood main courses, one of which was a tagine. We shared a dessert of chocolate tart and nougat ice cream which was delicious.

All in all a thoroughly enjoyable evening which with wine was less than drms 1,000.

We would definitely go back again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AS-reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wemmel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent new Moroccan cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This time we were there with friends and it was again a very nice experience. We enjoyed the food and the company of the owner who also gave us some very good tips that enhanced the pleasure of our stay in Essaouira. Regrettably we were the only guests and therefore the atmosphere was a little bit sad.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jopavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Modern take on traditional Moroccan cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Most places in Essaouira offer good quality, standard tagines and other Moroccan dishes, but Al Farachah offers a contemporary, experimental alternative.

Set in a beautifully converted riad with restaurant on the ground floor and a bar on the first floor (which we didn't visit), decorated in a slightly minimal yet traditional style.

We shared the first course, which was a tasting plate comprising a small onion tart, some soup, some tiny vegetable pastries and a selection of avocado, aubergine and olive 'dips', all of which were absolutely delicious.

My chicken and vegetable tagine was subtly flavoured and perfectly cooked, though as with every single piece of chicken I ate in Essaouira, it was really quite tough, which I presume is more to do with the chicken than the cooking. My husband was raving about his fish dish which again was incredibly tasty and very well cooked and presented.

The only thing that would have improved the visit was perhaps another waitress / waiter, as our hostess was delightful and very welcoming but a little stretched as the restaurant got busier.

Overall, a welcome change from the more traditional Moroccan experience with genuinely interesting food, stylish surroundings and a warm welcome.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LifetotheMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely food with memorable decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

My father and I went for dinner on a Monday evening in January so busy it wasn't. However the we were warmly greeted by the French host and as we don't speak French we had a great time communicating. Our hostess was very understanding( we were the only customers in at this point). The starters were tasty and full of flavour and both our mains were succulent. I had a lamb tagine and father a fish dish. Good value dining and worth a visit. It would generate a great atmosphere when busy I am sure.

Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Farachah also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Al Farachah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing