We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Dar Asklou

Dar Asklou
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Essaouira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Asklou
Ranked #125 of 180 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Majid was the perfect host. This was a brilliant place to stay and I was sorry that we were not able to stay longer than one night. It is easy to find and nicely located, Essaouira is so much better than Marrakech, much less frantic and laid back. This is the best value for the money we paid and although a budget hotel, the service was the best I have experienced. I think we will skip Marrakech next time and head straight for Dar Asklou. I hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharlee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Excellent value. Nice room. Very helpful and friendly host. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank favourite-cities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Dar Asklou is a nice riad, where you'll find a good atmosphere. The owner (Majid) is very friendly and he knows lot of things about Essaouira. He gives goods advices for your visit, and if he as time, he also can show you some nice places in the medina. The riad is near all of the places to see : for example you are about 10 minutes by feet from the sqala (near the sea). You can also ask for eat at the riad for the evening, the cooking is delicious. The breakfasts are also good : for example, there is fresh juice every morning! I spend a really great moment in this place, and if I come back once in Essaouira, I'd definitely come back again at Dar Asklou!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This is a great place to stay. The owners can give you really good advice of things to do and day trips from Essaouira that you would not find out by yourself. Also they know a lot about the history of the town that make looking around much more fun. Finally, breakfast is good and they vary the food everyday so you get something a bit different. I thoroughly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9RichardD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had a wonderful time at this small house right in the middle of the Medina of Essaouira. The atmosphere is very private and friendly. We stayed in one of the 4 guestrooms that are nicely decorated, very clean and calm. The house is owend by a Belgian who has travelled to Morocco for more than ten years and run by a young Moroccan who is always open for questions. You won't feel as if you where in a "normal" hostel or guest house but rather at home. Once you step out of the small street it is not far to the busy streets with the small shops and the Market at Souq Jdid or the big square of Essaouira.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
0.0 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
674 reviews
0.0 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#11 of 75 in Essaouira
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
0.0 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#42 of 75 in Essaouira
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Riad Sidi Magdoul
#33 of 75 in Essaouira
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Asklou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Asklou

Address: 190 Rue Chbanate, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing