We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very old and hidden”

Simon Attias Synagogue
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very old and hidden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

The synagogue was beautiful but well hidden in not a pleasant part of town. A must. This is only used for special occasions of groups

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank feliceh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, France
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A surprise in a building that is .....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were just walking and came across the sign for the Synagogue
The lady there was very helpful speaking French to my husband whom then gave it to me in English. I had no idea that the town was originally a Jewish town, and the Synagogue was one of 27 back before the Arabs came. Now its the last with 50 families.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret Marcus... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hard to find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

The Synagogue is near the wall of the city but quite hard to find. We had it marked on a map and showed it to many nearby residents, some of whom had no idea where is was. It is in a decrepit building but the inside is well restored and interesting. The Shamus only speaks French.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SandiBsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“End of the Era”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Everywhere we go Germany Poland York there is always a tragic Jewsih story that shows you communities, once amazing and full of life and vigour, now vanished . Here was no exception you wander though the Jewish Quarter, now in ruins, looking into houses though through broken walls. I spotted a minora painted on a wall as though a window . The synagogue has a telephone number above it which we had noted a called .. A small Jewsih? lady arrived and showed us round.. IT was in pretty good condition.. I think she said there where 50 Jews in Essaouira. my partner though she said 2. It'll make a nice hotel one day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank macintyresymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Mellah, Jewish quarter is destroyed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

It is empty of life. When the Jews left I am told they chose to destroy the old buildings and develop the area, build hotels, etc. this is now held up in the details so it looks like a war zone. The synagogue is near impossible to find, small, and unimposing.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank JimTheSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simon Attias Synagogue also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Simon Attias Synagogue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing