We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“I loved it there and hope to come back soon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bab Essaouira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Bab Essaouira
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   35 biss derb Abderahman Eddakhil, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 178 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I loved it there and hope to come back soon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

I had a short stay in this Riad when it had just opened, and thought it was excellent.. Oliver, the owner made me feel very welcome and met me at the bus station to take me to the Riad. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable..... Hot water was available at all times....The food was great!!....all freshly cooked while I chatted with friends I met there. Good music too!!...It is very conveniently located in the centre of Essaouira. I am certain that Oliver will continue to provide an excellent service at his Riads in Essaouira and Marrakech and I would always recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth_vintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    6
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
47
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

I was recommended to go to this place by manager of Riad Dar Najat which is always honest with his suggestions of activities inside of Morocco. I knew Essaouira before and so it was really low risk trip for me to have a good time there - but things came better than expected!
Arriving there we have been guided to get to the Riad and have been welcomed there warm-hearted and with a lot of hospitality. The furnishings have been so beautiful that the atmosphere is as beautiful as the Dar Najat in Marrrakech. So when you feel like home there just add the Atlantic and you got the Riad Bab Essaouira.
I'm really looking forward to get there as soon as possible as I can because on the top roof you can relax and get the best possible to recover from hectic daily live you have at home.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank axel001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed at this riad for 3 nights, it was so cool there. The riad has recently opened and everything looked nice. Our room had everything in it (including a flat screen TV). There was a power shower and even a lounge area for us to relax in.

The terrace was quite a large area, there were sofas that you could fall back on and enjoy the nice breeze coming in from the Atlantic Ocean. There were also a couple of sunloungers if you wanted to top up your tan.

The staff who looked after us were really nice, they spoke good English and were happy to help us with anything that we needed. They gave us a map of the medina and also a map of Essaouira, they showed us around on the first day and this helped us get our bearings. Once we had been shown how to find the riad once, we did not need to be shown again. The staff gave us their mobile numbers and told us that we could call them if there were any problems, we found this to be a really nice touch.

The riad has a perfect location, it is in the middle of the old medina in a quite side street, there was no noise in the night and it meant that we good a really good nights sleep. The riad was a short walk away from the fishing port and the beach of Essaouria.

If you are thinking of going to Essaouria then we would recommend staying at Riad Bab Essaouira as we think it is great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank agger_36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

This riad is in the heart of the medina of Essaouira. It is a 5 minute walk away from the main beach and port area. The riad is located in a quite area of the medina, there is no noise around the riad at all, it is pure bliss.

The riad has been tastefully decorated and everything was like new. I had a warm welcome to the riad and was shown not only the riad but the surrounding area. The bedroom had a large double bed in it and also a flat screen tv. There was free WIFI throughout the riad. The bathroom had a shower which was so powerful, it really woke me up in the morning. There was a relaxation areas all over the riad where you can sit and chillout, there are two terraces, once has a few sun loungers on it, the top terrace has large leather sofas on it that you can chill out on in the daytime or night. In the daytime you get a lovely view of the Atlantic Ocean, in the evening you get a gentle breeze blowing through the terrace, it really can't be beaten.

If you want to stay in Essaouira, I would recommend this riad to you, it is clean, in a great location and you will be well looked after by the staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MIB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#8 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 745 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#19 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 440 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#9 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ryad Lyon-Mogador
Ryad Lyon-Mogador
#17 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Lunetoile
Riad Lunetoile
#32 of 178 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Nafoura
Riad Dar Nafoura
#22 of 178 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Bab Essaouira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bab Essaouira

Property: Riad Bab Essaouira
Address: 35 biss derb Abderahman Eddakhil, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Bab Essaouira 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essaouira’s best luxury guest house. Member of the "Coolest Riads" group. Fantastic location, design and team. Incredible 360° views on ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Bab Essaouira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing