We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Truly amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caravane Cafe

Caravane Cafe
Ranked #10 of 255 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Truly amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Magician. Music. Food. Atmosphere. Service. What else can you ask for?

Location is no trouble, as walking inside the city is great. A two floor "boutique" restaurant has its french owner walking around and greeting you, making sure everything's fine. People speak (apart from their native language) french, spanish and english! It's amazing.

Probably the best you'll ever find in Essaouira!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan Pablo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    772
    280
    67
    28
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Ate here on our last night in Essaouira - absolutely amazing. Food was delicious, loved the live music and the magician was a great touch! Very good value for the price even if it is on the more pricey side for Essaouira. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank London89London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Fantastic food, great people (Didier took so much take care of us... and of the other guests!). Music is great (local band) and so many other reasons to love this place. All the very best to the staff from... a Swiss woman and her Belgian husband!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful, creative location _ 1001 Roses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We, a young couple from Berlin, loved Caravan Cafe.
It's located in an old Riad in the old town, every floor and every room is decorated unique and very creative with art and flowers.
There was a vase with over 20 beautiful roses on our small table!
Extremely friendly service, very international, open-minded flair... great music.
The food was very good. I was hoping they had a few more 'traditional dishes with a modern twist' on the menu but there was enough to choose from.

We'll be back.

B/T

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bianca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

My friend and I went for lunch here, we both went for fish as it seemed rude not too, especially being in a fishing village ! I had the Gambas and my friend had the Squid, it was beautifully presented and was also very yummy! The waiter was very friendly and also very kind as we asked for frappuccino's and although he didn't know what it was, he went out of his way to make us one once we explained to him. The owner was also very friendly and polite, you would not believe you we're in the middle of the medina as you really felt like you were out of the way of all the hustle and bustle ! Definitely worth the visit !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jersey8252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caravane Cafe also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Caravane Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing