We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun atmosphere”
Review of Caravane Cafe

Caravane Cafe
Ranked #10 of 264 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $46
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had some cocktails and this really fun bar / restaurant and meet one of the owners who also is a musician there. The staff and patrons were very nice and friendly.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    879
    314
    69
    30
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“we loved it so much!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Dinner at the Caravane Café was one of the highlights of our Moroccan trip - we were seated in the courtyard, we were looked after impeccably and had a thoroughly fantastic evening. The food was divine and the entertainment was simply wonderful.....a magician, 2 amazing live bands and very attentive staff and owner. The atmosphere was unforgettable - HIGHLY recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michaela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Having already had two really good dinners in Essaouira, this one surpassed all my expectations. It's set in an old riad with a beautiful courtyard and has been decorated with exotic colours, paintings and objects. You can dine in the courtyard or upstairs in one of the smaller rooms which feels very intimate (there was only one other table in our room). The food was nothing short of brilliant - we had Creole codfish cakes which were delicious, and then a fish dish which was both delicious and beautifully presented. There were musicians playing in the courtyard for someof the time which created a great atmosphere. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CLT725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful decor, romantic and quirky with great tasting food!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

A unique restaurant which has a great atmosphere and the food to match! A great balance if romance with entertainment

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OBDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Eclectic Menu”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

One year later I remember Caravane as an oasis among all the construction in Essouara. We ate at a pinic table style fish joint the previous day that had excellent varieties of grilled fish. But very local and very messy. Piles of discarded fish caucuses, shells, and napkins after eating.
Caravane is a rabbit warren of interestingly decorated and lit rooms. Lots of plants.
The price was reasonable. The menu a fusion of Europe and Morocco. Service good. Solo guitar a pleasant addition.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cbicaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caravane Cafe also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Caravane Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing