We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Please return to your old form - keeping my fingers crossed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caravane Cafe

Caravane Cafe
Ranked #8 of 253 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Köln, Deutschland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Please return to your old form - keeping my fingers crossed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I used to love and whole-heartedly recommend this restaurant with its eclectic menu and ecletic interior, both lively and tasteful/tasty and presented with a lot of care and creativity. Plus the people who work there and the owner, Didier, who welcomes you as if you came into his own home - which it actually is: Didier lives in the same Riad and it shows in the attention he gives to detail and astheticity - are warm and helpful even if maybe a little slow at times. Albeit my total enthusiasm from the beginning has withered. Domage! What started out in an elegant, easy way - freshly prepared food with unusual touches, combinations and flavours: fusion cuisine in the best sense of the word - has turned into something slightly pretentious. As if they tried to hard and wanted too much: too much on the plate, foods that - at least in my taste - do not fit together or are too complicated to be served at the same time... I will not give up hope though, there is so much potential...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank meleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    734
    267
    59
    26
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bohemian vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had a great time having dinner at the eclectic dinner spot. There was a live band playing a mix of music. We had wonderful food and the service was great. I will definitely come back here!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hurray for Caravane Cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Caravane Cafe is a joy. The food is not too cold, not burned, service not slow. The food was delicious, the wine excellent and the service marvellous. Nothing was too much trouble and it was evident how well all the staff, including the kitchen staff, worked so well as a team. My husband and I ate there five times whilst in Essaouira for a week, could not fault it, and were made extremely welcome each time. The ambience is wonderful and the live music excellent. Go - and enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PollyEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A me-too”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Feels like the cheap copy of Elizir. But to be fair, we only had a coffee there which was really good :-) ...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Felix S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a jewel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Bohemian clientele, delights prepared from worldly cuisines, happy to see you. We lived it.

Make a reservation and go while you are here. Best experience we had in Essaouira.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JBT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caravane Cafe also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Caravane Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing