We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Bohemian vibe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caravane Cafe

Caravane Cafe
Ranked #9 of 256 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bohemian vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had a great time having dinner at the eclectic dinner spot. There was a live band playing a mix of music. We had wonderful food and the service was great. I will definitely come back here!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    788
    285
    67
    29
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hurray for Caravane Cafe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Caravane Cafe is a joy. The food is not too cold, not burned, service not slow. The food was delicious, the wine excellent and the service marvellous. Nothing was too much trouble and it was evident how well all the staff, including the kitchen staff, worked so well as a team. My husband and I ate there five times whilst in Essaouira for a week, could not fault it, and were made extremely welcome each time. The ambience is wonderful and the live music excellent. Go - and enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PollyEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A me-too”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Feels like the cheap copy of Elizir. But to be fair, we only had a coffee there which was really good :-) ...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Felix S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a jewel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Bohemian clientele, delights prepared from worldly cuisines, happy to see you. We lived it.

Make a reservation and go while you are here. Best experience we had in Essaouira.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JBT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Great place this, wonderful food, very friendly service, looks great. Love the design of the place, you should go.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StephenH5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caravane Cafe also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Caravane Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing