We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic friendly Riad in the Medina”
other travelers have booked this property
Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Terrace
terrace kitchen and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Terrace
terrace kitchen and dining area
second, top-terrace area
View from  top terrace
ground floor lounge, light-well area
ground floor lounge
dining area
Ground floor kitchen
Lightwell - 1st floor
Light well
first floor double bedroom. No.1
Gold room
Gold room bathroom
First floor double bedroom, no.3
Second floor twin/triple bedroom.  No.4
Green room
Green room bathroom
6th bedroom, on terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Riad -
5 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Elaine C
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic friendly Riad in the Medina”
Reviewed April 21, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at Chez Dar Ma for the most relaxing 10 days. This riad is charming, spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. Allison provides an excellent place to recharge your batteries well located in the Medina and near to the beach. She provides an endless source of information about life in Esaaouira and is happy to find good deals on activities.
She also gives you Halima - the wonderful housekeeper, whose breakfasts and tagines should not be missed!!!
Can't wait to return! Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew W
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay in a beautiful Riad with a charming host”
Reviewed November 25, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Allison's Riad in Essaouira - the Riad was in a great location within the Medina, and was a tranquil break from the hustle and bustle of the town. Allison met us and took us to the Riad, which was large and spacious with lovely quirky touches. The terrace in particular was spectacular. Allison gave us the low-down of Essaouira, and recommended some fantastic authentic Moroccan restaurants which we loved. Essaouira was a welcome break from Marrakech, and we would highly recommend both the town and Chez Dar Ma.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J
Barmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Moroccan experience”
Reviewed October 12, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at Chez Dar Ma for three nights in early October. Weather is perfect for us, not too hot, but still bright and warm. Essaouria is just the right size of place for our length of stay, interesting shops, fish from the harbour and walks along the coast. Alison was so friendly and also incredibly helpful and knowledgable of all that is Moroccan. She speaks French and Spanish, which is spoken in Morocco (well, French really, mostly), and so helped us out with arranging a meal out and even negotiated for us buying some really beautiful moroccan lamps, which we're having shipped back home (yes, we bought quite a few - Christmas presents for the family). Cant recommend the riad highly enough - comfortable, beautiful and friendly. Want to come back here with the rest of the family and the grandchildren. Dont forget to ask Hassan (friend of Alisons) to make a traditional Moroccan dish (tazine) - fish, my wife wishes she could have packed him in her suitcase and have him cook us it every we ek. Really, really good. Easy to get to and great at making the arrangements in advance, quick to respond (big plus as far as we are concerned - we've had some previous bad experiences with other places we tried to book, so pleased that Alison responded so quickly). Be back next year we hope.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rooms and courtyard - and Alison
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric J
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A stunning Riad. I could have spent all my time relaxing on the multi-layered terrace!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This is a beautifully appointed raid. I love craftsmanship and this riad is overflowing with examples of great skill, I was just blown away looking at the doors and furniture and thinking about the amount of time taken to make them.

My bedroom on the third floor was very comfortable and I loved the individual artwork. Breakfast (after my run along the long sandy beach) on the terrace is a delight, especially Halima’s wonderful fruit salad.

Once I was dragged away from the terrace, exploring Essaouira is something else. I was very lucky to be taken to see many of the local craftsmen by Hassan. What a beehive of work and skill, something we have lost in Europe. Spending time and slowing down to get under the skin of the wonderful place and its people has been a privilege - I will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The amazing work that has gone into this riad
Liked least: I guess the shock going from the rough and basic outside to the stunning inside of the riad.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROSEMARY...
1 review
“Beautiful and comfortable”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

stayed in March wow what a beautiful place. any questions just ask Alison or Anne they were so helpful and seemed to want you to enjoy your stay. Fascinating markets and the people there were so friendly. I would definitely recommend this place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So conveniently situated
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xanthigir...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wonderful oasis by the sea”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed 6 nights in Chez Dar Ma at the start of March 2014, after 2 weeks travelling around Morocco. Bliss. We were met at the bus station by Allison and had a lovely, relaxing week mooching around the town and relaxing in the riad. In the daytime we lazed on the top terraces, sitting in the sun while the children played with the cats. In the evening, we sat downstairs with the log fire and a cat or two for company, while the children watched DVDs (the riad has a good supply) in the little TV room to one side. We chatted to Allison and the other guests - it was all very friendly and relaxed, too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: relaxed feel - like being in your own house - and the wonderful decor
Liked least: we couldn't stay!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anelin503
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful haven”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We rented the entire Riad for a week in January. As the first week of our holiday was spent travelling around southern Morocco, this provided the perfect balance.The Riad is everything that it promises. It is beautifully clean, spacious, very well equipped and provides plenty of space for a large group to enjoy time together whilst allowing the opportunity for relaxing on one of the terraces or finding a quiet corner in the Riad itself. One of our party suffers serious pet allergy and Allison and Halima had gone to great lengths to ensure the cats were not present that week and that there was no residual cat hair. Hassan gave us great tips on places to visit and eat in and around Essaouira. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay here.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing