We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
GNAOUA - Morocco's vibrant spiritual mystical music really ROCKS!

The town of ESSAOUIRA, on the Atlantic coast of Morocco, hosts the FESTIVAL GNAUOA each year in... read more

Reviewed July 5, 2018
PureHeartVideo
,
Reading, United Kingdom
Was worth the trip .. but not sure if I would do this for 3 nights!!

We were there on 1st July, the last night of the Gnaoua festival this year. Our first exposure to... read more

Reviewed July 7, 2017
Shibac701
,
Bengaluru, India
Read all 71 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Essaouira
from $31.53
More Info
from $31.53
More Info
from $51.59
More Info
from $28.66
More Info
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
45
14
10
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
45
14
10
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stage fusion musical spiritual art morocco
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 71 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile

Loved everything about this festival: the music, the art galleries, the workshops, the hippie vibe... Essaouira, the birthplace of the Gnawi music, comes to life. It is the best festival in morocco. Not to be missed.

Date of experience: June 2016
2  Thank NadiaStoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2016

Essaouria was very crowded and almost booked out. Not my type of music. I would rather go on a different date.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank ThoHil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2016

Diverse programme of music from the main stage,intimate locations,and drifting down to the beach.Always crowded,plan ahead,and think safety in large crowds,get street wise,there are a lot of touts,especially on the promenade and beach. Prices are inflated,restaurants and bars packed,and the bank ATM's often run out of money,so go prepared.Safety is endorsed by the plain clothed touristique police,and the festival is not fuelled by alcohol,but happiness.enjoy

Date of experience: May 2015
1  Thank tazmaniandevil2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Essaouira is one of my favourite towns in Morocco. It is also the birthplace of Gnawa (or Gnaoua) music, a mystic world of spiritual rhythms.
A partnership between the two in this great music festival is a fascinating experience for couples, families, and friends. And even if you come by yourself, you won't stay solo!

Date of experience: November 2012
Thank ab_adnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Having attended the festival a couple of years ago I would recommend it to all. It is suitable for families as well as music lovers. Great atmosphere and well organised musical entertainment. It is well worth buying the additional tickets for the fenced off area and for other events.

Date of experience: June 2013
1  Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews