We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
GNAOUA - Morocco's vibrant spiritual mystical music really ROCKS!

The town of ESSAOUIRA, on the Atlantic coast of Morocco, hosts the FESTIVAL GNAUOA each year in... read more

Reviewed July 5, 2018
PureHeartVideo
,
Reading, United Kingdom
Was worth the trip .. but not sure if I would do this for 3 nights!!

We were there on 1st July, the last night of the Gnaoua festival this year. Our first exposure to... read more

Reviewed July 7, 2017
Shibac701
,
Bengaluru, India
Read all 71 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Essaouira
from $31.53
More Info
from $31.53
More Info
from $51.59
More Info
from $28.66
More Info
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
45
14
10
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
45
14
10
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stage fusion musical spiritual art morocco
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 71 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I love Gnaoua. I go every year and wouldn't miss it. It has an amazing history and is very touching. Much more than a music festival.

Date of experience: June 2013
4  Thank joeman098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Gnaoua Festival is a great introduction to Gnaoua music if you don't know it but also features international jazz and world music performances, all run efficiently in readily accessible venues and brings a real buzz to Essaouira; enjoyed by locals and visitors alike. A real experience.

Date of experience: June 2013
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I returned to the festival after a 6 yr absence. It is now bigger and the emphasis is still on the gnaoua but international artists are taking the lead as well. Superb acoustics, superb artists and a most enjoyable and cultural experience. Go it beats Glastonbury hands down.

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank dreensy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were in Essaouira for a couple of nights and happened to coincide completely unplanned with the festival. We saw a warm up the night before the festival officially started and the first night. Whilst we didn’t artistically appreciate or have any awareness of the performers it was a good fun evening. The crowd are were all friendly and enthusiastic although with any festival too far forward in the crowd can get lively with jumping, dancing and a bit of pushing around.

The music and costumes were great and although not the type of music we are used to was interested and fun to listen and watch.

Everyone young and old, tourists and locals were there and happy for kids to run around very late into the night.

Essaouira gets very very busy, we noticed a big difference from the day before and the day the festival started. You have to pre book any accommodation well in advance. Personally we wouldn’t come just for the festival but it was a bonus to have free entertainment during our short stay.

Date of experience: June 2013
1  Thank TheBaileys2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Must see! The crowds this festival brings in is insane!

The scenery is indescribable! 4 day event, party atmosphere appropriate for couples, solo travelers, families, teens, kids alike!

Date of experience: June 2013
2  Thank ddeffshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews