We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,018)
Filter reviews
2,018 results
Traveler rating
1,094
548
214
88
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,094
548
214
88
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course natural pool half board kids club a la carte restaurant hourly shuttle pool bar turn down service sand dunes beautiful hotel pool staff private pool large balcony the hotel offers superior room marrakech airport the atlantic ocean
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 2,018 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2019 via mobile

Pros - comfortable rooms, great bathrooms, pool area is excellent as is the restaurant. Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was extensive. There is a 15 seat minibus that runs every hour from 10am to 6pm from the hotel and a pickup every hour from the town to the hotel which is very helpful.

Cons - the last shuttle home is 6.30pm but a taxi from town to the hotel is only £4-5.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank FrazTy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2019 via mobile

The villas at Sofitel Essaouira are divine. I was staying in a superior room to start with and ended up moving to a luxury room then a suite as I wasn't happy. My friends stayed in a 2 bedroom villa with pool, which was absolutely incredible. The best part of our entire experience was the butler service provided for villa guests. Hakima went above and beyond in every aspect, taking our children to kids club, escorting us promptly anywhere we wanted to go, organising doctors visits when I became ill, and answering to every request. We learned there were only 2 butlers to service 28 villas due to staff changes. So given the huge allocation of villas it was incredible how prompt, friendly, responsive and helpful Hakima was the entire time. She is an absolute asset to the hotel, as was her other butler colleague (I'm sorry I forget his name).
Generally, the hotel needs maintenance to restore it to the level it would have been when it opened. The villas and the suite made our stay, I cannot recommend the other room types. Invest the extra for a villa, you won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Sandy-WorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019 via mobile

Great hotel and magnificent location. The culinary experience made the real difference.
We stayed 4 night in the hotel, and we did enjoy every single moment.
The stuff and the service were great , especialy Ali who works in housekeeping department was friendly and helpful . A handsome man with great hospitality and attention to all details. He treated us extremly well .He’s really made our stay in Sofitel. Thank you...

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank kamalflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V L, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2019

Dear Mr Kamal,

Thank you very much for leaving this wonderful review on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed every single moment of your stay among us.

We are thrilled to read your praising comments not only about the hotel and the the culinary experience that you had but also about our staff as we strive to provide our guests with a caring and personalized service.
We will make sure to share your kind words with the whole team and especially with Ali as we know it will mean a great deal to him.

Once more, thank you for choosing Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa for your holiday and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again very soon.

Best Regards,
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2019 via mobile

Great place specially for Golfers, we have one Villa with very good private garden and good size pool , and one room in the hotel . The Villa is spectacular, modern furnishings, and the service provided by butler Sakema was excellent, she is very helpful and professional and always with a smile what our kids loved ! But the the halls in the hotel are in great need of refreshed painting , I wasn’t impressed by the chipping paint , it did put me in a disappointing mood . Hopefully the management will look at it soon . Breakfast is ok but they could do better, making the cutlery and glasses easier available to guests . Also the coffee machines operated by a barrister I assume although being two in outdoor area were not working so was a bit busy the barrister from inside restaurants to satisfy everyone. Overall the Villas are top notch if you are looking for privacy and a private pool with gorgeous green fine grass.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank cornelian371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2019

We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa which was one of the nicest rooms we’ve ever stayed in. It is definitely up there with some of the top 5* hotels Accommodation. The villa also had a private heated pool which was very large for a private pool, both bedrooms had lovely en-suites and there was also a good sized Kitchenette and a large seating area with views of the Gardens and our pool. It was so nice not to have the four of us cramped into one bedroom with a small bathroom like most hotels, even 5* hotels. The villa was very clean and the beds were some of the most comfortable any of us have ever slept in. I do however agree with other reviews that the room could have done with a bit of maintenance but this definitely didn’t impact our experience. The hotel has three restaurants of which we ate at two, all restaurants are expensive. When eating at the hotel we ate at buffet all but once and the food was delicious however if you have dietary requirements or are generally fussy it can be difficult to eat there. The hotel and Gardens themselves were lovely and very well maintained and I didn’t notice any need for renovations unlike other reviews state. There was an 18 hole golf course and another one being built at the time of our stay. Another great thing about this hotel that I’ve never experienced before is a free shuttle bus that ran every hour between the hotel and city centre which was very useful for going out for dinner which I would definitely recommend doing, it does however finish quite early meaning that you have to get a taxi back but they are cheap and readily available. Most importantly staff were very helpful and friendly. Overall our experience was excellent and we plan to come back now that there are direct flights starting from London Stansted. I would undoubtedly recommend Essaouira and this hotel to friends and Family looking to visit Morocco.

Room tip: Get the free shuttle in to Essaouira when going for meals as to eat in is very expensive and quite limited.
Date of stay: April 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank harrychalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews