We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,951)
Filter reviews
1,951 results
Traveler rating
1,065
531
206
83
66
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,065
531
206
83
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course natural pool half board kids club a la carte restaurant hourly shuttle pool bar turn down service sand dunes beautiful hotel pool staff private pool large balcony the hotel offers marrakech airport the atlantic ocean rooms are big
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,951 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2019 via mobile

At first the hotel looks amazing due to its beautiful setting and large areal.
The staff is mostly friendly, but unfortunately most of them are trained ver very bad, or probably not at all.
It took 3 people to call us a cab outside of essaouira, which came 1h later than agreed. Often staff kept forgetting what was ordered.
We started of with two towels per person and by day 4 had 0 in the room.
The mini fridge is empty. Half of the bathroom did not work. The sheets were not changed even though they have been visibly dirty.

Overall the hotel is quite run-down. Elevators do not all work. Cables are sticking out of the grass. Lights don‘t work in the bathroom.

If you expect the standard of Sofitel hotels from other countries do not come here. If you want a decent Marrocan‘ standard 5 star hotel come.

My suggestion: Fire the manager, train the staff and invest in repairs!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Maximilian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V L, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2019

Dear Maximilian S,

First of all, we would like to apologize for the unfortunate’s events you experienced during your stay with us. Moreover, thank you for taking the time to write your feedback.

We strongly believe both feedbacks, positive or negative, help properties to reveal their weaknesses or strengths. Thus, it allows management to constantly adapt their organization in order to avoid any similar mistake in the future.

Would also like to thank you for your constructive feedback, please rest assured that we will take the appropriate measures to address the areas of improvement you kindly mentioned and prevent future occurrence.

We thank you for sharing your concerns and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best Regards
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2019

We staid in the hotel around Christmas time. We live in Rabat and we were positively surprised about the overall ecxellent and friendly service of the hotel staff and management. We had a beautiful spacious and clean room with a nice view on the golf course and the Atlantic Ocean. It simply couldn't be better!

Fortunately we choose to have an early breakfast during our stay as it became rather busy in the breakfast location after 9:30 a.m. Food and service were great and the lady who was in charge of boiling the eggs showed to be truly skilled.

The hotel is about 10 minutes away by car from cosy Essaouira.

An overall paint job would contribute to the glory of this beautifully located hotel and a bit more light around the parking facility would be pleasant in our view.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RobertD381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2019

The property is beautiful and the surroundings incredible. Rooms are nice but need upgrades, water pressure weak and maintenance in general needs improvements. Nice pools. The hotel staff is eager and willing to help and please. Food is average, ordered 3 times the Tagliatelle Alfredo at the pool bar and managed to get 3 different versions and ingredients. Golf course is nice, rented a set of clubs, bag was old and not a single zipper worked, callaway clubs but not a complete set. Would come back in spite of all minor issues, location is superb. Took a sports massage, it was more of an elbow digging than a proper massage and definitely not worth the price.

Room tip: Ground floor rooms are best.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Javier F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019

Lovely hotel. The rooms are very nice as are the common areas. Note about the rooms: the shower is open, their is a screen (semi opaque) that blocks the view from the rest of the room. The outdoor space/pool area is excellent. The service in the pool area is very good. There is a lack of attention to detail in the rooms and with room service. They don’t replenish the water and coffee in the rooms consistently and the people taking orders for room service struggle- we ordered in French and English, didn’t seem to make a difference. The staff is very friendly and gracious. Note: this is a taxi ride from the Médina and it will cost $50 MAD each way.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank GrandTour36090561155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2019 via mobile

Over all a great stay. The food for dinner is very good, every evening with lots of new dishes both Moroccan and international. The rooms are a bit tired, and in need of renovation. The hotel says that they care about the environment, and to leave your towel hanging if you don't want it cleaned. Yet, everyday the cleaning took all towels and bathroobs even if they had not even been used. This seems very un-environment friendly, and I would expect more from a 5* hotel chain.

Traveling in February is definitely off season, and even though the hotel webpage says the outdoor pool is heated, it is in fact not and is very very cold!

Staff, especially by the pool are very friendly. But at breakfast they seem very disorganised and sometimes lots of tables lack cleaning.

Over all, would come again, and hope that the next stay would be even more improved.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Idussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews