We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay but long transfer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“enjoyable stay but long transfer”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

The transfer took 2.5 hours, late at night with our driver going at some speed, & longer on the return in the day (both times without air conditioning as not working!).

Very good hotel (but would say 4* rather than 5, except the prices!) V.friendly & helpful staff, there can be delays in service but always with a smile! We found is OK if you can speak French but English was limited. We arrived V.late & they said we could still have something to eat but this took over 2 hours & several phone calls after we arrived to be sorted. Also reading light was not working & did not get fixed during stay.

Loved the decor though some of it was a bit 'style over substance' eg. chairs that looked great but not practical or comfortable. ALL areas of hotel were kept very clean.

Only gripe with rooms was no tea/coffee machine in room (but later found out that some people did have one) & that there is not a dressing table/desk to do your hair or make up. Only area for this is to stand up in the bathroom, right by the one sink. Should remove the crazy bath tub that's in the bedroom (should survey how many people use this? We didn't find anyone who had) & replace with a dressing table. If you had room service you had to eat it on the bed! Beds are extremely comfortable.

Pool areas really good with large towels provided & a wide choice of Sunbeds. We loved the large raised 'daybeds' with a table in the middle, perfect for all of us to relax on, eat at & play games.

Food very good quality, breakfast & dinner buffets with good variety of choices. No problem with lack of cutlery as some reviews have mentioned but there are not 'spares' so you need to keep the set on your table for all the courses! But always a shortage of tables for 4 people, so had to move tables together.

I known some reviews went on about the birds but thought they were quite sweet, flew in & perched on a ceiling 'ledge' waiting until people left their table then would fly down, pick up the crumbs then fly off. Never saw them anywhere near the counters with food on. Only problem at breakfast were the flies on the cheese & meats, as unbelievably they were not covered!

Wonderful traditional 'Tea man' with free mint tea available.

Warning drinks etc are very expensive & the same for the snack/lunch options around the pool also you couldn't get anything simple like an ice cream. We ended up going to the local town to stock up on drinks.
Free bus into town is a good service & greatly enjoyed the cultural experience of the Medina etc. Also found the traders to be polite & was not really hassled (they also appreciate any effort you make with a few local words).

Was a bit disappointed with the Haman area but liked the indoor pool & the massage at the Spa was amazing.

Went to the beach by the Hotel but due to the wind, current too dangerous to swim & beach not v.clean. I
No services there, just seems to be used for quads & animal rides. Shame as could be a great addition to the hotel.

Also disappointed that there was no entertainment offered in the evenings, even at the weekend, despite details showing that this is available.
Went to one of the classes (Moroccan cooking) but despite there being 10 English & only 4 French people, it was all in French & only directed at them, so most people left before it was finished & we did not bother with anything else. Feel it should be advertised if only available in one language.

Still was a nice place to spend a week relaxing....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LawRsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We really want to thank you very much for your comment. We are very proud of our employees’ smile recognized by our guest now.

We are very sorry about your cooking Moroccan course limited in French. Be sure we are working on it with all the department chefs. All your remarks are very constructive and help us to be better and better each days with a view to be a real reference in Essaouira.

We hope to see you again soon, it will be a great pleasure.

Best Regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    406
    150
    64
    46
See reviews for
445
677
37
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Our room, on the top floor and looking out over the pool, golf course and ocean was great. Large terrace and comfortably furnished meant it was easy to hang out there a bit on the one "average" day of weather we got. Otherwise, we lounged by the pool and relaxed on the comfy poolside lounges.

But it was the people working there who really make this place. From the guys at poolside to the restaurant/bar staff, right down to the ladies who serviced our room each day. They were all fantastic to deal with. Despite my horrendous French, (my wife's is much better) we were always greeted with a smile and everyone really cared.

The main restaurant which operates a buffet morning and night offered a great variety and despite being there for 8 days and eating there 5-6 nights, there was ample choice to keep us interested.

Complimentary shuttle bus every hour into Essaouira works well but cuts out around 6 or 7 so it was £3-4 taxi ride home after dining there at night. No biggie.

The old walled city of Essaouira is fantastic and we spent two afternoons and evenings exploring the souks, lanes, battlements, cannons and taking in the sights and sounds. Being a very active fishing port, the local fare at restaurants is heavily skewed to seafood and we found two great places with really fresh fish (Le Patio inside the old city and Chalet De La Plage on the beach). The locals are great, quick with a smile and despite us wandering down lots of obscure and winding alleys, we always felt 100% safe. Sharpen up your haggling skills though if you are keen to get a momento or two.

Again, a big "Merci" to all the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uniquename101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Madame, Sir,

A warm and sincere “thank you” for your review on Tripadvisor.

We will definitely share your feedback with the entire team of the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa.

We would be very happy to welcome you soon again,

Merci à vous!

Edoardo Giuntoli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

My Mother and I have just returned from a gloriously relaxing week at the Sofitel Essaourira.
On entering the hotel we were blown away by the stunning design. It really is quite spectacular. It is a contemporary style, but with lovely Moroccan touches, such as enormous lanterns in the foyer.
We were welcomed with mint tea, raspberry macaroons and Moroccan pastries in the foyer and sat on large felt 'pebbles' by the living wall (a floor to ceiling wall of plants).
Our room was beautiful and the beds were without doubt the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in, in the world. We had a large bathroom and a bath in the room, as well as a deck outside with loungers looking across the gardens.
The hotel has 2 outdoor pools, both of which are stunning, with huge king size lounge beds. We tended to stay on the main pool, primarily because there was no bar service at the other one. The spa is fabulous and luxurious and my Mother and I both had excellent treatments. We also made use of the classes and did aqua aerobics and abs & tums. We also went to a (free) cultural woodworking class and learnt hot to inset wooden boxes which was fascinating. I wish we'd gone to more of the classes actually, but it took us a few days to discover they existed at all, so check this when you arrive.
I haven't been to an all inclusive since I was ten yrs old so was a tad dubious and apprehensive about this. However the breakfast was superb (freshly made omelettes, breads, yogurts, fruit, salad, juices and pastries)and the quality was great. Dinner is fine too, but after a week, the lack of variety of the salads and main courses did become a bit boring ( pizza, tagine or unusual 'Chinese'). There was grilled meat too, but it didn't look very nice (overdone). The desserts however were literally the talk of the entire hotel! A seemingly never ending variation of the most delicious deserts you could imagine. My Mum ended up eating 3 every night and has probably put on half a stone ;)
The only downside to this hotel is there's virtually nothing to do in the evening after dinner. You are really restricted to the hotel as the last shuttle bus leaves at 6pm to Essaourira ( you could take your own taxi of course). At the hotel, there is a nice bar, but it's totally lacking music or atmosphere so everyone just went to their rooms after dinner. There is a sort of bar/club too, but no one seemed to know it was there, so again it was dead and lacking in atmosphere. Everyone said the same thing- that they'd like to hang out more and socialise after dinner somewhere. I do think the hotel could organise more evening entertainment, live music or Quizs maybe. There's virtually nothing to watch on the tv in your rooms in English either, other than BBC world news or fox tv (terrible old films from 1980s). You're sorted if you're Saudi or Russian or French though!
It would also have been nice to have some music around the pool, volleyball games or something to encourage a bit of socialising.
Saying all that, it was a fabulous hotel that I'd highly recommend for a relaxing, luxurious break. If you want more action you can go into the town (although a pretty chilled place too!) .

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are the same and excellent. I'd go for a ground floor again as we had a la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RacheyWilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Rachey,

We are really happy to read that you had a great experience with your mother at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa.

Thank you very much for your review. Please be sure we have taken seriously your remarks and our chefs are working on it.

Our So Lounge was closed during your stay due to some restrictions on entertainment during the Holy month of Ramadan, we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future in order to show you our band and the entire entertainment schedule.

Best Regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Upon arriving we were greeted by hearing that we were selected as the guests of the day and that we would be given an upgraded room. The room we we're given seemed to be pretty standard (which for the Sofitel was luxurious and beautiful) but came on a higher floor and with a nicer view of the ocean.
Overall this is a beautiful modern hotel with luxury amenities and luxury prices.
The view from our room and large terrace was really spectacular and the bed was the most comfortable we ever slept in. The two pool areas are very nice as well to laze the day away.

We were a little disappointed at the prices of the restaurants and facilities, but I suppose this is to be expected from a 5 star hotel.
The hotel is located just outside of the city of essaouria, which you must go and visit to see the old fishing town and the beautiful walls, souks, restaurants and just wander through the small winding streets and get lost!
The hotel does have a shuttle every hour to and from the town, which takes about 10 minutes each way.

Overall. We were very happy with our stay!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor.
It's always a pleasure to receive such a positive feedback!

We are very pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were particularly satisfied with our bedding MyBed.

We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Its hard to know where to begin with this hotel as there were so many good things about it.

Service: Any staff we came into contact with were polite and helpful. Waiters and bar staff were attentive if a little slow. We particularly fond of the photographer and also the man serving tea in reception. Most of the staff spoke good English.
Location: This hotel is situated a few km outside Essaouira near a village called Diabat. The hotel run a complimentary bus into town on the hour and back on the half hour. It is about a 25 minute walk to the beach across the golf course and you can walk along the beach to town in about an hour an a half though I would suggest bus into town and walk back along the beach.
Rooms: This was the best bit about the hotel. We spent more time in our room than we would usually do on holiday as we loved it so much. The bed was enormous and you just sank into it. The room was made up twice a day, firstly for the day and then again for the night. The balcony looked out over the natural pool, the golf course and the Atlantic Ocean. The sunset was beautiful as was the night sky from the balcony. Each evening at sunset the frog chorus began which I quite enjoyed.
Food: We had all our food in the Cafe Kasbah. There was plenty of choice for both breakfast and dinner There was obviously a great deal of pride in the food and each morning and evening there were chefs available to cook your eggs, meat or fish to your liking. Service ws good and they even did a personal cake for my partner on her birthday. The tagines were excellent and there was an option for everyone. Desserts were superb. Alcohol was fairly expensive but the house wine was reasonably priced and very drinkable. You ate your breakfast with the birds as lots of little birds flew in and out. It was different but fun.
Entertainment: This was my only little gripe. Evening entertainment was billed on the information sheet but apart from the world cup on big screens there was little else and so we had to retire early most evenings which was a shame. There were free workshops in the early evening if you wished and also a spa was available. I don't play golf but the golf course was designed by Gary Player and was beautiful. It was well worth walking round the course.

This is the first time I have stayed in a Sofitel but would certainly consider doing it again.

Room Tip: We had room 421 which was fantastic with a view overlooking the natural pool, the golf course and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Quietman70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear sir,

A warm and sincere thank you for writing such a positive review of your recent stay at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa.

I always say that Essaouira has the most beautiful sunset of the world, and was delighted to read that you found them as well exceptionally beautiful.

With regards to the so Lounge, the usual entertainment schedule has been modified due to the soccer world cup and to the Holy month of Ramadan.

We strive, every day, to offer a perfect service and a magnifique personalized experience to everyone. Your satisfaction is our best reward and reading this comment is for us the best encouragement.

Hope to see you back soon for other sunsets !

Kindest regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed 10 days at this beautiful hotel, which certainly has the "Wow factor" on entering the Lobby. Our room was beautifully designed and in Sofitel style was blessed with the MyBed sumptuous comfort and overlooked the natural pool and golf course, leading to the beach and Atlantic Ocean.
The buffet-style restaurant served good quality food with many choices available.The Desserts were to die for, full of imagination and originality. Along with various tagine dishes, freshly cooked meat/chicken/fish/pasta/vegetables were always available at Dinner, and eggs in various styles freshly cooked at Breakfast. We found staff in all areas polite, efficient, friendly and well-informed.
The main pool was well maintained with various styles of sun beds from which to choose. The Spa was beautifully designed and the 30 minute body massage I received was excellent and professional. The golf course, designed by Gary Player, was well-thought out with meandering pathways edged with shady shrubs to be enjoyed by non-golfers wishing to take either a walk to the beach, or around the course.
The SoLounge is broadly advertised as a Night Spot with music to dance to and Speciality Acts. During our stay this was not apparent. The "Happy Hour" in the Tiki Lounge Bar took place between 7 & 8 but the choice was limited to wine, beer and Martini cocktail - this was disappointing. Also the absence of a "Duo" to entertain (a baby Grand was a feature in the bar) was also disappointing.
The weather at this time of year enjoys temperatures in the high 20's, low 30's. Essaouira is known as "the windy city" so the air is lovely. The first few days were still and calm enabling us to "chill out" on the sun beds, but when the wind whips up it is uncomfortable to try and relax around the pool. In the months of September/October things become more tranquil once again, according to the locals.
With the advantage of a courtesy bus running every hour to the city, returning on the half-hour, easy access is assured and Essaouira is an intriguing, small city steeped in history, with a colourful Medina, busy harbour/fishermen, the greatest variety of fish species, art, musicians, restaurants and many interesting characters - a photographer's feast!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. With a 3hr flight and 2.5 hr private transfer, it was easy travelling. 5* luxury with Sofitel's usual, expected high standards prevailed.

Room Tip: If you choose the right tour operator, they ensure you receive an upgrade anyway. 3 levels up overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne-Margret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Anne Margret,

It was a pleasure reading such a positive review, thank you for sharing it on Tripadvisor.

I would like to personally thank you for recognizing the hard work of the entire team, and will definitely share your feedback with our Ambassadors.

I am sorry to read that the entertainment in the So Lounge and the Tiki So did not fully meet your expectations, as well as the happy hour. This was most probably due to the restrictions during the Holy month of Ramadan.

Thank you again for sharing your experience at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We loved this hotel. The service was discreet, helpful and friendly throughout. We really enjoyed the food. Good variety and fresh dishes each day, nice bar for pre dinner drinks. The hotel buildings were very well kept and beautifully decorated. Lovely sea view. Great sea breeze to help cool us down. Contemporary decor by Didier Gomez and contemporary grounds. Easy shuttle bus in to Essaouira, takes 10 mins and available on the hour. We flew in to Marrakech and the transfer was 2 hours but once there it was really worth it. Enjoyed Essaouira souk where the experience is much less hassle free than Marrakech. Wonderful harbour there with lots to see.

Room Tip: We have a room on the Lower ground floor with sea view and spacious balcony. Quiet and feels private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRobson_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Sir, Madam,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that your stay with us was exactly what we wanted you to remember: the delicious food, fresh and varied, the service, warm and friendly, our Ambassadors always focused on your satisfaction and your entertainment. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the fantastic view from your room, the design, the grounds, and the unique atmosphere that reign in our hotel.
Essaouira is a fresh, authentic and protected city, where happiness and pleasure takes all its place.

On behalf of all of us, I look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Edaordo Giuntoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.7 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
8.3 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.9 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
2.7 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
2.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa

Property: Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Address: Domaine Mogador, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#4 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#12 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf Hotel Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing