We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True value for money at a Luxury hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Ranked #15 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a fantastic hotel, at a fantastic place, with great staff (still on learning curve at times) and the prices you pay you will feel like a winner even with some small flaws. We brought four families with lots of children 2-15 years of age from Sweden during our second stay at the hotel (on our recommendation). All generations loved it! Also note that this was a crowd not easy to please who have stayed at some of the best hotels / resorts all over the world (read Condenast recommendations)

Comments to manage expectations: The hotel is extremely new, opened in March 2012 officially. With that said the standard of the villas, rooms and suites (stayed in all three types) is very high, but things are already starting to crack a bit on the surface ex. some electric things are already not working, there are signs of moist coming through walls in showers, toilets. Furniture around pools are already showing signs of moist (the hotel is a few hundred meters from the Atlantic). During this stay the hotel was close to full (huge Moroccan holiday) and that meant that service levels went down considerably from our first stay, the biggest bottle-neck was the Kitchen which meant that Room-Service took forever, luggage was not delivered timely, you were not allowed to sit out-side during breakfast, water pressure in shower was weak at times, no hot-water at times, shuttle services if you want to go somewhere outside of the hotel area are not perfect due to lack of enough hotel vehicles (they will arrange Taxis but this can prove a bit chaotic when many guests waiting). BUT the staff really made an effort and managers were running around picking up on were to improve and also made it happen. So for us currently living in Morocco the biggest fear is that the surface cracks will turn into real problems with room and leisure area standards the coming years.

Finally as a heads-up, the reservations service is often slow / hard to get through, the risk for misunderstandings are big if you call and do not speak French or Arabic. Your call will be routed through several people and calls can be disconnected which is VERY annoying - this has happened every time I have been in contact with the hotel.

Enyoy this hotel at least for another year, then we will see if they manage to keep the place in the shape you expect from a 5-star hotel / Sofitel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonas_in_Casablanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your , very interesting, feed back. We are happy , you appreciated our staff..but we will share with them the different points of melioration of your message!

We hope to see you soon in Mogador

Best Regards

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 1,595 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

Wonderful hotel, beautiful rooms, and very professional staff always ready to make your stay the best it could be.
And ESSAOUIRA is just an astonishing city to visit, calm and safe, where u can put your senses at rest, and enjoy the streets of the old town and the art galleries.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ayoub I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feed back!

We appreciate that you enjoyed your stay...And specially our staff!! We hope to see you soon in Mogador!!

Best Regards

Daniel karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I shared our honeymoon at the sofitel essaouria mogador golf and spa. This was a phenomenal experience. I really cant speak highly enough of the room, views, lobby, cuisine and above all the staff who were always courteous and really could not do enough for us. It is a world class hotel, truly deserving of all the applaudites that it recieves and I will definantely be back there again.

If you are after a hotel that is secluded enough to feel like a real getaway, whilst close enough to the medina, port and souks, and love a fusion of new and old and expect top class customer service, then the sofitel Essaouria Mogador Golf and Spa is the one for you!!!!

Thank you so much to all the staff there for creating a truly memorable honeymoon for me and my wife.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the first or secon floor overlooking the pool and into the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSSaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much!! and one more time Congratulations!!!! We are happy , you spent a "Magnifique" Time with us!!!

On behalf or all our staff...Hope to see you again in Mogador!

Best Regards

Daniel karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is an impressive resort hotel, all the more if you are a golfer - but you certainly don't have to be. As a family with 3 children we took advice from friends who had stayed there to splurge a little more and take a villa. These are free-standing 2 bedroom villas, excellently furnished and with our own private heated swimming pool immediately outside the lounge.This hotel - or maybe it's Sofitel's standard - must have the most comfortable beds and pillows in the world - and we have stayed in many 5-star luxury hotels.
The setting is surrounded by a golf course and a short-ish walk to the Atlantic beach - 10 minutes, passing camels grazing amongst the bushes.
The staff are all friendly and willing to help - from reception, restaurants, kids club, fitness centre and room service (actually in the villa we are provided with butler service).
It is a bit pricey - particularly felt at breakfast as this is not included in the daily rate. The other downside is that the food in the buffet dining room (Kasbah) is pretty uninspiring after the first evening meal - as a family we have certainly experienced much better in similar types of hotels. However there is an hourly shuttle service to the town of Essaouira - where fresh fish awaits the diners. And Essaouira is surprise - a wonderful town in historic architectural setting with a hugely active port where the fishing fleet unload their sardine catch every morning - a must to experience (and chose your fish for lunch!

Room Tip: A family with 2 to 3 chldren think about taking a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigiov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your message!

We are happy you enjouyed your stay in Mogador and specially your feed back on our staff!!! We hope to see you another time in Mogador

Best Regards

Daniel Karbownik

GM Sofitel Mogador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The villa was amazing, just in front of the Ocean and the golf Course.
High standard service and equipment in the villa, with our own swimming pool !!
The golf course is splendid and challenging. Championship rate.
The Spa is best in class.
With 3 year-old little girl we had and easy and marvellous stay.
Hotel shutlle to Essaouira down town is easy to use and essential to the quality of the stay.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank Fabrice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Gusest

Thank you for your feed back!

We are very happy you appreciated your stay with us!!!

Hope to see you soon in Mogador!

Best Regards

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just wanted to say thank you to the member staff at this hotel who drove into essaouira town to get me some paracetamol on Sunday during Eid celebrations. I was feeling very poorly with untimely flu and this level of service (at no charge) is above and beyond.
There were are few issues with customer service levels during our stay mainly to do with staff not anticipating and dealing with things as they arise but all the staff were very friendly .The villas are lovely as is the spa.
Thank you for a lovely break

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neagle-haleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feed back. We will share it with all the staff. We are happy you enjoyed the staff, the villa and the spa...And hope you feel better!

Hope to see you soon in Mogador!

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

After an exhausting trip, we got to the hotel where it took ages to get through our check in. After commenting on the latter, the rude director aggressively told us that " if we weren't satisfied, we could go back to where we came from". In addition, the food was disappointed, the hotel was very under-staffed because of the national holidays, and the WI FI was often not functional. The hotel also charged our credit card BEFORE we had even arrived and checked in, althought it is precisely stated on the reservation website booking.com, that it is not until the client has arrived to the hotel that they shall be charged for they stay. We were extremely dissatisfied with this hotel, especially the director's offensive and degrading tone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zinbisaloua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Madam
We are sorry that you did not appreciate your stay among us. We shall not miss to share your remarks with our whole staff.
Concerning your reservation, the collection of the reservations of Booking.com depends on the granted price In your case, the price was a not cancellable, not refundable price.. It is what we tried to explain to you to the check in while, certainly tired by the journey, you got excited to the desk clerks. That is why I allowed to intervene and I apologize if my comments seemed to you rough.. However I was, it is true, very surprised by your reflection concerning me in which you said to me that as French I did not have to explain to you although it is, to you even being Moroccan, and that I had only to leave this country in which I lived for 10 years.
I put it at the account of the nervousness and hope, sincerely, to welcome you soon to Mogador and to make you have a good stay

Best Regards

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.7 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
8.3 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#11 of 75 in Essaouira
279 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#28 of 75 in Essaouira
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
674 reviews
2.7 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
443 reviews
3.0 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa

Address: Domaine Mogador, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#12 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: $95 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf Hotel Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing