We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed just one night for business trip, so i can't comment on the various leisure attractions like the spa or the golf course (which by the way looked stunning). Nice hotel, well decorated. Rooms are quite large, but somebody wouldn't like the "open" bathroom. Bed too soft, but evidently that's just me. Wonderful view from the balcony overlooking the large pool and the ocean. Excellent breakfast. Overall a very good choice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucaerrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feed back! Even if it was a short stay...we anjoy you appreciated our Resort!

Hope to see you soon in Mogador

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,533)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 1,533 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Essaouira and the Sofitel Hotel, the rooms were amazing, the pillows are to die for and the food was fantastic at lunchtime by the pool....
My Partner who is a golfer loved the course, if you get chance walk over the course to the beach, it is unspoilt and beautiful, there aren't any sunbeds as it is windy but take a towel with you,,,
Tip - iit is fine to sunbathe at the beach in Essaouirs town, they cost us 4 euro for a bed for the whole day, there is a shuttle on the hour down to the town and taxis are cheap and easy to grab..it was nice to be just outside the main town and having looked around at other horels we defo got the best in our opinion considering the cost etc...we would rerturn to Essaouira and the Sofitel due to resort and the helpfulness of the staff

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the golf course and sea which was superb
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlo_shore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feed back...We share all the coments with all our staff...And so thank you for them!

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you soon in Mogador!!

Best Regards

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here for 11 nights and loved every one of those.

If you want a location which just provides real peace, quiet and relaxation then this the place for you. I have just come back and we had sun every day with only 2 hours (total) of bits of cloud. The rest of the time the weather was amazing.

There is a breeze at Essaouira but I actually found that was quite nice. However, take something for the evening if you like to sit out. After hot sun all day it does go off a bit cold in the evening.

The rooms were lovely and they provided excellent transfers from Marrakech airport - which really helped the holiday at the beginning and the end.

Breakfast was lovely - a good wide selection buffet and the same with the Cafe Kasbah buffet dinner (although a restaurant is available). The breakfast actually filled me up for most of the day!

Service from the staff was professional, efficient and really friendly. However, it was not overpowering which can be a little bit annoying - they give you space to actually move around without asking if you want something!

The pool was a decent size and heated. Some people had complained it wasn't 'hot' enough but, to be honest, with the temperature in the sun being so high a cooler (not cold!) pool was a bonus. the natural pool was not heated (as you might expect) and is set away from the main area - which means its very quiet indeed but there are no services available to you easily for drinks etc.

We wandered around the golf course - lots of paths if you feel like a stroll or a morning run. Actually from a running perspective, the paths have lots of twists and turns and hills so quite a good workout - if, like me, you'd rather run outside.

You can walk to the beach in about 15-20mins. Nice walk and the beach is empty and private. Perhaps a slight downside is that there are no facilities down there at all but then i don't necessarily think you would go to this hotel if you wanted a beach. There were several camels just wandering around - very friendly and actually really quite cute - no spitting at all!

WiFi around the pool was reasonable - could be challenging at times but that might be a benefit to most people. I was slightly put off by there not being WiFi in my room but, in honesty, I didnt ask if they could rectify this with a router - to be honest they probably would have done based on their other service levels. If you have your own I'm sure you could take with you as ethernet is available in the room right next to a power socket :)

If you do want to wander in to Essaouira, there's an hourly free shuttle bus which was great. It collected you from the same spot on the half hour. Certainly meaning that morning or evening out in Essaouira was possible for a change of scene and a bit of Moroccan culture/shopping. Essaouira is much calmer than Marrakech and, similarly, the levels of bartering much gentler and 'Euro-Friendly'

Perhaps the one slight disappointment was the evening entertainment (which you can easily avoid if you'd rather). It was a little repetitive with the same act performing each night and performing the same songs. I would probably have liked to see a different act each night. They had a baby grand piano and I was nearly ready to get up and play :D

All in all, if you want quiet and relaxing pool-side but with the ability to get out and about then this is a perfect location. Sunny and modern and very good service.

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms facing the golf course have nice outside space and are away from the hubbub of the main...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJ_Hack2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feed back! We share with our staff all the coments ans do we will share with them yous comments ontheir friendly and the their efficacity!!

Hope to see you in Mogador another time!

Best Regards

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel mogador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Sofitel Essaouira for 6 nights:
1.Absolutely breathtaking hotel, with fine modern details
2.After being greeted in Marrakech by our driver and escorted in a clean and full stocked Mercedes van with refreshments for our 3 hour drive, I didn't think it could get better than what were experiencing...I was wrong...it got much better, being greeted with mint tea and macaroons when we step foot into the hotel. Absolutely amazing reception.
3.Once shown to our room, I couldn't believe that they had rose petals and swans made out of towels laid out with champagne and more sweet snacks. The view from our room once we stepped onto the balcony over the resort, pool and coast was to die for!
4.We never once ate outside of the hotel, the meals are expensive but it's definitely worth it, and one must take advantage of the food served by the pool.
5.I will definitely be staying here again, between the romantic and thoughtful details, the food, cleanliness and the service received, nearly a year on I still can't stop talking about how amazing it was.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsSAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feed back!! We were happy to share your feed back with all our staff!!! And one more time...Congratulations and Be Happy!!

Best regards

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

beautifully perfect to build unforgettable experiences and souvenirs
no doubt it is one of the nicest hotel on the atlantic ocean ...
just one regret ... not to stay longer there

nb : may be one area where the service can however improve : the pool services ...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unjourenvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feed back!! So we are waitinf for you for a stay a little more longer!!!...and be sure we work on the pool service

Hope to see you soon in Mogador!

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel, with two full size swimming pools, spa and gym, and lovely grounds. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast was great, lots of choice. The pool staff were also very friendly but the one thing that really let the place down was the service at lunchtimes. The staff from the fish restaurant by the pool were extremely slow. We waited 15 mins for a menu then the waiter didn't come back for half an hour. I'm sure people would have perhaps ordered dessert or tea/coffee had the service not been so slow. Bar service in the evenings was also very slow and I would not rate it 5 star service. It is a pity as this is the only downside, the rooms are really lovely and I particularly liked the way the chamber maid made up the room each day, putting the curtains into different designs and doing artistic things with the towels. Very pretty to come back to.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarphati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feed back. We apologize for the problems of service and will share this message with the staff...

We are happy you appreciated our staff and the design of the hotel and hope to see you again in Mogador!

Sincerely

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We arrived after a 2 hour journey from the Marrakech airport. If this is your first time to Morocco, be prepared as the road traffic is mental! Donkeys, horses, tiny motorbikes...makes you appreciate the motorways at home haha!

Well upon arrival at the hotel we were made to feel very welcome. We were offered the traditional mint tea and a man played some classic Moroccan music in the background. The reception area was very modern and relaxing, a real feature of the hotel. A brilliant first impression.

A nice man showed us to our room and on route explained the various restaurants and bars available.

Moment of truth... opening of the room door! Wow! We had a superior pool view room and the layout was fantastic. Brilliant shower and bath...The bath was a real feature. Brilliant wardrobe facilities, all the mod cons required and we were told that anything in the mini bar (soft drinks and water and espresso) were free and included. Room was air conditioned and the view from the windows was fantastic. We even had our own balcony terrace area with a very comfy sofa to lounge on.

Next the pool area. As soon as you approach a very friendly man comes to layout your towel and move a parasol to your requirements. The pictures on the website do not do this area justice. It is a fantastic pool and the staff are brilliant. I they will serve you drinks and food (which is v good quality) and will even come round with free shots of fruit smoothie every now and then.

In the evening you can either dine in the brilliant restaurant (buffet) and for 350 Dhiram (25quid each) it is very good value for the quality.

If you prefer, (we did) you can go into the town of essaouira on one of the free shuttles which run into the town (10 minute journey). The shuttles run all day by the way every hour. In essaouira you can expect to have a bottle of wine, starter main and desert each for circa 500 Dhiram (35 quid) we used trip advisor to help find these places.

We understood from another British couple that the gym and spa facilities were awesome. I we never found the time to use them though! By the way, this hotel was not full of 'bits abroad' mainly French to be honest (main language)

All in all this hotel was extremely good, I highly recommend to anyone looking to visit Morocco.

Room Tip: They all looked brilliant...If I had to say anything then try to get one on the LG level as this is...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feed back. I will share it with all the staff. We are very happy ,you appreciated yous stay in Mogador

Hope to see you soon!

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.7 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
8.3 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
256 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#26 of 74 in Essaouira
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
641 reviews
3.0 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 74 in Essaouira
687 reviews
2.7 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#9 of 74 in Essaouira
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa

Address: Domaine Mogador, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#12 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: $96 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf Hotel Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing