We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and lovely breakfast on sun terrace” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Zayna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Zayna
Ranked #148 of 176 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent location and lovely breakfast on sun terrace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here one night with my friend. The staff were really friendly and answered any questions we had. The rooms were pleasant and the decor was lovely. We were offered mint tea on the terrace when we arrived!

Breakfast on the terrace was terrific in the morning and we got the hotel to arrange a Hammam at their recommended spa which was lovely. They also allowed us to leave our bags behind in reception whilst we wandered around. They were very careful and locked the doors if they weren't in the reception!

I would definitely stay here again. The location is perfect. It is just on the edge of the medina and the souks! :-)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    19
    5
    6
    5
See reviews for
11
31
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Clean and simple with very pleasant staff. Great breakfast on the roof terrace. Front room we stayed in was large (2 adults and 2 children) with good ventilation from two big windows. The tradeoff was that it was a little noisy but what can you expect staying in the Medina? The "inner" rooms are probably much quieter. Nice location. When arriving I recommend that you use the porters with the carts who will take your luggage right to the door for 2 euros (from the Bab Marrakech gate - that's as far as a vehicle can take you). You can get there yourself by going through the gate, taking the first left and following the "road" around to the right (it's on the right side) - it's about a 3 minute walk from the gate. Signs are out front - I don't think you could miss it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Very nice, clean Riad in center of Essaouira, easy to find. Walking distance to Fort.
Lot of decoration details in room and public places
Very helpful English-speaking reception person
Basic breakfast on roof terrass

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anastasiya_BY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
448 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights last August (apologies for late review) but only found the business card today with name and details on it. This is a very nice and clean riad set in the Medina of Essaouira. The guys working there were very polite and helpful when offering details and information on the location. As with most riads, there was a lovely roof terrace that was very peaceful and having breakfast up there each morning was great. They offered me a choice of rooms when I got there and I checked out these and picked the one I thought was the nicest. The one negative experience I had was that on the second day they required me to change rooms which I wasn't too happy about. All in all, a nice little riad and easy to find if you went in through Bab Marrakech.

Room Tip: There is a room at the top that allows the sun shine right through, wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Professor_Sparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERRY CITY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed here for one night in this little gem of a hotel, (Dec 2013) Its well furnished extremely clean and situated just inside the Madina, walking distance from the bus station. The owner and night porter Ali were very pleasant and friendly guys, good breakfast on roof garden followed by a quality shower, plenty of hot water and fresh towels, so good we booked to go back on Jan 03rd for another 3 nights! We were given the suite for our stay at a reasonably discounted price so we couldn't resist a return to this lovely hotel and great little city of Essaouira, So if your looking for a quality room at an affordable price you have found it.

Only drawbacks, Or room was under the roof terrace so in the morning the scraping of chairs by housekeeper or people going early for breakfast on the ground was quite and earful fist thing in the morning, I did bring this to Youness the owners attention who informed me his is fastening rubber feet to the chairs soon.

Room Tip: The suite Under the roof garden may be noisy early in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clint-Derry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Period of Stay: 5th Dec - 6th Dec 2013 (1 night)
Cost: 25 Euros (275 Dirhams)(including taxes - the city tax is 2.5 Euros - via Booking.com) for a single room (Le Oriental)

+ points:
(1) Location - less than 5 minutes from the Supratours office and extremely easy to find this place (use Google Map for reference!) From the dropoff point you will see Borj Bab Marrakech (a mini-tower of sorts) so just head in that direction and you will see the gate Bab Marrakech easily (a very plain looking gate) with a map in front. Walk through the gate and within a minute you will see a sign for Dar Zayna above a "5 Dirham" shop. Turn left and then right and walk straight and you will see the sign for Dar Zayna already! It is about 5 to 10 minutes to the beach, fishing port, Portugese fort, and is thus a convenient place (though Essaouira is really quite a small town anyway).

(2) English-speaking owner who helped me to print my Easyjet boarding pass - best place to do this because I wasn't sure any other owner would speak English properly!

(3) The wifi was fast and reliable.

(4) Very clean toilet.

- points:
(1) The lighting in the room could be a bit better other than just the lights near the bed.

(2) The furniture seemed a little old and some parts of the room (such as the back of the toilet door) could do with a little touch up of paint but not a big issue with me.

(3) Breakfast was basic and similar to what I had in a hostel. Most places seem to provide yogurt so perhaps that could be a good way to boost value at a low cost for the owner?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrLukeLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polska
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

- Room was clean.
- Location is very good (5 min from Supratour bus station).
- Place is very safe and quiet (there is always someone at the reception - 24h).
- Owner was very polite and helpful. When we lost camera in the Supratour bus, he was trying to help us (he called to Supratour company and to bus driver, and gave us a lot of good advices).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michal_Z_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sahara
Hotel Sahara
#72 of 77 in Essaouira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#34 of 77 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emeraude Hotel
Emeraude Hotel
#41 of 77 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Iles
Hotel des Iles
#56 of 77 in Essaouira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#40 of 77 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#35 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Zayna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zayna

Property: Dar Zayna
Address: 75 Rue Agadir, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Zayna 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Zayna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing