We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Central, Friendly.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar Zayna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Zayna
Ranked #146 of 173 Essaouira B&B and Inns
DERRY CITY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean, Central, Friendly.”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed here for one night in this little gem of a hotel, (Dec 2013) Its well furnished extremely clean and situated just inside the Madina, walking distance from the bus station. The owner and night porter Ali were very pleasant and friendly guys, good breakfast on roof garden followed by a quality shower, plenty of hot water and fresh towels, so good we booked to go back on Jan 03rd for another 3 nights! We were given the suite for our stay at a reasonably discounted price so we couldn't resist a return to this lovely hotel and great little city of Essaouira, So if your looking for a quality room at an affordable price you have found it.

Only drawbacks, Or room was under the roof terrace so in the morning the scraping of chairs by housekeeper or people going early for breakfast on the ground was quite and earful fist thing in the morning, I did bring this to Youness the owners attention who informed me his is fastening rubber feet to the chairs soon.

Room Tip: The suite Under the roof garden may be noisy early in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clint-Derry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    19
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
11
32
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Period of Stay: 5th Dec - 6th Dec 2013 (1 night)
Cost: 25 Euros (275 Dirhams)(including taxes - the city tax is 2.5 Euros - via Booking.com) for a single room (Le Oriental)

+ points:
(1) Location - less than 5 minutes from the Supratours office and extremely easy to find this place (use Google Map for reference!) From the dropoff point you will see Borj Bab Marrakech (a mini-tower of sorts) so just head in that direction and you will see the gate Bab Marrakech easily (a very plain looking gate) with a map in front. Walk through the gate and within a minute you will see a sign for Dar Zayna above a "5 Dirham" shop. Turn left and then right and walk straight and you will see the sign for Dar Zayna already! It is about 5 to 10 minutes to the beach, fishing port, Portugese fort, and is thus a convenient place (though Essaouira is really quite a small town anyway).

(2) English-speaking owner who helped me to print my Easyjet boarding pass - best place to do this because I wasn't sure any other owner would speak English properly!

(3) The wifi was fast and reliable.

(4) Very clean toilet.

- points:
(1) The lighting in the room could be a bit better other than just the lights near the bed.

(2) The furniture seemed a little old and some parts of the room (such as the back of the toilet door) could do with a little touch up of paint but not a big issue with me.

(3) Breakfast was basic and similar to what I had in a hostel. Most places seem to provide yogurt so perhaps that could be a good way to boost value at a low cost for the owner?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrLukeLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polska
2 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2013

- Room was clean.
- Location is very good (5 min from Supratour bus station).
- Place is very safe and quiet (there is always someone at the reception - 24h).
- Owner was very polite and helpful. When we lost camera in the Supratour bus, he was trying to help us (he called to Supratour company and to bus driver, and gave us a lot of good advices).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michal_Z_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

we stayed a couple of nights, the "bargain" was 550dh + breakfast. rooftop (no sea view) is good and the breakfast served here is the moroccan riad standard: orange juice, coffee, tea, jam, bread, moroccan crêpes/pancakes, cheese. Spacious room, nothing exciting. Cool position inside medina walls. Great background music from the sea shore.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D1fretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at Dar Zayna for 1 night whilst in Essaouria. Dar Zayna is a simple, clean raid down an alley from Bab Marrakech. It is also close to the Supratour Terminal, so very convenient for guests arriving by bus from Marrakech.

Our Oriental room is quite large, but simple. The WIFI works well in the room. This Riad has a rooftop patio where breakfast is served. It's very inexpensive to stay here and is definitely value for money. We were allowed to check out at 2.00 pm after our 3 hours of quad biking.

In short, this is THE place to stay in Essaouria if you are coming by bus and wish to have a convenient location..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Dar Zayna is just off Bab Marrakech.  A charming house, if not for the foul odor coming from the bathroom of the cherazad room, it would have been a wonderful exprience. The annoying smell unfortunately kept me awake most of the night.  The le oriental room my brother and his wife stayed at on the 2nd floor is alright.  The rooftop terrace where breakfast was served is besutiful Youness, the owner is reserved but very helpful , as all of our host in Morocco are.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Fairly easy to find, it allowed me to live life in the Medina, easy access tot the main street and the wharf and beach are a walking distance. The service was good and you get to choose between breakfast in your room or on the balcony.
The decor is absolutely fabulous

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aerosid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#33 of 74 in Essaouira
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sahara
Hotel Sahara
#69 of 74 in Essaouira
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Le Grand Large
Riad Le Grand Large
#42 of 74 in Essaouira
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#31 of 74 in Essaouira
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#39 of 74 in Essaouira
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Madina
Riad Al Madina
#28 of 74 in Essaouira
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Zayna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zayna

Property: Dar Zayna
Address: 75 Rue Agadir, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Zayna 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dar Zayna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing