We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay at Dar Zayna”
Review of Dar Zayna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Zayna
Ranked #138 of 176 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous stay at Dar Zayna”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We arrived in Essaouria after our coach trip from Marrakech and thankfully our Riad was really easy to find, just a short walk from where the coach dropped us off.

And what a lovely welcome we recieved from Youness and his team, showing us our really spacious, clean and well decorated rooms, and then on to the roof terrace where we could unwind after our journey serving mint tea (for those that wanted it although it wasn't my cup of tea if you pardon the pun).

Throughout our stay we were made to feel at home, Youness was so lovely telling us the history of the Riad and how it had been his family home and how he had done the work himself to make it what it is today. He also was really helpful in giving us information on where to go and what to do/eat in Essaouria.
Breakfast was served on the terrace every morning and was very generous and taking into account the cost of our stay it was extremley good value.
I would definately stay here again for its location, which is really central to everything in Essaouria, for the welcome we recieved and for value for money for such a great place.
I couldn't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    21
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
11
34
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Dar Zayna has to be one of the most pleasant surprises I have had in a long while. Close to the Supertour terminal it was really easy to find. What's more, it could not have been better placed to explore Essaouira.
Throughout our stay Youness and his team made use all feel very welcome. He really is a genuine guy who could not be more helpful and accommodating. We were even served mint tea on the roof terrace to the sound of seagulls the day we arrived. Heaven!
The quality and standard of all the rooms is exceptionally high. Large, specious, incredibly clean and really good value too. Breakfast, again served on the terrace, was great. There really is nothing to dislike about this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JagoKenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Clean spacious room. A very comfortable and peacefull week. Shukran bezzef Youness.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Hotel Der Zayna is very close to the city walls of Essouira and Supratour terminal. Very easy to find. Very friendly staff, informed me about the city and what to do.
Room was very spacious.. (but realy spacious) and clean, as well as bathroom.
Even the roof terrace has no view basicly, breakfast on the roof (very good one) or just chilling out at the evening is just great.
Hotel is in Medina and close to the interresting points in Old City as well as to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spalatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful places I have ever visited and this accommodation was more than a home from home. A lovely, genuine welcome from Youness, Mounir and the maid. The whole house is a work of art - a place of tranquility and style in the heart of the medina at Essaouria. Morocco is the country that travels within you. This Rhiad is one place not to miss for its sheer charm and style and welcome.

Room Tip: Toureg - by far the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

This hotel is extremely clean, safe and in a great location , very comfy beds and good showers, Youness and the young man on the desk were so hospitable and helpful. We were asked for any ideas for improvement and with that butter and honey appeared the very next breakfast! I highly recommend Dar Zayna and would return anytime.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mally202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Off the bus from Marrakesh?, need a place close as possible from the bus, I recommend this nice hotel with a very relaxed ambiance, and close to the Medina action but without the hustle and noise. As town centre places are less spacious than some hotels, the room was smallish - however had all we needed, with very compact but clean ensuite shower room, plenty of hot water, comfy beds. Breakfast - lovely and we have good footage of the hilarious local seagulls on the roof terrace - they were so bold chirping for a few scraps of food!!
We had a very nice experience here and would come back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Le Grand Large
Riad Le Grand Large
#44 of 74 in Essaouira
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sahara
Hotel Sahara
#69 of 74 in Essaouira
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#41 of 74 in Essaouira
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#31 of 74 in Essaouira
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Hotel Emeraude
Riad Hotel Emeraude
#37 of 74 in Essaouira
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Riad Sidi Magdoul
#33 of 74 in Essaouira
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Zayna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zayna

Property: Dar Zayna
Address: 75 Rue Agadir, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Zayna 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Dar Zayna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing