We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Absolutely Stunning” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jack's Apartments & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jack's Apartments & Spa
Ranked #23 of 177 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albert
Level Contributor
249 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Absolutely Stunning. We spent an incredible three nights in this great apartment.When we arrived in Essaouira the booking agents informed us that the apartment was still occupied so they were upgrading us to the apartment just above the apartment we had booked.Hmm. But WOW! The apartment was clean, well appointed and the view was just breathtaking. The pictures on their website just can't show the impact that the view offers. For the third night they told us to enjoy the sights and that they would move our belongings.Later that day we arrived at our new apartment with every thing in it's place. They even had our white wine chilling in the fridge.A real class act.
We were in Morocco for a month and this apartment(both of them)were just great. We would love to return one day to recapture the marvel and memories of Jack's Apartments and of course Essaouira.

Room Tip: Go for Any rooms on the wall with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdabroad56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    30
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
47
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed at this property over New Year a few years back. I’m posting the review now because there are still not a lot of places available in Essaouria and the review may help. When we arrived we had to go and get keys from a small magazine shop on one of the main streets. I think it must have been Jack’s mother in law who was there to meet us. There was a problem with the room, she said we hadn’t actually booked a room and wouldn’t believe us until we actually showed her the confirmed booking. That wasn’t so easy as I had to go and find a place with internet and a printer to print the booking. When I returned with the booking the lady seemed uninterested but spoke to someone on the phone and told us to wait. Out of the blue a man arrived and gestured for us to follow him which we did, ten minutes through the maze of streets and we were taken up to an apartment. I immediately and firmly said “No way.” And returned to the magazine shop where the lady was not at all happy. Several calls later and we were eventually given the keys of the room/apartment we were meant to have in the first place. It was at the top of a building and I liked it. It had a small kitchen area on the right, a nice bedroom and a pretty decent bathroom. There was a great terrace area to sit for evening drinks. The problem with this place is not the fault of the owners but people should be aware that Essaouira is a summer town and gets really quite cold and damp in winter. I was very surprised how cold the room/apartment got at night but could really see how this little place would be fantastic in the summer months. I’ve stayed in Essaouira several times and it is a fantastic place in summer. If you can produce a confirmed booking and go in summer then you’d probably have a great time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tajine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed at Jack's Apartments for 3 nights in October 2011, having had recommendations from various friends and colleagues who have stayed there previously. Every good word they had said about the apartments we found to be extremely accurate. They are light and spacious, with a simple but beautifully traditional Moroccan decor. Located just behind the ramparts they offer stunning ocean views and easy access to all attractions and amenities of the town. The staff in Jack's Kiosk are also extremely helpful and well worth speaking to for advice on restaurants to visit/things to do etc. All in all extremely good value, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

It's the third time that I have stayed at one of Jack's apartments ... and it has always been just magical. Greatly located near the city wall overlooking the sea and the medina ... with all the comfort wanted, lovely decoration and great service from all the staff ! The maids are discreet and Nadia is just great, always efficient and there in case of needs ! I was once sick and when she found it out, she had some special tea sent to me ... I was really touched ! This is why I keep coming back whenever I can. So thanks to all ... and see you soon !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurence828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

Jack's apartments were recommended to us via a friend and we couldn't have been happier with apartment 6. Up several narrow flights of stairs, it had fantastic sea views over the nearby ramparts. We could have spent hours staring out of the living room window at the glistening blue ocean, listening to the waves crashing. Up another two flights of stairs, there is a shared roof terrace with even better views - we took our breakfast up there several times and one night lay on the deckchairs and looked up at the very clear, starry sky.

Inside, the apartment is very attractive and clean. It is cleaned daily so you feel very well looked after for self catering. The water was hot, the shower spacious and beautiful, the bed comfortable and the kitchen well-stocked (there is even a stove-top esspresso maker). We didn't want to leave.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BeetLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

If you like to watch the sun rise every morning from the comforts of your bed- this is the place. If you like standing on your balcony sipping mint tea and listening to the Atlantic ocean-this is the place. If ou want to pinch yourself and wonder if you are living a dream- this is the place. I have no words only pictures to explain the emotions of this apartment. The only thing u must know is that it is on the top floor so there are many,many stairs as it is part of walled medina. But your legs look great like a stair master with a view !
When I return next year that is where I will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deltos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed in the mini-suite, which was clean and comfortable. I'd heard that noise was a problem, but it was cool enough to shut the windows and I had earplugs, so we slept really well. We are actually heading back with my mother-in-law and her friend in a week, staying in Apt. 1. It's gorgeous. The terrace is comfortable and we spent a lot of time reading and drinking wine up there. The women who clean are quite nice and everyone was accommodating - we were able to leave our luggage after checking out, the kiosk is easy to find, and the room was serviced every day. Highly recommended (but bring earplugs!)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0410jd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
La maison des artistes
La maison des artistes
#24 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#9 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Kafila
Riad Kafila
#11 of 177 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Lazuli
Dar Lazuli
#40 of 177 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Perle d'Eau
Riad Perle d'Eau
#8 of 177 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jack's Apartments & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack's Apartments & Spa

Property: Jack's Apartments & Spa
Address: 1 Place Moulay Hassan | Scala, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jack's apartments are situated in buildings which are centuries old. They overlook the ancient medina ramparts and the Atlantic ocean. Fully renovated to modern standards, the apartments consist of Living Room, Bedroom, Kitchen and Bathroom, furnished in the Moroccan style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Jack's Apartments & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing