We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice change from the standard vegetarian option in Morocco”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Earth Cafe - CLOSED

Earth Cafe
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Description: Tiny little vegan / vegetarian restaurant in a square. Sister restaurant to the one in Marrakech. This one was better than the one in Marrakech (which is on trip advisor), freshly made food and great juices and mint tea. Very easy to find.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice change from the standard vegetarian option in Morocco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Traveling as a vegetarian in Morocco doesn't offer a whole lot of variety. You're either eating vegetarian tagine or vegetarian couscous!

Earth Cafe provided a nice break from the standard vegetarian fare.

I quite enjoyed my filo pastry puff filled with zuchinni, pepper, and goat cheese, with fig jam. And I would recommend trying one of their many juices.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JustinaL370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It's good, this one woman run restaurant. Go there, you weary vegetarian.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

As one of the few vegetarian restaurants in essaouira i was surprised to be the only guest. Even more after enjoying the dinners there for three nights on a row. It may no be the best vegetarian restaurant in the world, it is one of the few in Morocco, and the food is made creatively, well and tastefull. Vegetarians of the world, unite. There!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ron k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meat in the meal.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

There was a piece of beef in my meal, they must use a beef stock. Enough said.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christop_Arney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool Cafe !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

This little cafe is situated in a lovely square in Essaouira. It's a peaceful spot to get an enormous pot of delicious mint tea. The lady in charge was really friendly, though it did take a little while for my pot to be ready. Who's in a rush though.....?

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanKenworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
“Tasty veggie food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

A very nice vegetarian restaurant at Place Chrib Atai in Essaouira.
If you look for a fancy Berberian or Moroccoan decoration this place is not for you. The thing here is tasty and delicious food.
Please note that food is cooked on order, so it may take time before you are served, of course depending of what you are ordering. So be patient and enjoy the atmosphere of Place Chrib Atai.
Also try cucumber or redroot/ginger juice, very tasty and refreshing.
Ladies who keep the restaurant are very friendly and I enjoyed my time there.
Portions are large and average price is about 60drhs.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Satu_Saga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earth Cafe also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing