We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Douar des Arganiers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Douar des Arganiers
Ranked #5 of 177 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Le Douar des Arganiers was definitely the best place we have stayed in Morocco. The house has very calm and the same time modern atmosphere; Tania could tastefully mix the Alpine and Moroccan design elements. All rooms are nice, clean and very spacious, with comfortable beds and very fine linen. The house is eco-friendly, it is powered by solar panels, and the garden is watered using recycled water. The service was excellent; Tania and Ali are great hosts. They are very kind, informative and helpful. We tried Ali`s restaurant (Chez Ali) at the beach and we had couscous for dinner at the hotel, both were great. The breakfast was hearty and varied, with home-made jams and local goat cheese. Overall we warmly recommend the place, we have felt ourselves like at home. Although Sidi Kaouki is about 25 km to Essaouria, it can be easily reached by grand taxi or local bus (it’s an experience itself :). It has an endless beach with horses, camels, and some windsurfers, sometime caravans. If you are not windsurfing or kiting, still worth to visit the place, you can find some tranquility, especially after Marrakesh. The water was quite cold in October, so best have a wetsuit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank npetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
108
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Had a great couple of days when surfing in sidi kaouki earlier this month
Tania as host is incredibly helpful and welcoming and the house itself is lovely - spacious nicely decorated and quiet. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melone_Melons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed at Le douar Des Arganiers for 10 nights and had an amazing time, the owners Tania and Ali are very special people could not thank them enough for the lovely time. The house itself is beautiful and has very chilled, relaxing atmosphere. All in all it's a great place to stay near Essauoira. Highly recommend.
P.S Grey suit is awesome and it has your own little terrace with the nice views to the ocean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IevaBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Design hotel, comfortable rooms, very clean, great hosts. Top of the top!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spela_S274873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Le Douar des Arganiers is a simply wonderful place to stay in Sidi Kaouki, just outside Essaouria. What you see on the website is exactly what you see when you arrive. What an interesting idea to open an "eco-Riad" - I commend Tania and Ali! The Riad is beautifully appointed throughout (comfortable and modern), with attention to detail and green, green, green. I recommend the Turquoise room - the ambiance is very inviting and warm, given the large space. The Riad is also very clean without question. The grounds are beautiful, with plush grass and gardens, comfortable seating and quiet. I made a reservation to eat dinner at the Riad the first night - the food is exceptional. Come with a big appetite because it is a lot of delicious food! Sidi Kaouki beach is a very short walk away so when the surf is strong, it can be heard at the Riad while you laze away on a chaise lounge reading a book. Tania and Ali are truely lovely people and provided a lot of tips about Morocco. They are both quite good about spending time with their guests (inviting, warm), but at the same time understand instinctively when people are good on their own. I planned to stay three nights but extended an extra day because I was reluctant to leave! If you want to see Essaouria, it is only 15 or 20 minutes drive by taxi - it is well worth it to return to Sidi Kaouki (instead of staying in Essaouria) and experience the tranquility of Le Douar des Arganiers. There is nothing better than to wake up, have a delicious breakfast and walk to the beach before you go into Essaouria, ride a horse, surf or whatever...I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the area!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed for three weeks at Le Douar Des Arganiers, over Xmas and had such an amazing time. The guest house is superb and run by Tanja and her lovely husband Ali. Sidi Kauki is one of the most magical places in the world, and this was without doubt the place to stay. The rooms are fantastic, and it is in a beautiful peaceful setting.

Thank you for making our holiday so special.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

What can we say about Le Douar des Arganiers?There is hardly anything one could criticise.Maybe the beach is a bit further away than we thought (15 min) and the pool is in process of planning.But that is it.The guesthouse is just too good to be true.The house is fit into the surrounding landscape of trees and bushes.The lawn outside the rooms is green like Wimbledon (before day 1).The breakfast is delicious (so was the dinner 130 dh).The interior is very asthetic.The rooms are big and bright.And last but definitely not least,Tania,Ali and their staff do incredibly good work.4 nights in their guesthouse felt like home.It is the perfect place to relax and reload your batteries.For getting around,it is quite helpful to have a car (but no must).The beach is pretty and endless,but be aware of the strong currents!In a nutshell,we can warmly recommend this beautiful place and will definitely come back...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FriendlyTraveller_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
5.1 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#9 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
5.2 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#7 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Chbanate
Riad Chbanate
#6 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Douar des Arganiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Douar des Arganiers

Property: Le Douar des Arganiers
Address: Sidi Kaouki Plage, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Douar des Arganiers is ideally located in Sidi Kaouki, a small traditional berber village on the Atlantic coast, 20 kms south of Essaouira. From the house, you will reach a beautiful and sandy beach in less than 10 minutes walk.The guest-house is surrounded by a walled garden where you can safely park your car.The city of Essaouira can easily be reached by bus or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Douar des Arganiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing