We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - indifferent service”
Review of Miyame

Miyame
Ranked #13 of 264 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food - indifferent service”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Having eaten here in April 2014 I am a little surprised at the number of effusive reviews it has on TA. The food is good, but not stunning. Service was a little slow, and the seating is a bit cramped. Food was tasty, but we did have fish and tagine dishes which you would expect to be good in Essaouira. Can't make any comment about meat dishes as we didn't have any. Personally I don't like low seating, no matter how ethnic it is, and our family of four were seated in a row, which made conversation harder. Don't get me wrong - this is a good restaurant, and one which you should definitely try if you have a few days here, but I think four stars is a fairer rating than five.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wimbledon62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    62
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant really deserves to have a no. 1 slot on Trip Advisor. Maybe this review will help towards getting it there! The food was perfect on both occasions we went there - stuffed sardines, fish with orange butter, couscous royale and, yes, the apple pie....At lunch time we sampled the charming and gracious service and truly delicious cooking of Soumiya and Siham. You may have to wait a while as they cook everything fresh and will sometimes even pop out to go and get some of the ingredients! The lovely music from the likes of Joubran and Desert Blues will keep you happy while you wait. The restaurant was very reasonably priced, had a very pretty interior (only the low tables can be a bit difficult for those with long legs) and was packed in the evening - booking ahead is a good idea. Don't miss it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rimpsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Intimate restaurant with great food.”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We arrived early (7pm) to get a table as they can only seat about 12 people. We received a warm welcome and the service from start to finish was perfect. I had the Lamb tagine and the other half had the chicken one. They were both excellent full of flavour and good sized portions. At less than 20 euros for 3 courses for 2 it was excellent value.It would be a good idea to book as space is a premium and they dont serve alcohol.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was a great surprise. Very friendly family run place. Like eating in their front room. Lovely, tasty food at a fraction of the price elsewhere. Get their early or book. Its very small and well known to regulars.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ansbnks2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic, rustic food”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Loved the atmosphere and the food was outstanding. There is a starter with filled sardines that might sound a bit odd until you see it and taste it from somebody else's plate. Then you quickly change your might and order some too... I also had the tagine with meatballs. Very, very tasty.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RelaxFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miyame also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Miyame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing