We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming riad!”
Review of Riad Imik Imik

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Essaouira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Imik Imik
Ranked #30 of 176 Essaouira B&B and Inns
København, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
1 review
“Charming riad!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Riad Imik Imik is the perfect place to stay if you visit Essaouira. It is beautifully decorated and the rooms are very comfortable. There is a stunning view from the roof top terrace where we spent every evening. Some evening, however, it could get a bit windy and damp, but then again, who cares when you can wrap a blanket around you and listen to the prayers from the minarets and the screaming of the seagulls? It was exotic and yet very comfortable. So if you want to visit this little surfers paradise, be sure not to miss Riad Imik Imik.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank signehys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
68
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We found Imik Imik in our book guide at the last moment when we were in our way to Essaouira.. and we had the good luck of finding a room available for us. Britta waited for us at the parking lot and walked us to the house....and what a pleasant surprise!: Imik Imik is a beautiful house decorated with exquisite taste by her owner Britta, who at the same time is a magnificent host. She was more than helpful and nice with us... and unfortunately, due to a problem with the car we had rent we were unable to stay longer there... but we definitely wanted. The place and the host are amazing , and I can not believe there is a better place to stay in that beautiful City. I recommend this Riad to anyone visiting Essaouira.. you will not regret it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srm1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanjeaux, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Earlier this year we had the good fortune of enjoying a two week stay in Imik Imik. within seconds of walking in all our gazes drifted up to take in the beauty of the Riad so lovingly restored by Britta. Every corner of every room is decorated and arranged just so - were you to walk around and take random snapshots without looking through the viefinder you would still end up ith a set of stunning photos. The rooftop terrace was the perfect place to start and end the day, either over breakfast or for one last look over the moon-lit tiles disappearing towards the horizon. Essaouira itself enchanted just as it had all those years ago and we hope to return very soon indeed. Thank you for the most wonderful of holidays, the most wonderful of memories.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong - all are beautiful in their own right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Nestled at the end of a quiet street, Riad Imik Imik's door opens into the most serene inner courtyard, where noises melt away and a cool surround awaits. The owner Britta, welcomes you with a wealth of information on what to see and do and where to put your feet up in between! After settling into the gorgeous room, where every single detail is considered and all corners filled with interesting artefacts, you can slip up to the roof terrace to catch a breathtaking sight of the Medina. A delicious breakfast is served up here, under the sunshine, it's certainly worth reserving an hour or two for such a morning treat! The Riad hosts you in true laid back Essaouira style and I certainly wouldn't stay anywhere else. The location is unbeatable and you truly do feel like you have arrived home!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tink1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Imik Imik is a a beautifully restored riad down a quiet cul-de-sac just inside the old medina, yet only a few minutes walk from the hustle and bustle of the souks. The house itself is fantastic and the effort Britta has put into it is phenomenal. She has left no stone unturned in the restoration and there are little charms around every corner. The location is second to none - Essaouira is a charming town and provided a welcome break from the madness of Marrakesh.

Britta proved to be the perfect host - we enjoyed chatting, she took us shopping pointing us towards some great local bargains and brought us for lunch to a great little backstreet eatery that served good, tasty and cheap Moroccan food. She also serves a great Moroccan breakfast!

We only stayed one night at Imik Imik but while there, we were made to feel like old friends - We were sorry we couldn't have stayed a little longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_McIntyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tisvildeleje, Frederiksborg, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The riad has it all, great taste where very detail was attended attending to in color and form. It was clean and beautifully taken care of. Britta was a wonderful hostess and owner and she, and we where treated in the best manner, like long time friends. We felt like home and was lucky to enjoy her company much of the time. The 3 rooms where beautifully decorated and different in colors and size. The place is spacious and relaxed with different places to sit and enjoy the the architecture and the artistic decor. We had breakfast at the sunny terrace at the roof top enjoying the seagulls waiting for a bite, and nice long talks in the living room at nights. The location is central in the Medina, but still peacefully tucked away from noise. This is a place I would love to come back to and highly recommend to others. You will not be disappointed, but happily surprised.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederiksberg, denmark
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Riad Imik Imik is incredibly beautifully decorated by gracious German owner Britta. An exquisite blend of the best of Moroccan style and nordic style. If you don't mind staying in the Medina this is the perfect place to stay. 3 totally different rooms. Lovely living room. Two terraces.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elisabet f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 74 in Essaouira
680 reviews
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#13 of 74 in Essaouira
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#16 of 74 in Essaouira
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar L'Oussia
Riad Dar L'Oussia
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
392 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Imik Imik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Imik Imik

Property: Riad Imik Imik
Address: 25 Rue Zalaka | 44000 Essaouira, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Imik Imik is in the heart of the medina, and yet offers peace and tranquility, with a fabulous terrace to relax on. This riad has many authentic Moroccan features, combined with high European standards creating a spacious and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing