We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and unique Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Imik Imik

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Essaouira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Imik Imik
Save
You added Riad Imik Imik to your Saves list
Ranked #23 of 178 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Amazing and unique Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

As a grown-up family of 5, we rented out Riad Imik Imik over a few days in the Christmas holidays while Britta was overseas, and had this incredible property in the heart of the medina all to ourselves. Britta and Souad arranged for a car to pick us up in Marrakech, and we were met by Souad right where the car dropped us off. From this time on, Souad was our host and charming guide whenever we needed her. The equally friendly and charming Ghislane set out breakfast every morning on the rooftop terrace.

The riad itself is quite big, with four double bedrooms all including en suite bathrooms and each featuring a different color scheme. The design across the entire riad is unique, warm and welcoming, renovated beautifully with a local and bohemian flavour. With four and a half floors, there is tons of space to relax including a split level terrace overlooking the medina out to the sea. The kitchen is fully stocked and easy to use - we cooked fresh fish in it a couple of nights, enjoyed one of Souad's tagines another night, and had a fantastic meal out at a restaurant recommended by Britta and owned by a French expat serving fusion, locally sourced food. Any hammam, guided trip, camel trek, surf rental etc. can be arranged by the Riad staff, all the local knowledge you need is covered.

Finally, the value was unbeatable - couldn't believe how affordable this palace of a property is. Thanks Britta for setting it all up, and Souad & Ghislane for making our stay super comfortable. Hope to be back sometime soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric_Canadales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
63
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The owner is a charming German lady who speaks perfect English. We stayed here with another couple who found this splendid riad after much research. Britta could not have been more helpful - this also applies to her staff, who welcomed us warmly at the supra tours bus stop as Britta was away that day. Beautiful restored riad with lovely roof terrace where we breakfasted in sunshine, even in January! Excellent fruit salad each morning with variety of pancakes or omelettes with plenty of coffee. We dined in excellent restaurants recommended by Britta.
The harbour with its fishing fleet was a real highlight of the town which is a lot quieter than Marrakech. Riad Imik Imik is Berber for slowly slowly, so Britta explained. The perfect way to approach life in this delightful place

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This Riad was designed by the owner, an enterprising and charming German woman, Britta, who has clearly put a lot of love into making it a superb and restful place to stay. She is very much a "people person" and has a wealth of information to share with her guests so you have a fantastic stay in Morocco. She also welcomes independent travellers .There was a mix of both during my stay, so the company was great.
Britta is well established and respected by the local community, so she really does know some of the best places to go! The riad has lots of traditonal Moroccan crafted design features, with a modern and calm ambience. Each room has a colour theme. I stayed in the blue room, with lovely turquoise decorations on the walls, carpets and bedspreads The room was large , with a comfy double bed, built in wardrobe and well decorated en suite bathroom - lots of hot water!
Downstairs, the kitchen and dining area is large, open and spacious , with staricases up to the terraces. In early November, it was great to have enough sun to start the day with breakfast on the terrace. Breakfast was always superb with freshly squeezed juices, coffee or tea - including English breakfast tea- fresh breads and pastries,yoghurts and a good selection of home made preserves. We had fresh fruit salad - with pomenegranites- that Britta made daily.
The staff are pleasant and the riad is very clean, which is welcome after the dusty streets.
Its a great location near to the beach, shops and just near the Supra tours bus station if you want cheap and efficient transport.
I felt welcome, safe and very well looked after in this fabulous place - I will return again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, talk to Britta about which room you want , maybe you can get your favourite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eastlondoners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larvik
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

After 14 days on dusty roads,mountain clibmbing, desert safari and overnights in primitiv locations, it was like heaven checkining in on Riad Imik Imik. The house inside was like comeing to 1001 night. Rooms and interior is exelen and almost unlimeted with hot water in the shower:))).
The breakfast on the roof in the warm mornings was fantastic. Britta is a perfect host with a big and careing heart. Her knowledge of the town and it`s surroundings helped us to get around with ease. Walking distance(7 min) to the beach. Exelent for couples and honey moon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fez, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Britta has cultivated a wonderful guest house conveniently located in the medina of Essaouira. It is very spacious and open with beautiful views of the city and the ocean from the roof terrace. It is also very cozy and has good beds and comfortable furnishings. Britta is an excellent hostess who can arrange everything from tours to spas to restaurants for her guests, although she is happy to let you explore on your own. You should definitely take her advice on restaurants! Speaking of food, the breakfasts at Riad Imik Imik are amazing! There were wonderful spreads, each morning slightly different, including fresh bread, fruit, homemade preserves, omelettes and excellent coffee. After a day of exploring the city and the beaches this place is absolutely perfect for relaxation and repose. I will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

It is difficult to think how our visit to Riad Imik Imik could have been improved. Making arrangements with Britta was excellent, including organising a car to pick us up from Marrakech airport. Souad and Ghislane, the staff at the Riad made us so welcome and helped organise other excursions during our stay. The Riad itself is superb - quiet, extremely comfortable, and absolutely beautiful. Breakfasts on the roof terrace were sublime, and the bedrooms were quiet, comfortable and relaxing. The location is ideal - away from the hustle and bustle of the main Medina streets, but only 5 minutes walk from everything. This is somewhere which once visited, you will want to return to again and again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham_Uff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We enjoyed 4 days in this Authentic Moroccan Riad quietly tucked away down a lovely colorful street in the heart of Essaoiura. A beautifully and authentically restored Riad with the touch of a true decorator allowing for modern comforts and really showing the beauty of Moroccan culture and home living.

Every morning Britta, Riad Imik Imik's owner, laid out the most wonderful spread of breakfast foods you could imagine on her beautiful terrace. With many local specialties to try and enjoy, as well as traditional breakfast foods which added an extra layer of comfort in their familiarity. She was the perfect host providing insights and knowledge about the town, and making delightful conversation, but also giving you the distance and peace that made you feel like you had the place all to yourself.

We were there covering the Gwana Music Festival for "The View From Fez" blog, and after days filled with music, it was so nice to return to this oasis of quiet and tranquility.

With so many people in town for the festival, many of the restaurants and local places were completely full, but Britta made sure we always had a table at the best restaurants calling ahead for us and making reservations through her own network of friends in Essaouira which was an extra touch that made are stay so much easier and enjoyable.

I would highly recommend Riad Imik Imik for any family that wants to experience Morocco, or for any couple looking for a romantic get away. It's cozy and very inviting, and a great value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessePoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#8 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Maya
Dar Maya
#5 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#41 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#10 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 1,050 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Chbanate
Riad Chbanate
#4 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Imik Imik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Imik Imik

Property: Riad Imik Imik
Address: 25 Rue Zalaka | 44000 Essaouira, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Imik Imik is in the heart of the medina, and yet offers peace and tranquility, with a fabulous terrace to relax on. This riad has many authentic Moroccan features, combined with high European standards creating a spacious and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing