We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep your easy-going way!”
Review of Riad Imik Imik

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Essaouira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Imik Imik
Ranked #25 of 175 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Keep your easy-going way!”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

"Imik imik" is an imitation of a Berber saying meaning keep it easy, slow down, mellow out. The name has been perfectly chosen, for this riad is a relaxed place, from the warm welcome by the hostess Britta to the lovely decorated interior to the delicious breakfast on the roof terrrace.

There are but four rooms - we staid in the blue room and loved the red one, too - , each one with its individual decor and gorgeous furnishing making for a high class, laid-back atmosphere. What's special about this riad are all the charming details which demonstrate the passion and devotion of Britta, like the authentically restored columns from the ancient mellah (Jewish quarter) on the ground floor.

The day starts relaxed on the roof terrace with a terrific breakfast served by the nice and friendly staff. Perfectly happy with Britta's oustanding home-made ginger-fig, apple, and peach jam, potatoe mush, bread, coffee and tea, you lay in the hammock on the terrace to recover.
Once you are back from your short rest and ready to explore the medina (part of the UNESCO World Heritage) do not hesitate to ask Britta for an insider's tip for sights, cultural activities, culinary highlights, trips into the environs, etc.

We loved our stay, and we still wallow in the feeling of sitting in the sun on your terrace. Many thanks for everything, and keep your easy-going way!

Jana & Sebastian, hoping to come back soon ...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelZap12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
68
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meerbusch, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Britta has created the perfect symbiosis between the best of Moroccan flair and the comfort of modern, well-equipped accommodations. The house is a masterpiece of reconstruction tucked into a little alleyway in a quiet part of the old town. Britta herself tops it off with impeccable attention to our traveling needs. Be it a recommended route, or the best source of quality Argan oil, she is a wonderful host.

Particularly in Essaouira, where winds may blow and street life is busy, we always enjoyed returning to Imik Imik, knowing that our own piece of comfort is close-by. We stayed in the first floor Beldi Room and enjoyed its optional twin beds and more spacious setting. We did not have to use the open fireplace, but appreciated looking at it. Breakfast is taken up on the rooftop - which is sunny and fun, but be prepared for the wind. One tip: make sure your car/taxi drops you off at the right city gate - one is just a few hundred meters away, others, as we found out, are a long 10 minute journey.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadshow10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Nach Besuchen der hektischen Medina konnten meine Freundin und ich bei Britta Lüders (Inhaberin) bestens relaxen.
Das alte Riad ist in einen Top Zustand renoviert worden. Die Räume sind mit viel liebe "modern arabic" eingerichtet und es war das sauberste Hotel unserer Reise.
Auf der wunderschönen Dachterrasse wird das ausgesprochen gute Frühstück serviert.
Hier haben wir uns bei lauen Sommerabenden und einem Glas Wein bestens entspannen können.
Ein klarer Tipp für Reisende, die Individualität mit Herzlichkeit kombinieren möchten.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

After staying in Riad Ma'ab in Marrakesh Riad Imik to us was a disappointment. The rooms are nice but not very clean, the bed spread was dusty and so was the floor under the bed. We were asked upon arrival at what time we would like to have breakfast the next morning but it turned out that the lady only arrived around nine o'clock. The continental breakfast on the rooftop was a nice experience, great coffee too. We stayed here for four nights and when, for the last two nights, we moved to a bigger room so did our sheets. In the afternoon and evenings there was no possibility to make a tea or coffee as everything (including the drinking water) had been put away. The riad itself can only be reached after passing smelly alleys and when returning at night no one was considerate enough to leave a light at the door to find the keyhole. If this riad is the number two place to stay in Essaouira I wonder what the other riads are like. Btw, a great place to practise your French as no one spoke English.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElisabethvO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

I spent a fantastic stay in Riad Imik Imik. The place is very well located, in a calm street, and only few meters away from the heart of the Medina, and close to the sea. Rooms are very confortable, clean and decorated with style and good taste. The service is the top of the top. People are always trying to make your holidays perfect. You feel at home!
I strongly recommand :-)
Deanack

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deaninfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driebergen, Holland
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Its a dreamy, peaceful place. The owner is a German cosmopolitan, but she is involved in the local community and well informed about the region and the Moroccan way of life. Her personal approach is warm and relaxed. The interior of the riad offers an nice mixture of modern Moroccan styles. The location is practical, rather close to everything.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FonsDekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeist, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2010

The owner is very friendly and she respects your privacy. She knows the region very well and will help and inform you about every thing you like or need. The terrace on the roof is a lovely place for sunbathing and a relaxing place after swimming and walking. Riad Imik Imik is so clean and every thing is 'working'! The riad is near to the beach and near to the centre of the city and the market. Also the busstop for busses to Marrakesh and Agadir is near. The athmosphere in ImikImik is: you feel home and in a fairy-tale. Anyhow: you feel very welcome!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrianabron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Perle d'Eau
Riad Perle d'Eau
#5 of 175 in Essaouira
262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Lazuli
Dar Lazuli
#28 of 175 in Essaouira
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Assalama
Dar Assalama
#45 of 175 in Essaouira
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Inna
Riad Inna
#12 of 175 in Essaouira
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Emotion
Riad Dar Emotion
#16 of 175 in Essaouira
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira
Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira
#18 of 175 in Essaouira
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Imik Imik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Imik Imik

Property: Riad Imik Imik
Address: 25 Rue Zalaka | 44000 Essaouira, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Imik Imik is in the heart of the medina, and yet offers peace and tranquility, with a fabulous terrace to relax on. This riad has many authentic Moroccan features, combined with high European standards creating a spacious and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing