We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent dishes, nice peoples as staff, pretty place”
Review of Dar Baba

Dar Baba
Ranked #85 of 266 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $7
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The true Italian cuisine with good product Moroccan ,Dar Baba is located in a side street of the main street of Essaouira, we find the symbol of the restaurant or camels eat spaghetti. The restaurant is on the first floor of a beautiful riad light. Selection of wines, beers, cocktails. variety of homemade pasta, lasagne, gnocchi, ravioli, tagliatelle, pappardelle etc.. you can even choose between traditional spaghetti bolognaise or chilli garlic oil or penne with ham cream, or Arrabbiata. various specialties depending on the season or climate. menus for vegetarians and special attention to desserts. hygiene and the service at "European" all homemade. _________________________________________________________________________ La vera cucina italiana, con il buon prodotto marocchino.Dar Baba si trova in una strada pedonale laterale alla strada principale di Essaouira, si trova il simbolo del ristorante,un cammello che mangia spaghetti. Il ristorante si trova al primo piano sotto la bella luce del riad. Gran selezione di vini, birre,digestivi,cocktail.Vasta varieta di pasta fatta in casa, lasagne, gnocchi, ravioli, tagliatelle, pappardelle, ecc. si puo anche scegliere tra la tradizionale bolognese spaghetti o aglio olio peperoncino o penne con crema di prosciutto, o Arrabbiata. Varie specialita a seconda della stagione mare o clima. Menu per vegetariani e una particolare attenzione nei dolci. L'igiene e il servizio al italiania con il sapore dei prodotti locali.Tutto fatto in casa.
meknes
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent dishes, nice peoples as staff, pretty place”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

not so expensive, good Italian restaurant, family managed by italian people. Good cooking, wonderful ravioli... you have to try! Mainly in you are local, if this is your first travel to Essaouira maybe something more touristic is recommended. Like often in Morocco, no credit card is accepted!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bravo_brv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    38
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yeppoon, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good break from Tagines”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Good priced meal, home made pasta, very nice break from Moroccan food ( only so many tagines you can eat) staff was friendly and the beers where big at 35 dirhams. Great place

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suttle79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
2 reviews
“Simply delicious Italian food in Essaouira!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

After having three days of eating in restaurants in Essaouira I found exactly what I was looking for in this beautiful and simple Italian restaurant. I had an amazing fish soup, which even though
was the most expensive plate in the menu, was still really cheap (70 Dirahms) for the quality and the flavour. And then I had a plate of pasta with shrimps that was just delicious and my husband food was the same. And the service was just lovely, since they had to go to a grocery shop twice, to get some ingredients for some of the food and drinks I ordered, as it was a really quiet day in Essaouira and it was just us in the restaurant, at least at the beginning of our dinner.
Also you can see the restaurant's kitchen and everything looked impeccable.
So great comfort Italian food without pretentious but with the flavour necessary to make you leave the place happy :)!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amadlya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good pasta!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I write reviews based on how well my expectations are met. I ordered penne arrabbiata, which actually tasted like it was supposed to. Morocco isn't known for its Italian food and this place was pretty good and inexpensive (my pasta was 50 dirham). Is it the best pasta I've ever had? No. But it's probably the best pasta I've had in Morocco.

Also nice is that they have shredded parmesan and chili powder (it's not crushed red pepper but it's something). Also, people have commented on the portion size. I think it's totally fine. I left feeling totally satisfied.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rollo_Tommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Delightful food and great value. I had gnocchi with Gorgonzola (freshly made) whilst my partner had a pizza. Both tasted excellent. Decor is rustic with bags of charm and the host is friendly. Unbelievable value. Strongly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Danalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Baba also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Baba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing