We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Ranked #42 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Bordeaux, France
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

There was some very positive elements to our stay but some negatives too. One of the people who works on reception was lovely, she was very friendly and was happy to help us out, one of the guys working on reception wasn't so nice. The room was small but clean, though there were no light bulbs in the reading lamps (making the room very dark) and we had to specifically ask them to put them in. The breakfast was pretty awful - stale bread and patisseries, not nice tasting tea, dodgy jam, we only ate the breakfast on our first night (of two) as it was that bad. The hotel's pretty good value at 300 dirhams a night. Very central location. We would stay here again at a push if we didn't find something better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flojobordeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    37
    13
    1
    7
See reviews for
14
40
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2012

a nice riad we enjoyed staying, friendly and helpful stuff ,excellent value for money ,the room was nice and clean .
we had good breakfast in the terrase so it was sunny ^ ^
the rooms are nice bathroom also ok , if you are addicted in internet don't worry it has wifi ^ ^
Would highly recommend staying here if you're looking for a nice Moroccan Riad :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We had only one night their - but it was awesome. The room was clean and we had a bathroom in suite. Quite small but totally nice. The staff was nice and more than helpful. The breakfast was great and on a very high level. You get your breakfast on the terrace which is another big plus point, cause the terrace is sunny and wonderful. We can recommend this riad to everyone and we would come back. Also the price is more than fair!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koelle12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essaouira, Morocco
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2012

we enjoyed our stay in this hotel, very well located in the heart of Essaouira's Medina close to every thing ,10 minutes to the beach.
nice riad with lovely and helpful staff,delicious breakfast in the pretty terrace ,rooms are very clean hot water all the time ,wifi is every where ,nicely decorated riad in a morrocan style,it's a wonderful and quite place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carole d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Loads of noise from the street, construction noise in the hotel, no hot water on day one, one min of hot water every 5 minutes or so on day two with lots more construction noise. When I got home I found out the manager had double charged me.. I paid cash but he also charged my credit card.. basically theft.

I was in many traditional Riads with beautifully decorated walls and ceilings and wood panels... RIAD ETOILE IS NOT ONE OF THOSE, but rather very basic and plain and dark, you need a torch at the entrance, which is opposite a mens club and massage parlour.

Couldn't sleep. couldn't shower or shave, the worst breakfast in Morocco and a blustery, aggressive unhelpful manager, who tried to charge me twice. Give this one a miss , 0 stars

Room Tip: 1 - Stay away from the moroccan mens club and massage parlour side. 2 - Get a better riad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellezelles, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

very nice place to stay when passing essaouira.We stayed one night ,the rooms good ,it's a very beautiful riad.
Breakfast served on the roof-terrace,very friendly staff an a good price

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lieve9954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

stayed 2 nights in october. the riad and the room where lovely. shame about the tv spoilt the feel a little but no one had theirs on while i was there. location is great, room was very nice and clean, as was the bathroom. i looked at a few before i picked this one and was definitely the best and got a good price and double room to myself. staff were lovely. terrace was nice but i suppose if you are after a view over breakfast then this is not the place for you. i had a room with an inside window so i had no noise at all. i would definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalesEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Riad Sidi Magdoul
#34 of 74 in Essaouira
252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Le Grand Large
Riad Le Grand Large
#43 of 74 in Essaouira
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sahara
Hotel Sahara
#69 of 74 in Essaouira
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caverne d'Ali Baba
Caverne d'Ali Baba
#40 of 74 in Essaouira
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#26 of 74 in Essaouira
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Etoile d'Essaouira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Etoile d'Essaouira

Property: Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Address: 2 Rue Qadissiya | Av Sidi Mohamed Ben Abdelah, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Etoile d'Essaouira 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Riad full with charm organizes around a patio with a Moroccans living room decorated well (carpet, wrought iron, tables....) And large terrace to shine upon according to its site our rooms have windows with different sights view on the neighbourhood which make it possible to discover and live with an immense satisfaction the everyday life of the souiris or with the calm and luminous patio or runs a fountain it places at your disposal 10 rooms of Various capacity of reception, in 04 rooms including mezzanines in the first floor especially Stages to study for lodging in family. The rooms carefully movable are roomy and luminous and well equipped: private bathroom, Satellite TV and connection wifi to make your stay very pleasant and your return to our premises probably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Etoile d'Essaouira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing