We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down at heel, careless, resting on laurels?”

Le Chalet de la Plage
Ranked #52 of 261 Restaurants in Essaouira
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Buit entriely of wood in 1893 by the Farraud familly, the Chalet de la plage has seen four generation of owners in its century in existence. without ever failing to live up to this reputation for excellence. wether run by the De Soto family, ,by the hoisnards or -as nowadays- the "Jeannots", the welcome has always been as warm, the view of the port and the islands as impressive, and the fish, seafood and shellfish as fresh and delicious on your plate. over the years the decor has naturally enough been embellished with a thousand and one souvenirs, and today's clients come from all over the worls - artists, sport enthisiasts, poets, or simply anonymous lovers seduced by the timeless charm of EssaouiraEn 1965, la famille Jeannot a repris ce restaurant ouvert depuis 1893 et en a fait une veritable institution a Essaouira et au Maroc. Situee en bordure de mer, juste au-dessus de la plage aux mouettes et goelands d'Essaouira, la carte propose une cuisine mediterraneenne typique. Crustaces, oursins, gambas, calamars, langoustes et poissons entiers sont a la fete. Les serveurs prodiguent leurs conseils sous l'oeil attentif de Jeannot, le capitaine du Chalet de la Plage. La salle est "non fumeur", pour votre confort.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Down at heel, careless, resting on laurels?”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We spent our first evenng at this restaurant after arriving in Essaouira, and were looking forward to the meal, although we had to wait at the bar next door until it opened at 7pm. That bar is quite an experience - like a time warp from the 1960s. The food at the restaurant was plentiful and served with humour and attention, but my starters were badly chosen, and I received food poisoning very quickly from eating the sea urchins. The main meal was fine (I had not then begun to feel ill) but the decor was depressing and it felt like a restaurant with no doubt a fine history but one which was resting on its laurels and seemed to be demanding approval. Disappoiniing, and it lost me a day of my holiday..

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sawmillbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    261
    106
    58
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Simple seafood with friendly service”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We booked a day ahead to ensure a sea view and were not disappointed with the view. The seafood we ate - sardines for starters followed by sea bream and prawns were well cooked and tasty. No need for a starter as the portions were generous. Service was friendly and efficient. A good choice for our second night in this lovely town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MidlandsElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Seafood Restaurant”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This restaurant has been recommended to us two different hotels (one in Marrakech!) and it did certainly deliver.

Sitting on the terrace overlooking the post-sunset sea while eating fresh seafood (there are also some very good non-seafood dishes) is the perfect way to end a day in Essaouira.

Book a table in advance as this place is popular and enjoy !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dianxue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“3 times during 3days long stay in Essaouira!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We went there for lunch just after we arrived to Essaouira. And I fell in love with this place;) It's very nice to sit on the tarrace during the lunch time (unfortunatelly in the evening it was possible to eat only inside). There's a perfect view of the ocean as the restaurant is placed on the beach. Fish that they're serving are amazing! You get huge fish that is perfectly cooked and sooooo tasty:) As the menu is in french the waiter is happy to come to you with the huge plate with all the fresh fish available, so that you can choose which one you would like to eat. Great thing is that before your dinner arrives you get a plate of olives, butter and baguettes... you have to know that this was the moment for me to start to like olives:) AMAZING! In general the atmosphere is very nice and the waiters are very kind. Always somewhere around is the white-hair owner with a moustache smiling, talking to people and helping waiters. I highly recommend this place!:)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kingetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't go there”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We ordered the menu from 250 dinhar.The sardines and the local maroccan white wine were good but the languines were burnt and the caramel creme tasted like caramel rubber!The price was to high for the quality!Dont go there!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diederick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chalet de la Plage also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Chalet de la Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing