We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I absolutely recommend it!”
Review of Dar Assalama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Assalama
Ranked #43 of 180 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The riat is situated in the Medina. You can feel like you are local living there. The staff of the riat was extremely helpful! We felt ourselves like home. Please see my pictures which will tell you everything about rooms, design and views from the roof top and breakfast. I loved this riat! and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Probably would be better to have a suite room. It's bigger and have some space to sit and chill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tushkanchik220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 112 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

I would like to start by saying that I stayed here 2 years ago and am not one to write reviews on these types of websites, but the service and the standard of the accommodation at the Dar Assalama was by far the best (and I have stayed in dozens and dozens of different places). The family that run the Riad are so friendly and could not do enough to help my partner and I find our way around. The breakfasts are sensational and really hard to beat anywhere in the world! One of the ladies working in the Riad even took time out of her day to teach my partner and I how to cook a traditional tagine from scratch and then wanted to wait hand and foot on us (which we didnt allow). I cannot recommend the Riad highly enough. The decor is so tastefully and traditionally done and the service impeccable. I have recommended the Dar Assalama to many friends and family! Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaylahEnglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Absolutely stunning Riad. Greatly situated within Medina and superfriendly and hospital personnell. The Riad has it all: very nice atmosphere with true Moroccan style. Even the smallest details have been taken care of (e.g. candle lights at the stairs at night to finis the all romantic experience). Very nice fresh cooked breakfast in the morning (differs every day....which most places in Morroco can't say). Very clean and nice shower. They really thought this trough well!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Dar Assalama is a pleasant, clean riad inside the old city walls, not far from the SupraTours bus station. It was a little hard to find, so we were accompanied by the somewhat aggressive porters starting from outside the bus station, but the hotel staff shooed them away once we arrived. On the staff, we found them to be very friendly and helpful with questions about town. The riad has a nice rooftop deck, where a very large and delicious breakfast is served each morning. The only drawback from our perspective was that the rooms are a little small. Granted, we had our pre-teen daughter with us (extra bed was provided for €10 fee), but the Amber room would have been a little tight even for two.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank centralasiantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights as the last stretch of our honeymoon in Morocco. It was a fantastic base to explore Essaouira, ideally situated within the medina but close to the 'Supertours' bus station. Felt thoroughly at home here, relaxing in the communal area on the ground floor, open fire in the evening, tea and coffee on tap whenever you wanted it. The rooms are fabulous, large beds, beautifully decorated - dark but most riads are. Brilliant hospitality, there was always someone around to offer advice, good places to eat, where to watch the sunset. Breakfast on the terrace was another high, fresh fruit, yoghurt, bread, and eggs. Thoroughly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4Ellie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

This was the best place we stayed in, in one of the oldest, most quiet, parts of the medina, but within easy reach of everything. Had a peak at all six rooms, as was empty when we stayed and they are all decorated differently, fantastic and ensuite. There is even a kitchen downstairs for your use. The rooms and bathrooms are big and spotless. The roof terrace has four sun beds, as well as compfy seats for breakfast and a view of the sea. The staff do everything possible to ensure your stay is a great one. Providing info on places to eat and see providing maps. Would thoroughly recommend, onle a shame that we found it on our last night. Was also very peaceful as all rooms face over central courtyard so only sound is off seagulls overhead.

Room Tip: Roooms on the floors higher up are lighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wantedwintersun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed for three nights and we (myself and partner) were really impressed by the riad and their owners and we were not disappointed by our stay. Rooms were great, breakfast was lovely and different every day which was a really nice touch and served on the roof terracel. The terrace was also perfect for relaxing on as well. The location was great for exploring the old town and the beach. The owners were perfect hosts and could not do enough for us. Great first riad experience for us!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#18 of 75 in Essaouira
511 reviews
0 mi away
Dar Rahaothello
Dar Rahaothello
#49 of 180 in Essaouira
41 reviews
3 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
675 reviews
7.7 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#11 of 75 in Essaouira
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Assalama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Assalama

Address: 5 Rue Allal El Ouaqaoui, derb Agadir, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range: $53 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Assalama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situé dans l'une des rues les plus calmes d'Essaouira, l'hôtel Dar Assalama vous réserve un accueil chaleureux et convivial dans un charmant riad rénové.Le riad Dar Assalama dispose de 6 chambres confortables dotées de tous les équipements espérés, dans un cadre décoré dans un style typiquement marocain.Après avoir exploré Essaouira et profité de la plage, vous pourrez vous détendre dans le patio intérieur entouré de salons marocains avec cheminées, créant une atmosphère agréable l'hiver.Pendant votre séjour, profitez de la vue magnifique depuis le toit-terrasse, où vous pourrez prendre votre petit déjeuner le matin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Dar Assalama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing