We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveler rating
93
21
5
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
21
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful riad mint tea omar medina morocco taxi
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 121 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights as the last stretch of our honeymoon in Morocco. It was a fantastic base to explore Essaouira, ideally situated within the medina but close to the 'Supertours' bus station. Felt thoroughly at home here, relaxing in the communal area on the ground floor, open fire in the evening, tea and coffee on tap whenever you wanted it. The rooms are fabulous, large beds, beautifully decorated - dark but most riads are. Brilliant hospitality, there was always someone around to offer advice, good places to eat, where to watch the sunset. Breakfast on the terrace was another high, fresh fruit, yoghurt, bread, and eggs. Thoroughly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4Ellie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

This was the best place we stayed in, in one of the oldest, most quiet, parts of the medina, but within easy reach of everything. Had a peak at all six rooms, as was empty when we stayed and they are all decorated differently, fantastic and ensuite. There is even a kitchen downstairs for your use. The rooms and bathrooms are big and spotless. The roof terrace has four sun beds, as well as compfy seats for breakfast and a view of the sea. The staff do everything possible to ensure your stay is a great one. Providing info on places to eat and see providing maps. Would thoroughly recommend, onle a shame that we found it on our last night. Was also very peaceful as all rooms face over central courtyard so only sound is off seagulls overhead.

Room Tip: Roooms on the floors higher up are lighter
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed for three nights and we (myself and partner) were really impressed by the riad and their owners and we were not disappointed by our stay. Rooms were great, breakfast was lovely and different every day which was a really nice touch and served on the roof terracel. The terrace was also perfect for relaxing on as well. The location was great for exploring the old town and the beach. The owners were perfect hosts and could not do enough for us. Great first riad experience for us!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We spend three days at Dar Assalama. Very nice and helpfull staff and nice clean rooms.
The riad is perfectly located in the Medina, close to everything worth doing. On top of it all, they served the best breakfast at their roof-lounge, with a beautyful view over all af the city.
Perfect stay!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flemmingandlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

A very pleasant and nice riad in the old part of Essaouira. It is small, has only six rooms and has very nice and helpful staff. The rooms look nice, but the lamps by the beds are useless for reading. We also had problems with the hot water.
Breakfast is a bit on the heavy side with lots of pancakes and bread, but is served on the very nice roof terrace by the friendly staff.
We had some problems on our departure when none of our credit cards worked so we had to go to an ATM to get cash. This was a bit strange since we didn't have any problem anywhere else in Morocco.
It is not very easy to find the place on your arrival, so I recommend that you hire one of the porters to bring you and your luggage there. This cost us 50 dirhams.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kartul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews