We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveler rating
94
25
8
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
25
8
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 129 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We spend three days at Dar Assalama. Very nice and helpfull staff and nice clean rooms.
The riad is perfectly located in the Medina, close to everything worth doing. On top of it all, they served the best breakfast at their roof-lounge, with a beautyful view over all af the city.
Perfect stay!!!

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flemmingandlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

A very pleasant and nice riad in the old part of Essaouira. It is small, has only six rooms and has very nice and helpful staff. The rooms look nice, but the lamps by the beds are useless for reading. We also had problems with the hot water.
Breakfast is a bit on the heavy side with lots of pancakes and bread, but is served on the very nice roof terrace by the friendly staff.
We had some problems on our departure when none of our credit cards worked so we had to go to an ATM to get cash. This was a bit strange since we didn't have any problem anywhere else in Morocco.
It is not very easy to find the place on your arrival, so I recommend that you hire one of the porters to bring you and your luggage there. This cost us 50 dirhams.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kartul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

We stayed in this beautiful Riad for 2 days and were very happy with the room and service we received.
On the arrival we were offered some mint tea,the staff explained were everything was and told us to feel like at home.
The only drawback was that there was a musty smell coming from the bathroom (no window in it or some sort of ventilation) and couldn't have window in the bedroom open as it faced the hall that everyone on that floor was walking by.
Also would recommend a bit more variety for breakfast that was served on the rooftop with great views.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mimula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

We stayed in Dar Assalama for 2 nights during our car trip from Agadir to Marrakesh in the beginning of May 2010. Omar is a very friendly person, he recommended us all the best places and restaurants to visit in Essaouira. He speaks a very clean English. The rooms are clean and beautiful, the lounge zone on the roof is relaxing and has a cinema-like view on the city. One more bonus of staying in Dar Assalama was the absence of a strict check-out time, which is a very pleasant thing when you're in a car trip.
If we decide to come to Essaouira once again we would definitely stay in Dar Assalama.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nahimov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Small riad in eastern side of Medina converted by French owners initially for their own use, so room fittings ( and shower) are better than expected.This area of the Medina has more local residents than tourists, and is a few streets away from the main souk and Tourist area
In March Essaouira can be damp and a bit chilly from the sea air so the fire Omar lit in the lounge was welcome. The eastern side of the town is less damp than the area closer to the sea wall. All the staff were attentive and Manager Omar has very good local knowledge.
The larger studio rooms have armchairs and coffee table

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sirron2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews