We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Villa Daba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Daba
Ranked #21 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2014

we spent 1 night, but after checking in mid afternoon, we didn`t bother to go out again........ and we ate there as well........ peaceful, beautifully done, nice dog, lots of little private spaces scattered about, flowers, nice pool, thick towels and comfy loungers........
Evening meal was wonderful.......that man can cook!
Not quite sure about the themed bedrooms.......don`t know why they did it?? Rest of villa is so tasteful, and beautifully done.........
As an early riser, I wasn`t too happy about late breakfast, 8am, but they left a flask of coffee for me......it wasn`t hot at 6.30am, but contained caffeine, and was OK...... but maybe simple coffee making equipment in each room???

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henross61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 266 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

Villa Daba is a really special place. Didier and Bernadette have made it an absolutely beautiful place to spend time. They have fantastic taste, their welcome is warm, the place is spotlessly clean and the pool is superb.
The breakfast is good and you can choose to pay 18 euros for a superb 3 course dinner with wine extra. We did on one of our two nights there. We particularly liked that everyone eats together so we got to know 2 couples from France and Norway.
The prices are comparable with western prices, they look at little steep compared to Moroccan prices, but the quality of the accomodation is second to none.
Its some way down a rough track - around 8km from Essaouria not particularly near any facilities which means you need a car or are heavily dependent on taxis. However I understand the road will be asphalted in the spring 2014 which will be a big improvement.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

It was wonderful relaxing by the pool after being in hectic Marrakech for 4 nights. We had a beautiful room - Jaipur on1st floor which looked out over the pool. The owners we lovely Didier spoke little English but we always managed to communicate effectively so that was not an issue. The food was delicious and breakfast was great too. We did not have a car but that didn't matter as it was nice to stay by the pool. We visited the old town twice, if you've been to Marrakech it's exactly the same but smaller! The taxi ride isn't too expensive but the road is quite bumpy and some taxi drivers weren't too happy about it but do not let that put you off.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E11a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed one night at Villa Daba but we could have easily stayed longer. The villa is really beautiful with lovely gardens, a pool and charmingly decorated rooms that were very clean and tidy. Bernadette and Didier were fantastic hosts making us feel completely at home, welcome and part of the family while also allowing us lots of privacy. Their cooking was absolutely brilliant, some of the best food we had on our trip! Would love to go back and would recommend to anyone. We had rented a car.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at Villa Daba. As most reviewers say Bernadete and Didier are excellent hosts and cooks. We ate dinner there all 6 nights. Most dinners are 18 Euro but my husband told Didier to cook what was the best and if we had to pay more than 18 Euro then so be it. He had a different fish dish 5 nights out of 6. Because I do not eat fish, Didier always cooked me something special either lamb, turkey , chicken or beef. It was all very good. You eat dinner with the other guests of the hotel which is always a fun experience to talk to others. The wine and beer are reasonable prices as well.
The Villa is hard to find if you are driving - 2 km down a dirt road 8 km out of Essaouira. The location is quiet and peaceful. The pool was clean and warm and the lounge chairs comfortable. Our room was large and clean; and the shower had not bad pressure and hot water. Didier is always willing to help you out with finding things to do if you get tired of sitting by the pool. We went horse back riding one day, my husband played golf one day and we went for a walk to the surfers beach one day. All in all the Villa was exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDNTRAVELLERS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I arrived in Essaouira on a Supra Tours bus and were met at the terminus by Didier, the proprietor of the Villa Daba. We were guests of Didier and his wife Bernadette for 5 nights.

It was a short drive to the Villa which is located approximately 8 kilometres from Essaouira. The villa stands in a large compound which is attractively laid out and much effort has been made to make the gardens pretty and pleasing to the eye. The gardens include Didier's growing menagerie plus pitches for pétanque.

The villa is arranged around the central pool area with guest rooms on the ground and first floors. Our room (The Essaouira) was comfortable and spacious.The primary language of the villa is French.

We were given a generous breakfast each morning and in the evening we took dinner at the Villa. Didier and Bernadette are excellent chefs and the dinners were of the highest quality. Ingredients are all well sourced and Didier, who was previously a fisheries expert, is able to obtain and prepare fish dishes that are sublime. There is also a good wine-list at reasonable prices.

All extras such as water, teas, coffees and dinner are chargeable extras but dinner at EURO 18 was good value.

We had not realised that the villa was some distance from Essaouira and felt a bit stranded as we had not rented a car. There is no reasonable walking in the vicinity of the villa so those that are car-less will feel a little isolated. This is the only down-side of the villa but is not too much of a problem if you are willing to hitch a lift into town with Didier when he goes shopping and get a taxi for the return. We borrowed the spare car of the villa for a few hours but this was very expensive at EURO 32.

In summary, we had a very happy time at the Villa and were made very welcome. The establishment is run to the highest standards and I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johna42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 enjoyable days at the lovely Villa Daba.The hosts,Bernadette and Didier,were so friendly and welcoming and we felt that they could not do enough for you.Didier is also a wonderful cook and his dinners were excellent.We had a nice room,a lovely pool and beautiful surroundings to relax in.
If we'd have stayed longer than 3 days,we would have hired a car,especially as lunch is not provided.Overall, a wonderful place and wonderful people.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claretnale81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
8.5 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#13 of 75 in Essaouira
443 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
675 reviews
4.4 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
852 reviews
5.1 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Daba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Daba

Address: BP 164 Douar El Ghazoua | km8 route d'Agadir, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range: $74 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Daba 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Daba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing