We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuff that Dreams are made of'”
Review of Villa Daba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Daba
Ranked #21 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2011

The first time was wonderful, and the second time (but not last!) was fantastic! Our group from age 80 to 13 all loved the atmosphere created by Bernadette and Dider and their kind staff.
Breafast to sie for, drinks by the pool, massage to die for, lunch.....nap....and then a dinner most people cannot eat at a Guide Michelin xxx rest. On Top of everything they arranged a dromedar trip, quad dito etc.
WE WILL BE BACK!

Room Tip: All rooms are great. And no room look the same,
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sacw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for Villa Daba
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 259 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2011

Hidden behind walls a few miles down a dirt track, lies the Shangri-la of Villa Daba. A boutique hotel in the nicest sense of the word this is the place to unwind, relax and enjoy culinary delights away from it all. The proprietors Didier and Bernadette have left nothing to chance in the exquisite and original design of each room or suite and public areas. Once you step inside Villa Daba, you are embraced by the most wonderful warmth and hospitality imaginable and you find yourself not a guest, but a friend of everyone in the staff whose single pleasure in life, it seems, is to cater to your every need.

Villa Daba is a secluded, small hotel, without the glitz, action and buzz of a large resort. And thank God for that. You come here to enjoy the tranqulity and hospitality of a family owned maison d'hôte, to relax by the cool pool with a glass of wine or to take a relaxing massage from the highly professional masseuse.

From daybreak to nightfall, you can enjoy a truly delicious cuisine, with colorful and delicious breakfasts, lunches and dinners, often influenced by Didier's interest in les fruits de mer and fishing. Try the lobster, for example, the best by far that anyone of our well-travelled group has ever had.

Didier will arrange activities for your group if you like and all the contacts he artranged for us, were of the highest quality and well worth their while.

Departing, very reluctantly after three nights, tears were shed and promises of meeting again soon exchanged. I miss it a lot.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morris2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Our hosts and their staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was large, tastefully furnished and clean. The food was excellent. The pool was very nice, and we also enjoyed playing table tennis and boules. The site as a whole was very well presented.
On the minus side, the villa is 2km along an unmade stoney road. This may put some people off. If you don't speak any French communication may be a bit of a problem.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilGameson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadaba, Propriétaire at Villa Daba, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2016
Google Translation

Merci d'avoir pris le temps de ce gentil commentaire qui nous aide à avancer.
Au plaisir de vous revoir
Bernadette et Didier, Aïcha et Momo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Far away from anything nice or decent . Never felt as cattle tourists before !!!!!!
First we felt deceived with the false and lack of reality that the pictures on the web showed of the premises. As soon as we arrived we knew that this guest house was pretty far away from the beach or dunes (not as read on their web site). The villa is around 5 km away cross-country to the ocean and you will have to know your way around which is not very obvius!
It is therefore the perfect place to sell you a camel / quad ride, or an overpriced taxi ride as well as an overpriced lunch or dinner , very poor on Price/Quality .
Do not trust European owners Bernadette nor Didier on their attempt to give you any tourist advice. They will only try to make you stay at the villa and spend your money on the place.
Nevermind if you ever get to know Essaouira at all.
That's what the owners called tourism "à la africaine" .
Meanwhile the only morrocan who was working on the villa´s front office (Waiter, maid etc)....ended up being the only able to give us a certain good treat .
Even though he constantly received a slave-trade-like manners from Bernadette .....he managed to keep a smile for us in his face ! Thumbs up for Mohamed !!!

As soon as the owners saw we were leaving, contradictory excuses for their bad service and lack of professionalism started to show up from both of them .....from the tooth ache he had to the suicidal tendencies from Bernadette¨s close friends......
Which made us realized that we had ended in a tourist trap. We are lucky enough to be experienced travellers and our Essaouira experience ended up much better that it had started.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ESCARZAGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pour les familles : La Rochelle et sa superbe terrasse.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank 117,457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Susakatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.5 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
640 reviews
0.5 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#9 of 74 in Essaouira
435 reviews
8.5 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#13 of 74 in Essaouira
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Villa Garance
Villa Garance
#16 of 74 in Essaouira
307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Etto
Riad Dar Etto
#2 of 2 in Ghazoua
34 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Baoussala
Riad Baoussala
#4 of 74 in Essaouira
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Daba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Daba

Address: BP 164 Douar El Ghazoua | km8 route d'Agadir, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range: $75 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Daba 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Daba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing