We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fabulous Riad!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Zelaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Zelaka
Ranked #38 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Riad!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed in this riad for 5 nights in December 2012 and loved it. Laure, the owner was super helpful and friendly and recommended the best restaurant in town to us. We arrived late at night but Laure walked us to the restaurant to show us through the narrow alleys of Essaouira. The riad has a nice terrace where you can sunbathe which is a nice shield from the (at times) windy beaches. Location was great, easy access to the beach, town, markets, restaurants, cafes. We would highly recommend this riad and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AS20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    20
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
39
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Nice place to stay, with fab location, good breakfast and clean rooms. Has a computer if you need one and were generally very accommodating. Perhaps a little basic for some people but we felt it was exactly what we were looking for - relatively cheap accommodation in a nice setting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahE456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma city
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Riad Zelaka is a perfectly adequate accommodation, but be sure to ask for a room off the street (we did not, and slept little) Non-French speakers will have a difficult time communicating with hotel staff.

Room Tip: Avoid a room on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lgtokc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
379 reviews
269 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Riad is on the eastern edge of the Medina by Bab Marrakech, down an unappealing alley. It was a fairly tortuous walk to the centre along the main Medina roads but quicker via Rue Agadir. A very friendly and hospitable proprietor. The breakfast was adequate but nothing more; the coffee was good cafe au lait. The 1st room we had on the second floor was very small and had nothing but beads between it and the toilet. There was no table or chairs and very little lighting. The shower had no water pressure, and the sink barely drained. On the second day we moved to a room that was 50% bigger on the 1st floor which had a sofa and space and a toilet in a closet.
There were lots of electricity sockets and good wifi. The room decor and facilities were very basic. Both beds had lumpy pillows and uncomfortable mattresses. Overall this was much more a budget place than a destination Riad. I should have realised this as it was less than £40 a night.

Room Tip: Get one with a sofa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed in the riad for one night in November and found it to be a lovely experience. Having never been to Essaouria before we did initially have some difficulty finding the riad, however the location is excellent, conveniently located within the medina and so it is perfect to relax in after a day of browsing the markets. The owner Laure went out of his way to ensure we had an enjoyable visit to Essaouria, providing us with a map and helping us find our bearings. He also recommended us a variety of restaurants to visit, even offering to walk us there! We were able to leave our luggage there after we had checked out in the morning which enabled us to pick up some last minute bargains. Laure also gave us a wooden keyring on our departure, carved from Thuya wood which was a nice souvenir.
The room was beautifully furnished and very impressive for the price which included breakfast.
I would recommend this riad to anyone looking to spend time in Essaouria and would definitely stay there again if I am lucky enough to return to Morocco.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We were in the RIAD for a week early May. It was a nice stay and we keep in memory all the kindness of the morocco people in our heart.
The Riad is quiet with average and large rooms. Breakfast from Hasna and Amina were fantastic !
During our vacation we met people from different country and with the help of Hasna visit places in Essaouira and have fun !
Thank's a lot for this greet time

Room Tip: Take on the second floor so you are just close the terrace ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

This riad is really cozy! So much so that on my 2nd and final night I decided to stay in instead of joining the action outside. The rooms are tastefully furnished, clean, and most important - warm! It started to get cold when I was there. Laure, the owner, and the two other ladies who work here are really friendly and will help make your stay as comfortable as possible - offering extra blankets, a radiator, great food.... Also, I'd arranged a camel ride before I got to Morocco, not realizing that it was overpriced. Hasna referred me to one of their contacts who does camel excursions at a much cheaper price and it turned out to be the highlight of my Morocco adventure. I loved Essaouira and I loved this riad!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Riad Sidi Magdoul
#36 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ryad Lyon-Mogador
Ryad Lyon-Mogador
#14 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#15 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#34 of 77 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riad Nakhla
Hotel Riad Nakhla
#46 of 77 in Essaouira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Etto
Riad Dar Etto
#2 of 2 in Ghazoua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Zelaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zelaka

Property: Riad Zelaka
Address: 9 Rue Zelaka, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Zelaka 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Zelaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing