We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Absolutely loved it, people are so friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zelaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Zelaka
Ranked #39 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely loved it, people are so friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here in Mid-September and initially booked for one night only but kept extending and extending every day because we loved Essaouira and we loved the Riad and the people running it. Really can't recommend it enough. Room was great, loved the bathroom and the hot shower felt fantastic after a few weeks travelling round Morocco and showering under cold drizzle!

Matt & Linnea

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattyM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    20
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
39
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here for 11 nights from the 29th of October 2012. I had a beautiful room, delicious breakfasts every day plus a couple of really incredible tradiitional Moroccan dinners cooked by Hasna. Stephane is the ultimate host and wants all his guests to fully enjoy the delights of Essaouira, Nothing was too much trouble for the team at Riad Zelaka and as a lone traveller this was a fabulous place to stay. I felt at home, relaxed and happy.

Room Tip: I had room 4 - lots of windows so lovely and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Owner is Stephane, great guy from Nantes, France. We stayed two nights in his Riad which is quite new (after renovation), I think. And we felt there like at home. Good price for, nice rooms, good breakfast, wi-fi connection, is possible to use hotel computer for free... Stephane gave us a lot of information about Morocco, Essauira and people who live there. Ask him for advice where to go for a diiner and he will show you chaep but great local restaurant. Before you will go to sleep ask Stephane for a bottle of wine. He always has few bottles of great local wine :) If we go there again, we will definitely stay in Riad Zelaka again. Thank you Stephane.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ondrej K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This place is great, nice and big rooms, the owner is from France and really friendly. We really enjoyed our stay there. The breakfast is really good, the price is quite low for such a nice place. We can really recommend it. Thanks for the nice time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

i like this place i slept here 2 nights and tew owner stephane is a honest and friendly manager. it is a new nice guesthouse in thw center of medina. i am sure to back here if i come back again to essaouira. reccomended.
thanks stephen.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We spent 10 days in Morocco, Essaouira was the last point of our trip and we were lucky to choose this very nice ryad! Comparing to our previous hotels in medina, Zelaka is very easy to find. Stephane met us like his friends. The amtosphere was very pleasant and all accomodations done with a lot of care. The second day we were invited to a dinner, organised for all the guests with traditional cuisine and we passed a very nice time, sharing our experience with the other guests and the owner. Everybody in the riad was very attentive and helpful in each situation. If you go to Essaouira, I can recommend to choose this place to enjoy this beatiful oriental city and to feel european comfort!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Riad just inside the medina, but in a quiet part, near one of the gates. The riad is very light inside, has nice rooms and has a terrace on the roof. The breakfast is good with fresh juice. I would recommend this riad to friends!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mvermeire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Desdemona
Palazzo Desdemona
#31 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Le Grand Large
Riad Le Grand Large
#40 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar El Qdima
Dar El Qdima
#32 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar L'Oussia
Riad Dar L'Oussia
#17 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caverne d'Ali Baba
Caverne d'Ali Baba
#43 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#22 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Zelaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zelaka

Property: Riad Zelaka
Address: 9 Rue Zelaka, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Zelaka 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HRS, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Riad Zelaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing