We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Small cozy restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Triskala Cafe

Triskala Cafe
Ranked #7 of 255 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Restaurant is open for lunch and dinner except on sunday. Vegetarian and fish menus. Triskala Cafe is sustainable, using only local food,fresh drinks (no soda or plastic bottles), we use biodegradable soaps to clean dishes and floors...
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small cozy restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We read about this place on tripadvisor and it didn't disappoint. We ate there twice in total because the food was great, it was cheap and it was totally different than what we were used to.
The restaurant itself is very small with low tables and cushions on the ground, the atmospheer is great and very relaxing. Everyday there is a different menu and the owner will come by your table and will try to explain the menu because she can't speak English but with a basic knowledge of French or Spanish it is easy to understand.

The food is very good and it is very origional, it is a fusion of Maroccan, French and Spanish I think and you are stuffed when you walk out of the place. The starters are 25 MAD and the main courses are 50 MAD, they only have fresh juices to drink and they cost 18 MAD each.

I would definitely recommend this place, it was one of the better restaurants we ate at in Marocco.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    104
    30
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“cosy, healthy, original, coloured.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Quite easy to find (with a gps), Triskala has been a nice surprise. Healthy vegetarian choices well cooked, well presented, well mixed. Fresh fruits and tasty veggies. Desserts to order in advance.
This spot is already "hot", so might be already busy at 8pm. If you can wait...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D1fretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Quirky, friendly, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We liked Triskala so much that we visited twice during our week-long visit to Essaouria. The hand-written menu is small, but included fresh fish, freshly squeezed juices, delicious home-made desserts (order these when you order your main course, or risk them running out!), and vegetarian dishes, all of which were tasty and inexpensive. The service is friendly, and the restaurant relaxed and cosy, with unusual decor and layout. I'd recommend going early - both times we went they were full by about 8pm and had to turn away customers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PigeonBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Eclectic, cozy cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We wandered into Triskala pretty late, just before the kitchen was closing down. However, the owner didn't hesitate to seat us. We had a starter of the most delicious bread (Still trying to figure out what was in it) and some very refreshing tomato salads. For my main, I had grilled fish and my boyfriend had the shrimp gratin. Both were super yummy. We had basically just arrived in Essaouira that evening, and after a hectic day of travel, Triskala was the perfect place to relax and enjoy a restorative meal. Probably the best place to eat in Essaouira. Oh, and the prices were very reasonable too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 530 helpful votes
“Exceptionally tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is one of our favourites. Quirky, inviting, SUSTAINABLE.
The food is yummy, well balanced and beautifully presented. The staff is very attending and the décor is very impressive, comfy and welcoming.
Hats off for the home made bread!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysSpeakOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Triskala Cafe also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Triskala Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing