We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally tasty” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Triskala Cafe

Triskala Cafe
Ranked #6 of 255 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Restaurant is open for lunch and dinner except on sunday. Vegetarian and fish menus. Triskala Cafe is sustainable, using only local food,fresh drinks (no soda or plastic bottles), we use biodegradable soaps to clean dishes and floors...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 530 helpful votes
“Exceptionally tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is one of our favourites. Quirky, inviting, SUSTAINABLE.
The food is yummy, well balanced and beautifully presented. The staff is very attending and the décor is very impressive, comfy and welcoming.
Hats off for the home made bread!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysSpeakOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    104
    30
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
377 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 555 helpful votes
“Quirky and interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Finding Triskala can be tricky as Google maps isn't up to the complexities of all the little side streets in Essaouira. The cafe is a quirky little place with very eclectic decor and a 60s hippyish feel. The menu is vegetarian with some fish dishes and the prices are almost ridiculously cheap: 25 dirham for a starter, 50 for a main course and 25 for a dessert. There's no liquor license, so it's BYO or stick to the supplied filtered water. Service is friendly but a little haphazard. The easiest way of paying the bill seemed to be to go up to the counter rather than requesting 'l'addition'. The weakest dish of those we ordered was the tabbouleh which was extremely bland; in contrast, the goats cheese salad was much better and also included some little pots of hummus and green olive tapenade. Couscous with vegetables and dried fruits was more successful but more variation in veg would have been better. A meze plate with falafel was interesting and tasty. The accompanying bread with sultanas and nuts was excellent. A shared slice of richly dark chocolate cake was delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tasty Veggie and fish dishes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a lovely little café the décor is great, food is tasty. We had a variety of dishes and everyone enjoyed them. The chocolate cake was amazing, the crapes where Moroccan pancakes not French but they are very tasty and would recommend people trying them as they are like flat crumpets. The only thing was the water was filtered not bottled. All in all for the price it was worth a visit and it appears to be popular as it was really very busy. In short would go again but would bring my own water.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lorraine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great dinner & relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We really enjoyed nice decor and relaxing atmoshere at Triskala as well as very friendly staff (fluent in French and English). Menu was simple but original (not only couscous and tajin like at many other restaurants). Service was efficient ad helpful — we tried starters (salad with goat cheese) and main: falafels and sardin fishballs. It was very tasty and well cooked - and comparing to other restaurants - cheap. As a dessert we had chocolate fondant, strongly recommended and worth trying! BTW - if yu want to have a glass o wine bring your own bottle as they don't serve alcohol in there

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KateKrakow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Looks great but food was terrible!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We arrived to a very nice greating and were initailly impressed with the decor and atmosphere however this changed when we received our food we had a prawn gratin that had shrimps in that certainly weren't fresh and the rest of the dish contained overcooked pasta that had collapsed and melted cheese slices that were being passed of as behcamel sauce there was also a complete absance of breadcrumbs ! The ocean tagine also only contained sardine meatballs which seemed strange as essaouria has an abundance of fresh fish ! We stayed in essaouria for a week and trust me there are far better places for food in town! We also made our grevences known however the staff just smiled and gave us our bill ! Overall to much focus on art house style and little focus on cuisine !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Webtraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Triskala Cafe also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Triskala Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing