We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Looks great but food was terrible!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Triskala Cafe

Triskala Cafe
Rue Touahen | Medina- tout pres de Sqala, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
+212 655-585131
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 250 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Restaurant is open for lunch and dinner except on sunday. Vegetarian and fish menus. Triskala Cafe is sustainable, using only local food,fresh drinks (no soda or plastic bottles), we use biodegradable soaps to clean dishes and floors...
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Looks great but food was terrible!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We arrived to a very nice greating and were initailly impressed with the decor and atmosphere however this changed when we received our food we had a prawn gratin that had shrimps in that certainly weren't fresh and the rest of the dish contained overcooked pasta that had collapsed and melted cheese slices that were being passed of as behcamel sauce there was also a complete absance of breadcrumbs ! The ocean tagine also only contained sardine meatballs which seemed strange as essaouria has an abundance of fresh fish ! We stayed in essaouria for a week and trust me there are far better places for food in town! We also made our grevences known however the staff just smiled and gave us our bill ! Overall to much focus on art house style and little focus on cuisine !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Webtraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    96
    27
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Incredibly relaxed, brilliant food, excellent service. Best restuarant we tried in Essaouira (out of approx 10 we visited).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nicest food I've eaten yet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The other reviews are correct, the service is excellent, food is delicious and very good value. Starters 20-30 dh mains 40-60 . You leave feeling full but fresh. Cosy and relaxed decor, mixing Moroccan with a few retro pieces, the more you look the more you find to like.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank evansandwhich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cosy restaurant with excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This small and cosy restaurant provides a relaxed and vaguely hippyish feel with a full and varied non-meat (vegetarian and fish) menu. There was a variety of seating areas, and the food was individually prepared, and delicious! We strongly recommend the chocolate cake for pudding, quote "one of the nicest chocolate cakes ever!".

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Riglins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Lovely atmosphere, friendly staff, simple and tasty food. Great value for money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Healthy and fresh, a welcome break from bland and overcooked tagines. We had the goats cheese salad and tabouille which were both delicious. Prawn pasta was ok and the falafel mezze accompanied with raisin and herb bread was fantastic. We had both the chocolate tarte and apple tarte and they were both really great.

Fun interior design and really nice staff. Quick, efficient and polite.

Try the fruit juices too. Three course dinner for 2 for 220 dirham - bargain. Would definitely come back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom85_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Triskala Cafe also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Triskala Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing