We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Malaika

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Malaika
Ranked #15 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
187 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Riad Malaika and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. If you are travelling by bus (SupraTours), I would recommed paying for a barrow boy to take you to the riad (20DM) as it might be a bit tricky to find on arrival in the maze of streets.

We we received a warm welcome on arrival and loved our room, we had booked a superior room which we found to be beautifully decorated, comfortable, clean and with a beautiful bathroom and the thickest of towels! Our room was spotless and very peaceful.

The Riad is in an excellent central location close to everything.

Breakfast every day was delicious and plentiful and certainly set me up for the rest of the day. The hotel also has a roof terace with sun loungers, we spent a couple of afternoons up there sunbathing in peace and quiet (I personally didn't feel comfortable laying on the beach in a bikini + it was quite windy).

I would also recommend dining at the Riad one evening, although it may seem a little pricey the food really was top notch and very generous portions, great value and one of the best meals we had in Morocco.

I would definitely recommend this beautiful Riad, you'll be well looked after!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    125
    21
    3
    4
See reviews for
119
437
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Riad was stunning and really comfortable, and the owners and the staff were warm and friendly, we really enjoyed the dinner and the breakfast was amazing! It was nicely situated at the end of a quiet alley in the middle of the old city a great position and full of activity.

Room Tip: Too be honest we stayed in two different rooms and both were outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcella h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay here! Super helpful staff, excellent breakfast in the morning - fresh squeezed orange juice, eggs or various sorts, delicious breads - and a good location in the middle of the Medina. They have a nice roof terrace as well. They will also happily make dinner for you if you wish. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

This lovely riad is in the heart of Essaouira but on a quiet narrow street away from noise. We heard the ocean from our room. Room was decorated very nicely and had a small sitting area with two chairs. I believe we booked a "superior" rather than standard room. It was quiet but we could easily hear people in the hall. The breakfasts were fabulous with a different egg dish for the three nights we stayed: one was savory cooked vegetables with crumbled hard boiled egg and another was a tomato egg dish. Fresh orange juice, pan cakes, bread, maybe fruit were also served. The staff was great.

Room Tip: we requested the third floor based on other reviews here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandiBsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykia, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stay in Riad Malaika and we like it very much.All they are very friendly and so good energe people,they cooked for as one night and the food was exelent....we hope to go again....Thank you
very much for all......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aryballos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

The French owners of this riad have an eye for design and have chosen gracious, talented staff to help then run it. We found our room a knockout beauty. Especially liked the black, polished concrete bathroom with traditional fittings. Textiles, antiques and a rose by each side of the bed completed the total look. The soaps, shower gel and shampoo are made especially for them--no detail left undone here. The roof terrace is a lovely place to read a book and watch the light change.
Step through the door and you are welcomed by a pool, fountain, gracious staff and in the evening a wood fire. We stayed at the end of October-- evenings were cool. The night we dined there (order the previous day) there was a power outage, which only added to the charm. A fire was lit in the fireplace and candles were placed everywhere. Very romantic. Breakfasts are extraordinary and changing.
I am tempted to keep this place a secret--it is that good. But that would be selfish.
The junior suite on the roof is lovely too. If you are traveling with kids, it's ideal.

Room Tip: Every room, on every floor is beautiful. It is on a quiet pedestrian street, away from the main bust...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devika88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed in September in this Riad. The breakfast was very good, thanks to the Moroccan personnel. In comparison to 4 other riads where we stayed, the French owners here weren't as friendly and welcoming, but it was okay. Maybe due to the fact that they have quite a lot of rooms for a Riad. This makes the rooms not that big, but still they are very elegantly equipped. The roof terrace is a real plus for this place. Furthermore the location of the Riad is ideal and Essaouira is a nice place to spend 1 or 2 days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luwtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#9 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
5.6 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Malaika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Malaika

Property: Riad Malaika
Address: 17 Rue Zayan, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#10 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Malaika 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AUTANTIC RIAD XVIII IN ESSAOUIRA-MORROCO, QUIET IN THE HEART OF THE MEDINA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Malaika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Malaika Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing