We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Riad with Fabulous Breakfasts”
Review of Riad Malaika

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Malaika
Ranked #13 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This lovely riad is in the heart of Essaouira but on a quiet narrow street away from noise. We heard the ocean from our room. Room was decorated very nicely and had a small sitting area with two chairs. I believe we booked a "superior" rather than standard room. It was quiet but we could easily hear people in the hall. The breakfasts were fabulous with a different egg dish for the three nights we stayed: one was savory cooked vegetables with crumbled hard boiled egg and another was a tomato egg dish. Fresh orange juice, pan cakes, bread, maybe fruit were also served. The staff was great.

Room Tip: we requested the third floor based on other reviews here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandiBsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 820 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stay in Riad Malaika and we like it very much.All they are very friendly and so good energe people,they cooked for as one night and the food was exelent....we hope to go again....Thank you
very much for all......

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aryballos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The French owners of this riad have an eye for design and have chosen gracious, talented staff to help then run it. We found our room a knockout beauty. Especially liked the black, polished concrete bathroom with traditional fittings. Textiles, antiques and a rose by each side of the bed completed the total look. The soaps, shower gel and shampoo are made especially for them--no detail left undone here. The roof terrace is a lovely place to read a book and watch the light change.
Step through the door and you are welcomed by a pool, fountain, gracious staff and in the evening a wood fire. We stayed at the end of October-- evenings were cool. The night we dined there (order the previous day) there was a power outage, which only added to the charm. A fire was lit in the fireplace and candles were placed everywhere. Very romantic. Breakfasts are extraordinary and changing.
I am tempted to keep this place a secret--it is that good. But that would be selfish.
The junior suite on the roof is lovely too. If you are traveling with kids, it's ideal.

Room Tip: Every room, on every floor is beautiful. It is on a quiet pedestrian street, away from the main bust...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devika88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed in September in this Riad. The breakfast was very good, thanks to the Moroccan personnel. In comparison to 4 other riads where we stayed, the French owners here weren't as friendly and welcoming, but it was okay. Maybe due to the fact that they have quite a lot of rooms for a Riad. This makes the rooms not that big, but still they are very elegantly equipped. The roof terrace is a real plus for this place. Furthermore the location of the Riad is ideal and Essaouira is a nice place to spend 1 or 2 days.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luwtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This riad is absolutely delightful. I cannot understand why the reviewers below have not given 5 stars.

The riad is spotless and beautifully presented. You find it off a tiny dingy side street behind an oak door. The door opens to reveal a gorgeous cosy set up - pool and fountain, open log fire, cream antique furniture. Just beautiful.

The staff were lovely. Excellent dinner recommendations, shopping tips and local knowledge.

We stayed in the junior suite which was beautifully decorated - not at all noisy! - and spotless.

Breakfast was one of the best we had during our time in Morroco - massive, varied and tasty. The prepared us breakfast at 5pm when we had an early departure to make and even carried our bags to the bus terminla for us.

We had beers in the lounge area after a busy day's shopping - listening to laid back jazz with a roaring fire - just lovely.

Dont hesitate to book this fabulous riad!

Room Tip: Junior suite is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stumbled upon an excellent, well presented, gem of a Riad hidden away in the Essaouira medina. They were unfortunately full on this night and directed us to a similar Riad, but promised us a room for our 2nd night in Essauoira. On returning the next day they offered us a whole house across the small lane for ourselves (2 people) for the same price as a room... which was fantastic. We felt very well handled and can only highly recommend their hospitality, breakfast and quality of accomodation. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickmemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a fine 2 night stay here. Staff were attentive and friendly. The room was nice enough, though it was very noisy. We could easily hear every noise as it was amplified upward from the main floor and kitchen, so sleeping was quite noisy. As mentioned in other reviews, the cleanliness of the room, breakfast area and terrace left something to be desired (visibly dirty bedsheet, dead bug on knife). All in all, we enjoyed our stay, though more attention to cleanliness and noise level would be helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank imaginaryfriend11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
1,128 reviews
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#2 of 75 in Essaouira
527 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
837 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Malaika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Malaika

Address: 17 Rue Zayan, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#10 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: $85 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Malaika 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Autantic Riad Xviii In Essaouira-morroco, Quiet In The Heart Of The Medina ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Malaika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Malaika Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing