We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We made the right choice..... :))))”
Review of Riad Malaika

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Malaika
Ranked #15 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent two weeks in Morocco visiting the Imperial Cities, and Essaouria was our last stop. Riad Malaika made these final 3 days the icing for our cake. It's location in the centre of the medina is just right, it is easy to find your way back to, the staff are super friendly and helpful, the room we had was very comfortable and well furnished - we can highly recommend that if you are considering accommodation in Essaouria, give Malaika serious consideration. We booked 2 months ahead of our trip and every time we communicated with Sylvie and Piermark we got prompt replies with information we needed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (814)
There are newer reviews for Riad Malaika
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 814 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

A very beautiful riad very close to the centre of the medina that made our stay in Essaouira a great experience. The roof terrace was very relaxing and the suite was ideal for our family of four. The staff could not have have been more friendly or helpful.

Room Tip: The junior suite was perfect for our family of four. One room with a double bed, a living room with...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

A wonderful Riad in the centre of the medina, perfect location.
We could not have asked for more from them.
A lovely breakfast, an amazing roof terrace and friendly staff. The food smelt wonderful even though we did not eat here. The rooms were spacious and finished to a really good standard. The whole Riad was calm and tranquil.
I'd mentioned on booking that it was my husbands birthday whilst we were there (as well as us being on our honeymoon) and on the evening of his birthday he was presented with the most fantastic birthday cake with his name on top!!! A fantastic personal touch well above and beyond our expectations. Thank you so much for making his day all the more special!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorthernLass1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We arrived at the Riad Malaika after a stressful and hot stay in Marrakech and a challenging walk in the mountains.
We were met at the bus station for our bags to be carried and from this point onwards all the (multitudinous) staff made every effort to make our stay at the Riad a comfortabel, calm and enjoyable few days. The attention to detail was impressive both in the downstairs area and the rooms - comfortable seating, a real fire in the evenings, a gentle fountain, incense and woodsmoke, comfortable beds, excellent bathroom facilities, a huge and delicious breakfast. The roof terrace was an added bonus for quiet time away from shopping and the beach. The staff gave us advice about where to eat and what to do but were not overbearing. An unqualified recommendation to other travellers.

Room Tip: The room at roof level is especially comfortable.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed in Riad Malaika for 4 nights after a rather hectic couple of nights in Marrakech. The staff were lovely and extremely helpful, even getting up at 5am on our last day to make us breakfast before we left! The Riad itself is clean, peaceful and very well looked after. We particularly liked the roof terrace which was the perfect place to escape the bustle of the Medina.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My partner and I travelled from Marrakech for one night and booked the day before we arrived in Essaouira over the Internet. We quickly received an email asking if there was anything we needed before we arrived and were offered to be met of our coach to help with luggage and actually getting there, which was a big help.

The riad is located right in the centre of Essaouira so everything is easy to get to. We stayed in a superior suite which was beautiful, tastefully decorated and it had everything we needed. The reception of the riad is, again, decorated beautifully. We were welcomed by Abdullah, offered drinks as soon as we arrived and given a map highlighting good places to eat and places we might like to visit. Our breakfast was included in the price which consisted of coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice, lemon sponge (unusual for breakfast but delicious!) omelettes, bread and jams.

The Riad has a big roof terrace with four sun loungers, very convenient the next day when we were shopped out and waiting for our coach back to Marrakech!

Sylvie and Piermark (owners) were really friendly and helpful too. Highly recommended and great value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 23MissB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Sylvie and Piermark have really succeeded in creating an interesting environment, arty and cosy at the same time. The service was great and the food excellent.

We stayed in the terrace suite which was spacious and really nice.

Thank's for a great stay!
Annie & George

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie-B-Freeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
1,124 reviews
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
255 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
523 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
0.2 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#10 of 74 in Essaouira
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Malaika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Malaika

Address: 17 Rue Zayan, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#10 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: $86 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Malaika 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Autantic Riad Xviii In Essaouira-morroco, Quiet In The Heart Of The Medina ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Malaika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Malaika Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing